Tatnell Takes Murray Bridge WSS Thriller


Luke Dillon was in command almost until the end but 8-time series champion Brooke Tatnell relieved the talented South Aussie of his post with just two laps to run in the 35 lap A-Main of ENZED World Series Sprintcars tonight at Murray Machining & Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway.

In one of the best races in WSS history Tatnell, Dillon, Steven Lines and even in the later stages Shane Stewart diced in front of a huge crowd for the $10,000 on offer.

Tatnell stood on top of the podium when the dust settled and was visibly thrilled when he emerged from the cockpit of the Krikke Motorsport #2 Cool.

“This is one for the old guys,” he grinned, “some people wrote us off before this Championship even got started and I can tell you that’s not a very smart thing to do. Dylan (Buswell) and Finchy (Shane Finch) did a great job with this car all night and it’s great to get a win and some points.”

Steven Lines came home in second, backing up on his win last night with another solid result.

“Full credit to Brooke, he did a great job. I feel for Luke because I’ve been there too but he did a good job and we were just able to get a bit luckier in the last few laps.”

Luke Dillon was naturally deflated,having gone from the lead to third in just two corners.

“We did everything you need to do to win,” he grimaced, “except get the win I guess. I was trying to stay on the fastest line and I thought that was the bottom. For most of the race it was. I guess we just came up short.”

Dillon had every reason to feel perplexed, having set Quick Time in qualifying for the second night in a row and also winning the Amadio Wines Top 8 Shootout.

Shane Stewart ran a strong fifth in the Monte Motorsport #7 but was fourth for much of the race before fellow American Kyle Hirst blew by in his PRP ART chassis.

Sixth home was defending WSS champion James McFadden followed by David Murcott in seventh, Robbie Farr eighth, Matt Egel ninth, Trevor Green tenth, Brad Keller eleventh, Jamie Veal twelfth, Ian Madsen thirteenth, Dylan Jenkin fourteenth,

Andrew Wright fifteenth, Jackson Delamont sixteenth, Daniel Pestka seventeenth and Ricky Maiolo eighteenth.

Ryan Jones was an unfortunate DNF whilst Jeremy Cross was the only red light of the main event, rolling over on the back straight early in the main.

Awards on the night went to:

American Racer Tyres Hard Charger: Jamie Veal

Hogs Breath Cafe “go the whole hog” award: Jeremy Cross

Revolution Racegear Quick Time: Luke Dillon

Amadio Wines Gold Medal: Luke Dillon

Sprintcarzone Lucky 7: David Murcott

B-Main winner: Ian Madsen

C-Main winner: Randy Hannagan