Sebetto Puts Exclamation Point On Back-To-Back Fremont/Attica Sprint Title Championships!

Sebetto Puts Exclamation Point On Back-To-Back Fremont/Attica Sprint Title Championships

By Brian Liskai – Fremont Speedway Public Relations

(Fremont, OH) Bryan Sebetto will tell you he doesn’t worry about points – all he wants to do is win races. Well, with $10,000 on the line Saturday and the Kistler Racing Products F.A.S.T. (Fremont/Attica Sprint Title) Championship on the line, even he had to be a little conservative – but only for one race.
Sebetto, who won Fremont’s track championship in 2011 and the FAST title as well, wouldn’t take many chances in the first of two features Saturday and came home with a seventh place finish. That essentially locked up the 2012 FAST championship – all he had to do was qualify for the second A-main, take the green and the title was his.
But, once the first feature was out of the way, the Fremont , Ohio native’s aggressive driving style came back out. He drove past race-long leader Craig Mintz with five laps to go and went on to score his fourth feature win of the season on Tank’s Meats Night at “The Track That Action Built,” and stood in the Engine Pro Victory Lane hoisting the Kistler Cup high.
“We were pretty far off on our set-up on the first feature. We came here with or normal deal and it wasn’t your normal track tonight. It took that make-up feature to go out and ride around and try not to destroy the thing like I tried to do five or six times. We went back and tuned on this thing and it was a rocket ship all night long,” said Sebetto beside his Crown Battery/Hammer Pallets/Gressman Powersports/JLH General Contractors/OC Shocks backed #24h.
“I have to thank D.J. (Foos, the 305 sprint winner). I was sitting up on the trailer watching him and watching what he was doing the last five laps of that feature. If any of those guys would have watched him the last five laps they would have known what to do,” continued Sebetto, who has eight feature wins in 2012 – 4 each at Fremont and Attica Raceway Park .
“I never in a million years would have imagined even winning a race at this race track let alone win two FAST championships and coming off the year we’ve had with a brand new team. I remember sitting up in the stands watching when I was a kid and never dreamed I’d be out here racing. I’m living the dream,” said Sebetto of the FAST title. “I just bought a house so I’ve pretty much been draining my bank account…every time I get a pay check I spend it at Lowe’s so this money will go to the home.”
“I have to thank Randy and Lisa Hammer for giving me the opportunity and the guys that work their butts off on this thing, Aaron Hammer, Timmy P. and Guhn and the Gibbs boys when they show up and all the great, great sponsors,” concluded Sebetto, also thanking additional sponsors Big D’s Pizza/ Keizer Wheels/R3 Nutrition/Meggit Sandblasting and Powder coating.

In the night’s regular feature, Mintz and Mike Linder would bring the field to the green, with Mintz taking the lead over Linder, Brandon Martin, Stuart Brubaker, Chris Andrews, Sebetto, Chaney, Gressman and Cody Kinser. With three laps scored, Travis Philo would tumble on the front stretch to bring out the red.
On the restart Mintz would continue to lead with Linder hounding him while Martin and Brubaker in tow, as Sebetto would blast from seventh to fifth. Sebetto would take fourth on lap five, bringing Andrews to sixth. Mintz would catch the rear of the field with 12 laps in, allowing Linder to close to within two car lengths while Martin in third with Andrews taking fourth from Sebetto.
Broc Martin would stop in turn three on lap 14 to bring out the yellow with the running order Mintz, Linder, Martin, Sebetto, Andrews, Chaney, Brubaker, Gressman and Sodeman. On the restart, Sebetto would drive under Martin for third as Mintz still could not shake Linder. With 11 laps to go, Sebetto was no pressuring Linder for the runner-up spot and took it on lap 20.
Sebetto would quickly close on Mintz, and with seven laps to go the pair were side-by-side in turns one and two. They raced that way until lap 24 when Sebetto would execute a slide job in turns one and two take the lead. With five laps to go, the leaders were in heavy traffic, but Sebetto was just too strong as he picked them off and went on to the 21st win of his career at Fremont . Mintz, Linder, Martin and Chaney would round out the top five.
Sebetto is now tied with Bryan Scott for 24th on the track’s all-time win list.


Night #20: Kistler Racing Products F.A.S.T. Championship Series presented by Engine Pro & KS Sales & Service
Fremont Speedway – 9/8/12 – 410 Sprints (31 Cars)
[#]-Starting Position

Qualifying – Callie’s Performance
1. 16-Chris Andrews, 12.200; 2. 24H-Bryan Sebetto, 12.204; 3. 35-Stuart Brubaker, 12.363; 4. 4K-Kody Kinser, 12.406; 5. 53-Phil Gressman, 12.430; 6. 29-Rob Chaney, 12.469; 7. 9X-Brandon Martin, 12.479; 8. 3-Mike Linder, 12.488; 9. O9-Craig Mintz, 12.497; 10. 5R-Byron Reed, 12.550; 11. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr., 12.584; 12. 97-Dean Jacobs, 12.596; 13. 9Z-Duane Zablocki, 12.597; 14. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild, 12.655; 15. 14H-Todd Heller, 12.708; 16. 45L-Brian Lay, 12.769; 17. 60-Jody Keegan, 12.786; 18. 12-Jarred Ridge, 12.794; 19. O-Chris Bell, 12.797; 20. 40-Caleb Helms, 12.959; 21. 83M-Broc Martin, 13.048; 22. 2+-Brian Smith, 13.062; 23. 5T-Travis Philo, 13.323; 24. 51-Roger Campbell , 13.459; 25. 2M- Dallas Hewitt, 13.559; 26. 9W-Lance Webb, 13.699; 27. 70-Derek Hagar, 13.815; 28. 3F-Rick Fraley, 13.990; 29. O6-Brandy Bower, 14.069; 30. 55-Brad Bowman, 14.609; 31. 7K-Cole Duncan, 14.746
Heat 1 (8 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 60-Jody Keegan[2] ; 2. 16-Chris Andrews[6] ; 3. 83M-Broc Martin[1] ; 4. O9-Craig Mintz[4] ; 5. 9Z-Duane Zablocki[3] ; 6. 53-Phil Gressman[5] ; 7. 2M-Dallas Hewitt[7] ; 8. O6-Brandy Bower[8]
Heat 2 (8 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 24H-Bryan Sebetto[6] ; 2. 12-Jarred Ridge[2] ; 3. 2+-Brian Smith[1] ; 4. 5R-Byron Reed[4] ; 5. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[3] ; 6. 29-Rob Chaney[5] ; 7. 55-Brad Bowman[8] ; 8. 9W-Lance Webb[7]
Heat 3 (8 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 5T-Travis Philo[1] ; 2. 9X-Brandon Martin[5] ; 3. 35-Stuart Brubaker[6] ; 4. 70-Derek Hagar[7] ; 5. 7K-Cole Duncan[8] ; 6. O-Chris Bell[2] ; 7. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr.[4] ; 8. 14H-Todd Heller[3]
Heat 4 (8 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 40-Caleb Helms[2] ; 2. 97-Dean Jacobs[4] ; 3. 45L-Brian Lay[3] ; 4. 3-Mike Linder[5] ; 5. 4K-Kody Kinser[6] ; 6. 3F-Rick Fraley[7] ; 7. 51-Roger Campbell [1]
B-Main (10 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)
1. 53-Phil Gressman[2] ; 2. 4K-Kody Kinser[1] ; 3. 29-Rob Chaney[3] ; 4. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr.[4] ; 5. O-Chris Bell[8] ; 6. 55-Brad Bowman[14] ; 7. 7K-Cole Duncan[15] ; 8. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[6] ; 9. 51-Roger Campbell [9] ; 10. 3F-Rick Fraley[12] ; 11. O6-Brandy Bower[13] ; 12. 9Z-Duane Zablocki[5] ; 13. 2M-Dallas Hewitt[10] ; 14. 9W-Lance Webb[11]
A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 24H-Bryan Sebetto[5]; 2. O9-Craig Mintz[1]; 3. 3-Mike Linder[2]; 4. 9X-Brandon Martin[3]; 5. 29-Rob Chaney[9]; 6. 16-Chris Andrews[6]; 7. 35-Stuart Brubaker[4]; 8. 97-Dean Jacobs[12]; 9. 53-Phil Gressman[8]; 10. 4K-Kody Kinser[7]; 11. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr.[11]; 12. 5R-Byron Reed[10]; 13. 45L-Brian Lay[13]; 14. 70-Derek Hagar[20]; 15. 40-Caleb Helms[16]; 16. 60-Jody Keegan[14]; 17. 12-Jarred Ridge[15]; 18. 2+-Brian Smith[18]; 19. 83M-Broc Martin[17]; 20. 5T-Travis Philo[19]

Hard Charger: 70-Derek Hagar[+6]