Hell Tour
Contact: Chris Dolack
DIRTcar Racing PR
704-795-7223 | cdolack@dirtcar.com

Bloomquist Scores First DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory in 10 Years at Florence Speedway

UNION, Ky. — July 9, 2013 — Running his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” event in 10 years on Tuesday night at Florence Speedway, Scott Bloomquist led all 40 laps as he captured his first checkered flag of the 2013 “Hell Tour” season.

Starting from the pole-position, Bloomquist, of Mooresburg, Tenn., dominated the feature event at Florence in the 17th leg of the “Hell Tour” six-week long schedule. Bloomquist, a week after challenging Josh Richards in the World of Outlaws Late Model Series Firecracker 100 at Lernerville Speedway, raced on the Hell Tour, where he won championships in 1990, 1991 and 2002.

Bloomquist had his car on cruise control as he pulled out to an early lead and never looked back. The closest challenge Bloomquist faced was from a red-hot Shannon Babb, but not even a streaking Babb could wrestle the $5,000 checkered flag from Bloomquist, as he rolled to the victory at the half-mile oval.

“The track has some character tonight,” Bloomquist said. “There were some patches that were a little bit rough. It got slick in the middle, but the car was just really good all night. I couldn’t tell how close anybody was. I saw my guys signaling me there late in the race and it looked like we had a pretty big lead. The car just felt really good.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

NASCAR star Austin Dillon, 2011 DIRTcar Late Model national champion Ryan Unzicker and Justin Rattliff rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Kent Robinson, Ben Adkins, Austin Dillon and Scott Bloomquist.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues Wednesday night at Terre Haute Action Track in Terre Haute, Ind.


SCHEDULE UPDATE — The event that was underway on July 6 at Highland (Ill.) Speedway when rain forced it to a halt will be completed on Sunday, Aug. 25. … The rained out race that was originally scheduled for June 29 at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo., will not be made up.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Florence Speedway; Union, Ky: July 9, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Scott Bloomquist ($5,000), 2. Shannon Babb, 3. Austin Dillon, 4. Ryan Unzicker, 5. Justin Rattliff, 6. Greg Johnson, 7. Brandon Sheppard, 8. Ben Adkins, 9. Jason Montgomery, 10. Bobby Pierce, 11. Jeff Babcock, 12. Jason Papich, 13. James Rice, 14. Dustin Griffin, 15. Jason McBride, 16. Jesse Lay, 17. Todd Frank, 18. Steve Kester, 19. Jason Smith, 20. Kent Robinson, 21. Steve Landrum, 22. Mike Jewell.