2014 KISS Series Opener Co-Sanctioned with MSCS


2014 KISS Series Opener Co-Sanctioned with MSCS 
Terre Haute Action Track Hosts April 27

The opening race of the 2014 King of Indiana Sprint Series is just a month away as the 14th season gets underway at the Terre Haute Action Track on Sunday, April 27. While Brady Short is looking to capture his third KISS championship, Jon Stanbrough will be racing for his seventh title. The event is co-sanctioned with the Midwest Sprint Car Series.

Robert Ballou captured his first KISS victory at the Terre Haute Action Track in 2012.  (Chris Pederson photo)

Seven dates comprise this year’s KISS schedule as the series visits the top sprint car tracks in the state. Following the Terre Haute kick-off, Bloomington and Kokomo Speedways race on the first weekend in May. A week later, the series travels to Gas City/I-69 Speedway for their Friday show. The next weekend, the racers head to the southeastern corner of the state for Lawrenceburg’s event. As has become their tradition, Tri-State Speedway will host the KISS sprinters on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend, just hours after the completion of the Indy 500. The 2014 KISS championship will be finalized at Paragon Speedway on Saturday, May 31 at Paragon Speedway.

Brady Short scored his second title last spring, winning two of the four races competed, while three events were victims of rain. Kevin Thomas Jr., Robert Ballou, Hunter Schuerenberg and Casey Shuman filled the top-5 in KISS points and all are expected to be strong contenders again this year. Since 2006, only one driver other than Stanbrough and Short has earned the KISS crown and that is 2011’s champion, Dave Darland. Darland returns in the stout Phillips Motorsports machine. With Stanbrough joining Mike Dutcher’s stable as a teammate to Thomas over the winter, and Schuerenberg fielding his own car, the battle for the title seems formidable.

The KISS series has a new Facebook page, visit it at www.facebook.com/pages/King-of-Indiana-Sprint-Series/211462445730306.


April 27     Terre Haute Action Track
May 2     Bloomington Speedway
May 4     Kokomo Speedway
May 9     Gas City I-69 Speedway
May 17    Lawrenceburg Speedway
May 25     Tri-State Speedway
May 31     Paragon Speedway