All-Star Sprints Logo

Quincy, Michigan (Saturday, Aug. 17, 2013) – Dave Blaney has been around racing long enough to know you have to put yourself in a position to win every time you hit the track. 

The NASCAR Sprint Cup driver did just that Saturday at the Butler Motor Speedway. When early leader Shane Stewart had problems “The Buckeye Bullet” was there to capitalize and then held off his brother Dale to score his 45th career victory with the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions. It’s Dave’s first UNOH All Star win since 1996 and moves him into 7th on the series’ all-time win list. 

“We got a good number to run the dash and we won that to put us up front for the feature. The outside was the place to be and Shane (Stewart) got the jump. I didn’t know if I could have caught him unless he had a problem and he did and we were there to take advantage,” said Blaney of his Heavy Duty Industrial Services/ Yates Engines backed #10. 

“We have my dad’s memorial race coming up Tuesday (at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio) and I wanted to get some more laps in this thing before that. We’re up here for the Cup race so we brought the sprint car to have some fun. Winning will make tomorrow’s race (NASCAR Sprint Cup at Michigan International) at lot more enjoyable,” added Blaney. 

For Dale Blaney, his second place run was important as he tries to claim his fourth UNOH All Star championship. 

“It was a typical Butler track. I don’t think anyone was going to catch Shane if he didn’t blow that tire. Every time we got to traffic where I might be able to do something the caution would come out. Dave ran a good race…there wasn’t much I could do with him. My tires were almost bald at the end,” said Dale of his Ti22 Performance/GF1 Chassis backed #2. 

Dave Blaney and Stewart would bring the field to the green for the 30-lap feature with Stewart gaining the upper hand. Brady Bacon and Kody Kinser would get together on the first lap to bring out the caution. Shortly after the green flew Cap Henry would spin and Paige Polyak would stop on the track to bring out the yellow. The running order was Stewart, Dave Blaney, Dale Blaney, Tim Shaffer, Danny Holtgraver, Trey Gustin, Cole Duncan, Bryan Sebetto and Caleb Helms. 

The race had a difficult time getting rolling as cautions slowed the pace. Soon after the green flew Holtgraver and Helms would spin for the fourth caution of the event with Stewart leading Dave Blaney, Dale Blaney, Shaffer, Duncan, Sebetto and Gustin. Before another lap could be recorded another spin would bring out the red for a fuel stop on lap 8. 

Stewart would go pit side during the stoppage so the restart running order was now Dave Blaney, Dale Blaney, Shaffer, Duncan, Sebetto and Gustin. A short time later and another caution with Dave and Dale Blaney leading Shaffer, Sebetto and Duncan. 

When the green flew the race would go the rest of the way under green with Dave Blaney taking the win over Dale Blaney, Shaffer, Duncan and Cap Henry who rebounded from his early race spin. 

The UNOH All Stars pay their second visit of the year to Mercer Raceway Park on Saturday, Aug. 25. When the series competed at Mercer on July 6, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania’s Danny Holtgraver picked up the victory. 

For more information go to 

Butler Motor Speedway – 8/17/2013

UNOH Night 

All Star Circuit of Champions (31 Cars)

[#]-Starting Position 

Qualifying – Kistler Engines

1. 45-Danny Holtgraver, 11.897; 2. 83-Tim Shaffer, 11.991; 3. 40-Caleb Helms, 12.004; 4. 80-Trey Gustin, 12.066; 5. 22-Cole Duncan, 12.196; 6. 3G-Shane Stewart, 12.202; 7. 24H-Bryan Sebetto, 12.223; 8. 2-Dale Blaney, 12.223; 9. 10-Dave Blaney, 12.312; 10. 99-Brady Bacon, 12.396; 11. 81-Paige Polyak, 12.429; 12. 54-Cap Henry, 12.605; 13. 4M-Kody Kinser, 12.704; 14. 17-Scott Euler, 12.706; 15. 27-Brad Lamberson, 12.728; 16. 48-Scott Hull, 12.748; 17. 17H-Jared Horstman, 12.822; 18. 16-Ryan Ruhl, 12.847; 19. 51-Roger Cambell, 12.867; 20. 39M-Matt Merrill, 12.922; 21. 19-Doug Zimmerman, 13.014; 22. 4T-Josh Turner, 13.081; 23. 25M-Kenny Mackey, 13.146; 24. 9E-Tim Evilsizer, 13.362; 25. 12B-Mike Baker, 13.547; 26. 1A-Mark Aldrich, 13.589; 27. 4P-Logan Jarrett, 13.924; 28. 50B-Mike Burns, 14.432; 29. 47-Robert Bulloch, 14.631; 30. 5QB-Quentin Blonde, 14.917; 31. O-Stuart Brubaker, 99.999 

Heat 1 – Kears Speed Shop (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 17H-Jared Horstman[2] ; 2. 19-Doug Zimmerman[1] ; 3. 4M-Kody Kinser[3] ; 4. 10-Dave Blaney[4] ; 5. 45-Danny Holtgraver[6] ; 6. 22-Cole Duncan[5] ; 7. 47-Robert Bulloch[8] ; 8. 12B-Mike Baker[7] 

Heat 2 – All Pro Aluminum Heads (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 16-Ryan Ruhl[2] ; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[4] ; 3. 3G-Shane Stewart[5] ; 4. 83-Tim Shaffer[6] ; 5. 4T-Josh Turner[1] ; 6. 17-Scott Euler[3] ; 7. 1A-Mark Aldrich[7] 

Heat 3 – Dragon Race Fuel (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 51-Roger Cambell[2] ; 2. 81-Paige Polyak[4] ; 3. 25M-Kenny Mackey[1] ; 4. 27-Brad Lamberson[3] ; 5. 4P-Logan Jarrett[7] ; 6. 24H-Bryan Sebetto[5] ; 7. 40-Caleb Helms[6] 

Heat 4 – Kinsler Fuel Injection (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 39M-Matt Merrill[2] ; 2. 54-Cap Henry[4] ; 3. 9E-Tim Evilsizer[1] ; 4. 2-Dale Blaney[5] ; 5. 80-Trey Gustin[6] ; 6. 48-Scott Hull[3] ; 7. 50B-Mike Burns[7] 

Dash – Outerwears Performance Products (6 Laps, finishing order determined first 6 starting positions of A-feature

1. 10-Dave Blaney[2] ; 2. 3G-Shane Stewart[1] ; 3. 83-Tim Shaffer[4] ; 4. 2-Dale Blaney[3] ; 5. 45-Danny Holtgraver[6] ; 6. 80-Trey Gustin[5] 

B-Main – MSD Ignition (12 Laps – Top 4 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 40-Caleb Helms[1] ; 2. 22-Cole Duncan[2] ; 3. 24H-Bryan Sebetto[3] ; 4. 17-Scott Euler[4] ; 5. 48-Scott Hull[5] ; 6. 12B-Mike Baker[6] ; 7. 50B-Mike Burns[8] ; 8. 5QB-Quentin Blonde[10] ; 9. 1A-Mark Aldrich[7] ; 10. 47-Robert Bulloch[9]

A-Main – University of Northwestern Ohio (30 Laps)

1. 10-Dave Blaney[1]; 2. 2-Dale Blaney[4]; 3. 83-Tim Shaffer[3]; 4. 22-Cole Duncan[12]; 5. 54-Cap Henry[9]; 6. 80-Trey Gustin[6]; 7. 45-Danny Holtgraver[5]; 8. 16-Ryan Ruhl[17]; 9. 81-Paige Polyak[8]; 10. 17-Scott Euler[14]; 11. 51-Roger Cambell[18]; 12. 17H-Jared Horstman[16]; 13. 4M-Kody Kinser[10]; 14. 9E-Tim Evilsizer[23]; 15. 40-Caleb Helms[11]; 16. 27-Brad Lamberson[15]; 17. 24H-Bryan Sebetto[13]; 18. 25M-Kenny Mackey[22]; 19. 39M-Matt Merrill[19]; 20. 19-Doug Zimmerman[20]; 21. 4P-Logan Jarrett[24]; 22. 3G-Shane Stewart[2]; 23. 4T-Josh Turner[21]; 24. 99-Brady Bacon[7]

Hard Charger: 16-Ryan Ruhl[+9]