Chris Wall Takes Night One of NDRL King of Mississippi at Magnolia Motor Speedway!


Chris Wall Takes Night One of NDRL King of Mississippi at Magnolia Motor Speedway

Columbus, Mississippi (April 18, 2014) Chris Wall has long been one of the toughest guys to ever make laps around the Magnolia Motor Speedway. Wall has recorded multiple special event wins at Johnny Stokes’ 3/8ths mile oval. On Friday night Wall added another to his list of big wins at the track located just outside Columbus. Wall moved by race leader Billy Moyer, Jr. before halfway and then mowed down backmarker traffic to capture the $7,500 pay day. “Man this is special to me.” A visually excited Wall said in Schaeffer’s Oil Victory Lane. “The best drivers in the country are right here tonight and to outrun Scott Bloomquist, Billy Moyer, Don O’Neal and all these other guys is just an awesome feeling. I take a lot of pride in this one.” Wall added.

Wall started from 3rd starting spot and methodically worked his way past 2nd running Billy Moyer and gave chase to leader Billy Moyer, Jr. Moyer. Kept his Longhorn Chassis machine at the point rolling up around the very top of the speedway, while Wall was making up the distance to the leader running right around the bottom of the track. Lap after lap the driver known as the Intimigator was able to close in on Moyer. By lap 10 Wall was all over Moyer and just one lap later Wall swept underneath Moyer to grab the lead. It was a lead he would never relinquish.

Once in the lead Wall was masterful, hugging the inside berm and picking off lap traffic one by one. Behind the leaders, 4th starter Don O’Neal began to mount a charge to the front. O’Neal slipped back in the early laps but found a groove through the black-slick middle to his liking. When O’Neal reached 2nd his was able to close up the gap to Wall. However Wall was able to move through the traffic much better and opened the distance back up. When the checkered flag fell Wall crossed the line with a 12 car length advantage to take the win. O’Neal followed in 2nd and Steve Francis moved up from his 7th starting spot to take 3rd.

49 drivers representing 16 different states signed-in for Keyser Manufacturing Time Trials. O’Neal topped Group A with his lap of 14.032 seconds. Hometown favorite Rick Rickman of Columbus was 2nd quick in the A Group followed by Kent Robinson, Wendell Wallace and John Blankenship. However the Bell Helmets Fast Qualifier would come from Group B. Scott Bloomquist laid down a lap of 13.887 seconds to take the honors. Following Bloomquist in Group B was Chris Brown, Billy Moyer, Jonathan Davenport and Billy Moyer, Jr.

The National Dirt Racing League will conclude the King of Mississippi on Saturday with a $12,500 to win / 60-lap feature event.

Feature Finish

1 – 71 Chris Wall
2 – 5 Don O’Neal
3 – 15 Steve Francis
4 – 21Jr Billy Moyer, Jr.
5 – 21 Chris Brown
6 – 6 Jonathan Davenport
7 – 21 Billy Moyer
8 – 23 John Blankenship
9 – 0 Scott Bloomquist
10 – 1c Chad Thrash
11 – 57J Bub McCool
12 – 7R Kent Robinson
13 – 777 Jared Landers
14 – 19 Tim Fuller
15 – 1 Jeremy Payne
16 – 44 Chris Madden
17 – 22 Chris Ferguson
18 – C8 Timothy Culp
19 – 17m Robert Baker
20 – 111 Max Blair
21 – 25z Mason Zeigler
22 – 1 Anthony Burroughs
23 – 86 Rick Rickman
24 – 18 Jimmy Cliburn
25 – 19 William Thomas
26 – 6m Wendell Wallace

DNS: Dane Dacus, Jack Sullivan, Neil Baggett, BJ Robinson, Brian Rickman, Randy Weaver, Scott Dedwylder, Garrett Alberson, Josh Putnam, Doug Showah, Chris Smith, Leon Henderson, Ray Moore, Chase Washington, Eric Cooley, Jason Hiett, Jason Brock, Skip Arp, Jason Cliburn, David Breazeale, Dave Deetz, Justin Paxon and Shelby Sheedy.

Official NDRL 2014 Sponsors:
Hoosier Racing Tires, VP Race Fuels, Arizona Sport Shirts, Keyser Manufacturing, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil and Lubricants, Capital Race Cars, Rocket Chassis,, Bell, DirtWrap, C&R Racing, Genesis Shocks, AR Bodies, Little Power Shop, Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales, Dirtwrap, JRi Shocks, Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars, Velocita USA,, Clements Race Engines, Total Seal Rings, Pro Power Racing, Cometic Gaskets, Dyers Top Rods, Vic Hill Race Engines, K1 Technologies, JE Pistons, High Velocity Heads and JNJ Motorsports Media.

To stay up with all of the latest happenings check out and make sure to “Like” the National Dirt Racing League on Facebook at and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL. The list of 2014 partners continues to grow, if you have questions or comments or if you are interested in becoming a sponsor of the NDRL contact Series Director Kelley Carlton at (864) 871-1442 / or NDRL Marketing Director Jason Babyak at (602) 647-0649 / .