By Mike Leone


(Hartford, OH)…The “410” Sprint Cars will be making their first of three appearances of the 2012 season at Sharon Speedway coming up Tuesday, June 26 when the All Star Circuit of Champions come to town for the 30th annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek. At this time, NASCAR Sprint Cup racer Dave Blaney is planning on competing!

This year’s version of Ohio Sprint Speedweek will feature nine straight nights of racing beginning at Attica Raceway Park on Friday night (June 22) with the Sharon event being stop #5 of the popular summer tradition. Sharon’s race will pay $5,000 to-win. 

After a five-year absence, Ohio Speedweek returned to Sharon in 2010 as Tim Shaffer topped a 42-car field for the victory, while last season it was Dale Blaney winning the Sharon leg of Speedweek over a 45-car field for his 13th career win at the track he grew up at. 

After a slow start this season, Shaffer of Aliquippa, Pa. has picked up momentum with his first win at Mercer Raceway Park on May 12 followed by another victory at NY’s Utica-Rome Speedway. Blaney meanwhile has already won four All Star features this season and has racked up 88 in his career! Blaney also leads both the National and Ohio Region points for the All Stars. 

Atop the all-time Sharon Speedway Sprint Car win list is Ed Lynch, Jr. The Apollo, Pa. driver has scaled back his operations the past two seasons running predominately special events only, but is expected to be in the field looking to add to his 50-win mark. 

Ohio Speedweek always draws in the best talent from the Midwest, western Pennsylvania, along the All Star regulars and usually a few surprises. Two of central Pennsylvania’s best in Lance Dewease and Stevie Smith have Sharon on their schedules and don’t be surprised to see a couple others join in. Western PA’s own Danny Holtgraver, the 2010 Lernerville Speedway champion, along with Pete Miller III, have followed the All Star tour as much as possible the last two seasons. 

“Sharon has always played in an important part in Ohio Speedweek history,” explained third year GM Dave Willoughby. “We’re happy once again to be part of this long-running tradition. We hope the fans and racers come out and support this great event plus fans will get a bonus most likely seeing Dave Blaney compete.”

The HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods and Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks will also be on the card racing for extra money.

Advance tickets are on sale for the event, which will admit ticket holders into the facility for preferred seating at 3 p.m. – one hour before the tickets go on sale and the gates open. An order form for tickets is available by going to, clicking, fans, and then tickets or at the following direct link…Ticket-Form.pdf.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 6:45, qualifying for the Sprints at approximately 7 and racing at 7:30. Adult admission is $22. Kids 13 and under are always free. Pit passes are $35. 

The 410 Sprint Cars will return next to Sharon as part of the fourth annual Lou Blaney Memorial presented by Ollie’s Outlet Bargain on Tuesday, July 10 for a another $5,000 to-win feature. The Governor Insurance Agency DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds will also be on the card for $2,000 to-win. The Alzheimer’s Association Benefit event will feature NASCAR’s Tony Stewart, Kasey Kahne, and Dave Blaney racing Sprint Cars.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter at