TAMPA, FL (February 12, 2013) – Scott Bloomquist won tonight’s main event in dominating fashion, leading flag-to-flag. Just one night after coming within a single car-length of victory lane, the 2-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion powered his way to the $5,000 victory in night two of the 37th Annual DART Winternationals. The win for Bloomquist marks his sixth career win at East Bay and extended his all-time LOLMDS series victory total to 46 wins. The 49-year-old Hall of Famer led Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr., and John Blankenship to the checkered flag.

Bloomquist quickly grabbed the lead at the start of the main event keeping a comfortable lead for most of the race. The final caution came out with 2 laps to go, resetting and tightening the field back up. With a final two-lap dash standing between him and victory lane, Bloomquist held off the field to claim the prize. His self-designed chassis is powered by a Roush-Yates Ford Engine.

“The car has been spectacular all-week! We came so close to winning last night, then tonight we got off to another great start! We were able to capitalize on the pole-starting spot,” said Bloomquist, “Last year we were a little bit off. For a lot of drivers, it would have been a good year, but not for us. We have recently regrouped a little bit and the changes have meshed well together.” 

After the race, O’Neal commented, “Scott was so good, there really wasn’t much left at the end to get up there and pass him. We are off to a good start this season, and when we start the points at the end of the week, we feel like we have the car to beat this year.” O’Neal piloted the Optima Batteries, MasterSbilt House Car.

Francis came home third in the Georgia Boot, Clint Bowyer Racing, and Barry Wright Race Cars entry. “Tonight was a whole lot better than last night, that’s for sure! Someone got into us last night, but tonight we got to start closer to the front. When racing racing guys like Scott and Donnie, it really makes a difference!”

In preliminary action, Brandon Sheppard set the overall Red Buck Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 44 entrants, with a lap of 14.420 seconds. Don O’Neal set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.675 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Eric Jacobsen, Mike Marlar and Steve Francis won their respective Heat Races.  Devin Moran and Austin Hubbard won their respective B-Mains. Vic Coffey won the PRC Strawberry Dash.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt series will be back every night this week with more high-flying action from the 37th Annual DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL. For more information on the event or EBRP, log onto www.eastbayracewaypark.com 

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Tuesday Night, February 12th, 2013

37th Annual DART Winternationals
East bay Raceway Park – Tampa, FL
Red Buck Fast Time Group A: Don O’Neal / 14.675 seconds
Red Buck Fast Time Group B: Brandon Sheppard / 14.420 seconds
Wiles Drive Shafts Heat Race #1 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Bobby Pierce, Mike Marlar, Jimmy Owens, Chad Stapleton, Dan Stone, Vic Coffey, Jason McBride, Scott Phillips, James O’Hara
Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Eric Jacobsen, Tyler Reddick, Todd Frank, Billy Moyer, Devin Moran, Jared Landers, Mark Whitener, Jerry Lierly, Stormy Scott, Braden Mitchell, Bob Geiger
Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Justin Rattliff, David Breazeale, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Billy Moyer, Jr., John Blankenship, Ricky Weiss, Chad Hollenbeck, Doug Blashe, Keith Tincher, Nick Davis
HAWK Performance Heat Race #4 (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Dennis Erb, Jr., Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Donnie Moran, Austin Hubbard, Jason Riggs, Doug Drown, Brad Malcuit, Corey Weaver, Chuck Julien, Dwight Falcon
CV Products B-Main #1 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Moran, Jimmy Owens, Mark Whitener, Chad Stapleton, Dan Stone, Jerry Lierly, Vic Coffey, Braden Mitchell, Jason McBride, James O’Hara, Scott Phillips, Jared Landers, Bob Geiger, Stormy Scott-DNS
Wrisco Aluminum B-Main #2 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Austin Hubbard, Doug Drown, Jason Riggs, John Blankenship, Ricky Weiss, Corey Weaver, Doug Blashe, Billy Moyer, Jr., Keith Tincher, Nick Davis, Brad Malcuit, Chad Hollenbeck, Chuck Julien-DNS, Dwight Falcon-DNS
PRC Strawberry Dash Finish: Vic Coffey, Jerry Lierly, Chad Stapleton, Jared Landers, Jason McBride, Keith Tincher, Nick Davis, Ricky Weiss 

Feature Finish (25 Laps):

1 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 5 71 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
3 4 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
4 8 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
5 24 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
6 13 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
7 3 5J Eric Jacobsen Watsonville, CA
8 21 58 Mark Whitener Reddick, FL
9 26 32c Vic Coffey Caledonia, NY
10 7 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
11 2 B5 Brandon Sheppard Berlin, IL
12 16 99 Donnie Moran Dresden, OH
13 10 54 David Breazeale Philadelphia, MS
14 18 11h Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE
15 19 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
16 14 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
17 20 63 Doug Drown Wooster, OH
18 17 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
19 11 21F Todd Frank Mellen, WI
20 22 81JR Jason Riggs Harrisburg, IL
21 25 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR
22 6 16 Justin Rattliff Campbellsville, KY
23 23 21d Dan Stone Thompson, PA
24 9 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
25 12 18H Ronny Lee Hollingsworth Northport, AL
26 15 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR
Race Statistics
Entrants: 44
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 – 25)
Caution Flags: Scott Riggs, Todd Frank (Lap 1); Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Billy Moyer (Lap 8); Dan Stone (Lap 23)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: n/a
DirtonDirt.com Fast Time Provisional: Billy Moyer Jr.
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: John Blankenship (started: 24th, finished: 5th, advanced: 19 positions)
Allstar Performer of the Race: Mark Whitener
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Donnie Moran
JRi Shocks/Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: n/a
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Roush-Yates Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Tom Buckingham (John Blankenship)
Time of Race: 21 minutes 16 seconds
DART Winternationals Point Standings:

Scott Bloomquist
Dennis Erb, Jr.
Don O’Neal
Tyler Reddick
Donnie Moran
Steve Francis
Eric Jacobsen
Mark Whitener
John Blankenship
Vic Coffey