Hell Tour

Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Babb Scores His First Victory of 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” at I-96 Speedway

LAKE ODESSA, Mich. — June 23, 2013 — Shannon Babb faced challenges from Bobby Pierce and Tyler Reddick on Sunday night, but held on to score his first victory of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” and his third consecutive win at I-96 Speedway.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., has dominated the 3/8th-mile Michigan oval, where on Sunday night 28 late models took their best shot at him. Babb started from the outside of the front row and proved his dominance again this year, but not without his fair share of challenges. Babb, a three-time Summer Nationals champion, held off Reddick following a two-lap dash to the finish to score the $5,000 checkered flag.

“This place has been really good to us,” said Babb, who has won every Summer Nationals race held at I-96. “We love racing here. The fans are a lot of fun and the track was excellent.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard and Rusty Schlenk rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Shannon Babb, Ryan Unzicker and Bobby Pierce.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Monday night at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; I-96 Speedway; Lake Odessa, Mich.: June 23, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1.Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2.Tyler Reddick, 3.Bobby Pierce, 4.Brandon Sheppard, 5.Rusty Schlenk, 6.Dustin Griffin, 7.Brandon Thirlby, 8.Jason McBride, 9.Wayne Chinn, 10.Jeff Babcock, 11.Steve Kester, 12.Randy Korte, 13.Brian Ruhlman, 14.Richard Neiser, 15.Ryan Unzicker, 16.Eric Spangler, 17.Pat Ehlert, 18.Jacob Poel, 19.Ryan Vanderveen, 20.Herb Reich, 21.Dusty Moore, 22.Dona Marcoullier.