Jon Stanbrough leads the AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series into this Friday’s “Larry Rice Classic” at Bloomington Speedway, a race to honor the legacy of a man who racked up accomplishments in many roles in the sport. Rice was a winner in all three divisions of USAC competition and is still remembered as one of the great ambassadors of the sport.

Fans can expect some special giveaways from the USAC Benevolent Fund to mark the race run in Rice’s honor, and they will also have special discount tickets available for Saturday’s “Hall of Fame Classic” Traxxas Silver Crown race at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

Sikeston, Missouri’s Hunter Schuerenberg captured his second-straight AMSOIL National Sprint Car Main Event on Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Indiana. The win in the “Spring Showdown” that featured a co-sanction with the Midwest Sprint Car Series made Schuerenberg the winningest driver in the series over the past two seasons with six triumphs.

“I like winning at Haubstadt – it’s a great track with a great crowd, and it’s always great to get another USAC win,” Schuerenberg said after completing the non-stop 30-lapper.

Schuerenberg was also a winner at Bloomington in 2011, an Indiana Sprintweek event in July. Chris Windom won last year’s “Rice Classic” in May.

In addition to the loaded cast of drivers and teams racing regularly with USAC and in Indiana, local fans can look forward to seeing another return of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma driver Brady Bacon, who was victorious in 2011 at Knoxville Raceway in Iowa.

Grandstand gates open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30. Tickets are $25, while kids 12 & under are free. For more information, visit!