Brown dominates Lucas Oil ASCS Jackson Nationals

Brown dominates Lucas Oil ASCS Jackson Nationals

Bryan Hulbert – JACKSON, Minn. (August 31, 2013) The 35th annual Jackson Nationals ended with the 2013 Jackson Spring Nationals Champion back in victory lane at the Jackson Speedway, as Brian Brown earned his third Protect the Harvest A-Feature win of the season.

“I was kind of disappointed last night. I felt like I really let my team down and didn’t get the jump on the start, but that’s one good thing about our team; we win together, we lose together. Nobody on the team was negative,” commented Brian Brown of his Jackson Nationals victory.

Brown’s ninth overall Lucas Oil ASCS victory, the Casey’s General Store No. 21 drew the pole in the night’s Protect the Harvest A-Feature; jumping to the point from the start.

Stopping on Lap 3 with the No. 82 of Scott Winters going upside down, Robby Wolfgang and Tyler Drueke were both caught in the accident. All drivers were ok. On the restart, Brown would be challenged briefly for the lead by Tony Bruce, Jr. but would quickly move away.

Slowing on Lap 9 for Seth Bergman who stalled the No. 23 in turn three, Bruce again took a shot for the lead but was again denied.

Racing hard for fourth on Lap 12, the red flag was the end result between Jason Johnson and Jeff Swindell as contact by the No. 41 sent Swindell flipping into the fence. Swindell emerged unscathed with official allowing an open red.

Brian Brown again began to pull away with the battle to be in the top five shaping up with Danny Lasoski charging from seventeenth to challenge Jason Johnson as the caution flew for the final time on Lap 21 for Gregg Bakker.

Going unchallenged on the restart, Brian Brown ran to victory ahead of Tony Bruce, Jr.

“I’m glad all these came out to enjoy this race and hopefully they have the National Tour back next year,” commented Bruce. “I really thought we were good through the center of turns one, and two, but I didn’t have very much tire left so I couldn’t really chance it. We’ll take a second place and go on.”

Brad Loyet crossed third with Logan Forler taking full advantage of the open red to charge from eighteenth to fourth. Danny Lasoski followed suit from seventeenth to fifth. Jack Dover, Johnny Herrera, Jason Johnson, Cole Wood, and Dustin Morgan completed the top ten.

Four Heat Races set the night’s field with Dusty Zomer, Tony Bruce, Jr., Bill Boles, and Dustin Morgan earning wins. Danny Lasoski and Logan Forler each won B-Features.

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real returns to competition on Saturday, September 21 at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. For more information, log onto

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real
Speedway Motors Midwest Region
Jackson Speedway – Jackson, Minn.
35th annual Jackson Nationals 
Saturday, August 31, 2013

Car Count: 38
Event Count: 41

Wesmar Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 91-Dusty Zomer[1]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[8]; 3. 82-Scott Winters[4]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[7]; 5. 75-Tommy Barber[3]; 6. 12-Tyler Drueke[5]; 7. 4-Jordan Boston[6]; 8. 7K-Dustin Selvage[2]; DNF 29X-Nate Eakin[9]

Ti22 Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 3. 29-Brandon Hahn[1]; 4. 4W-Matt Wasmund[4]; 5. 2L-Logan Forler[5]; 6. 7-Kaley Gharst[3]; 7. 93L-Derrik Lusk[9]; 8. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[8]; 9. 7TAZ-Tasker Phillips[7]

Rod End Supply Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 05B-Bill Boles[2]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[5]; 3. 13-Mark Dobmeier[8]; 4. 09-Matt Juhl[6]; 5. 35-Skyler Prochaska[4]; 6. 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[3]; 7. 64-Bruce Anderson[7]; 8. 6-Terry McCarl[1]

BMRS Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 93-Dustin Morgan[1]; 2. 1B-Robby Wolfgang[3]; 3. 17W-Cole Wood[2]; 4. 5H-Justyn Cox[4]; 5. 1M-Danny Lasoski[7]; 6. 21V-Justin Henderson[6]; 7. 75C-Casey Heser[5]; 8. 32-Jason Eckard[8]

The Joie of Seating B Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. 1M-Danny Lasoski[2]; 2. 12-Tyler Drueke[6]; 3. 17W-Cole Wood[1]; 4. 5H-Justyn Cox[3]; 5. 75C-Casey Heser[9]; 6. 93L-Derrik Lusk[5]; 7. 35-Skyler Prochaska[4]; 8. 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[7]; 9. 4-Jordan Boston[8]; DNF 32-Jason Eckard[10]; DNF 7K-Dustin Selvage[11]

DMI B Feature 2 (10 Laps): 1. 2L-Logan Forler[3]; 2. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[9]; 3. 29-Brandon Hahn[1]; 4. 21V-Justin Henderson[5]; 5. 4W-Matt Wasmund[2]; 6. 29X-Nate Eakin[8]; 7. 7-Kaley Gharst[6]; 8. 7TAZ-Tasker Phillips[10]; 9. 64-Bruce Anderson[7]; DNF 75-Tommy Barber[4]; DNS 6-Terry McCarl

Protect the Harvest A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown[1]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 4. 2L-Logan Forler[18]; 5. 1M-Danny Lasoski[17]; 6. 53-Jack Dover[13]; 7. 45X-Johnny Herrera[8]; 8. 41-Jason Johnson[6]; 9. 17W-Cole Wood[21]; 10. 93-Dustin Morgan[11]; 11. 91-Dusty Zomer[10]; 12. 35-Skyler Prochaska[23]; 13. 05B-Bill Boles[9]; 14. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[20]; 15. 23-Seth Bergman[14]; 16. 09-Matt Juhl[16]; DNF 11X-Gregg Bakker[5]; DNF 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[24]; DNF 94-Jeff Swindell[3]; DNF 13-Mark Dobmeier[7]; DNF 82-Scott Winters[15]; DNF 1B-Robby Wolfgang[12]; DNF 12-Tyler Drueke[19]; DNF 29-Brandon Hahn[22]

Valentine Dash (8 Laps): 1. 75C-Casey Heser[3]; 2. 7TAZ-Tasker Phillips[8]; 3. 5H-Justyn Cox[1]; 4. 4W-Matt Wasmund[4]; 5. 4-Jordan Boston[7]; 6. 29X-Nate Eakin[6]; DNF 21V-Justin Henderson[2]; DNF 93L-Derrik Lusk[5]

Lap Leader(s): Brian Brown (1-30) Hard Charger: Logan Forler +14
FSR High Points of the Night: Tony Bruce, Jr.
Hawk Performance Products Fastest Lap of the Night: Jack Dover – 18.908 seconds 
Provisionals: Skyler Prochaska (Promoter), Brandon Halverson (Promoter)

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-7, Jeff Swindell-5, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Brian Brown-3, Logan Forler-2, Brad Loyet-2, Danny Lasoski-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Tony Bruce, Jr., Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,307; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,270; 3. Jeff Swindell 4,133; 4. Brad Loyet 4,088; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,972; 6. Logan Forler 3,950; 7. Seth Bergman 3,777; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,619; 9. Cole Wood 3,457; 10. Brandon Hahn 2,725;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Photo Credit: Rob Kocak