WAYCROSS, GA (July 18, 2012) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will sanction for the first time, the Second Annual Silver Dollar Nationals on July 19th, 20th and 21st at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE. The event, which will be co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Models, will pay $25,000 to win, $12,000 for second and $1,000 to start. This event is the biggest race in Nebraska racing history and will draw a great field of drivers from all over the country! LOLMDS regular, Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN won the inaugural event last year. 

Activities will get underway on Thursday Night, July 19th with a practice session. On Friday Night, July 20th, racing action will include Twin Qualifying Heats for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and MLRA Late Models, with a unique format of passing points used this weekend. Then, on Saturday Night, July 21st there will be a special Traeger Grills Driver Autograph Session for fans to meet and greet the drivers before the last chance qualifier events and the 80-lap $25,000 to win main event.

Traeger Grills is also putting up a $1,000 cash bonus to the driver that earns the most points between last weekend’s CMH Diamond Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway and this weekend’s Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80 Speedway. Also on the schedule of events, I-80 Speedway officials have added a non-qualifiers race for twelve drivers to compete. The Al Belt Custom Homes Builders Bash will be open to 12 cars who DID NOT qualify for the 80 lap Silver Dollar Nationals Feature. The race will pay $850 to win.

Reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion and current points leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN will lead the contingent of dirt late model stars and cars into this weekend’s Silver Dollar Nationals. Owens, coming off his third LOLMDS win of the season this past weekend at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO leads Don O’Neal; 2-time series champ, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN, Steve Francis of Ashland, KY and 4-time series titleist, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL in the series national championship points standings.

The current points leader for the Quarter Master Rookie of the Year honor, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA is sixth in the LOLMDS points, followed by John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; 16-year-old phenom, Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY round out the top ten drivers in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points standings.

For more information on this special event you can contact the track office at (402) 342-3453 or visit the track’s website at www.I-80speedway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series check outwww.lucasdirt.com.

For fans wanting to keep up with the action as it happens Live, be sure and check out the Roush Yates Performance Live Timing and Scoring page on the series website atwww.lucasdirt.com /live.

Be sure and visit the series on social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirtand http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings 

1.       Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 4645
2.       Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 4295
3.       Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 4290
4.       Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 4245
5.       Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 3975
6.       Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) – 3935
7.       John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) – 3925
8.       Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) – 3700
9.       Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 3655
10.    Eric Wells (Hazard, KY) – 3605