WAYCROSS, GA (August 14, 2012) – The 20th Annual COMP Cams Topless 100, sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, will take place this Thursday, Friday and Saturday at Batesville Motor Speedway in Locust Grove, AR. The crown jewel event will pay $40,000 to win and $2,000 to start the main event.

Activities will get underway this Thursday night, August 16th, with an open practice session. On Friday night, August 17th, the LOLMDS takes to the track for Red Buck Cigar Time Trials and Heat Races. Saturday night, August 19th will include a special COMP Cams driver’s autograph session followed by the LOLMDS B-Mains and the $40,000-to-win COMP Cams Topless 100 main event.

Each year, in mid-August, fans are treated to one of the greatest spectacles in motor sports with the running of the annual COMP CamsTopless 100 at Batesville Motor Speedway in Arkansas. The race’s unique format will feature cars with the roofs removed, giving spectators an up close and personal look at what it takes for drivers to wrestle their cars around the 3/8 mile dirt oval. The $40,000-to-win race is one of the most prestigious events on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series schedule, and draws not only the tour’s traveling stars, but a wide variety of regional and national racers looking to take their shot at the big purse as well.

COMP Camswill serve as the title sponsor, something that has become a yearly tradition for the company. “We’re extremely proud to be the title sponsor of the Topless 100 again in 2012,” said Chris Douglas, COMP Cams VP of Marketing. “Batesville Motor Speedway is a smooth, fast track that always provides a great show for the fans. The passion and devotion of the drivers and teams that compete matches up perfectly with our business model at COMPPerformance Group. The whole event is a great fit for us, and to be part of the 20th running is very special.”
Scott Bloomquist is the defending race winner and has won the event an unprecedented four times over his career. Current series points leader and 2011 series national champion – Jimmy Owens, along with Don O’Neal, Bloomquist, Steve Francis, John Blankenship, Earl Pearson Jr, Jonathan Davenport, Tyler Reddick, Eric Wells and Jared Landers are all expected to compete in this weekend’s 20th Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 .
“We are very excited to be back at the Mooney and Connie Starr promoted facility this weekend. It’s a privilege to have great people and great companies like the Starr family and COMP Cams supporting this event. The race fans are in for a great weekend of racing. Everyone always enjoys seeing the cars without their roofs and watching the drivers wheel their machines around this ultra fast race track”, stated Ritchie Lewis, series director.


The payoff for the event is as follows: 1. $40,000 2. $20,000 3. $10,000 4. $6,000 5. $5,000 6. $4,500 7. $4,000 8. $3,500 9. $3,000 10. $2,800 11. $2,600 12. $2,500 13. $2,450 14. $2,400 15. $2,350 16. $2,300 17. $2,250 18. $2,200 19. $2,175 20. $2,150 21. $2,100 22. $2,075 23. $2,050 24. $2,000

For more information on this mega event please visit www.batesvillemotorspeedway.net or call (870) 251-0011 for more details.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series log onto: www.lucasdirt.com.

To keep up with all the action “Live” as it happens, click on www.lucasdirt.com/live.

Be sure to visit the series on our social media outlets as well at: http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt andhttp://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt

Previous Topless 100 Winners

1993 – Freddy Smith
1994 – Tony Cardin
1995 – Billy Moyer
1996 – Bill Frye
1997 – Billy Moyer
1998 – Wendell Wallace
1999 – Scott Bloomquist
2000 – Jimmy Mars
2001 – Scott Bloomquist
2002 – Billy Moyer
2003 – Shannon Babb
2004 – Dale McDowell
2005 – Billy Moyer
2006 – Scott Bloomquist
2007 – Jimmy Mars
2008 – Tim McCreadie
2009 – Jimmy Owens
2010 – Jared Landers
2011 – Scott Bloomquist