For Immediate Release:
The NDRL’s United Late Model Series

Boom Briggs Returns to NDRL’s ULMS Victory Lane, Steve Dixon Continues UEMS Domination at Sharon

Hartford, OH (July 20, 2013) Not even a quick rain shower as time trials ended could stop Boom Briggs from picking up his first NDRL ULMS Late Model Series win since October 2011. Steve Dixon of Smethport kept his dominating performance in the NDRL United Emod Series action with his third UEMS win in four events at Sharon Speedway.

Defending series champion, Boom Briggs and Russ King paced the NDRL’s ULMS Late Models to Todd Beichner’s green flag with Briggs getting the quick shot to the lead with Brent Rhebergen, Dave Hess , King and point leader Mike Knight in fifth after the opening lap. Jason Dupont would bring the first yellow as he sat sideways in turn three on the second la p. The restart saw Briggs and Rhebergen pull away from Hess and company. Lap ten quickly came by as the event was clicking off at a torrid pace as the top five were still the same. The top two had pulled away and a intense battle for third between Hess, King, Knight, Keith Barbara and Jared Miley was engaging. Rhebergen began to close in on Briggs and each lap was 2/10 faster than the 99B of Briggs. By lap 17, Rhebergen had pulled within a few car lengths as the fans were on their feet anticipating a possible upset win. The Briggs-Rhebergen duo entered lap traffic as they battled for the lead the battle for third was still intense. Knight moved into third with Barbara now fourth as heavy lap traffic became a factor. As quickly as Knight grabbed third he found the backstretch wall and fell to seventh. Lap 23 saw the action slowed by Wally Fox who was running in front of the very intense dog fight for third got some help and turned sideways as the third thru seventh place cars were all stacked up behind the lap cars. The restart saw Briggs and Rhebergen again pull away with Hess, Barbara and King your top five. With two to go, Barbara would get under Rhebergen for second and he would try to chase down Boom for the win but Briggs was able to hold off Barbara for his first NDRL ULMS late model series win since the season closer in 2011. Barbara came home second with Brent Rhebergen with his season best third place finish, King and Hess rounded out the top five. Miley was sixth followed by Jim Rasey, Jason Dupont, Greg Oakes and Matt Urban. Russ King and Keith Barbara were the heat winners.

28 A&MP Electric UEMS Emods were on hand with 24 of them starting the main event. The front row witnessed the previous night winner at Lernerville, Dave Hess Jr on the pole with the area’s hottest driver and current UEMS point leader Steve Dixon beside him. Hess took the lead at the start with Dixon and Jeff Johnson in tow. By lap three Hess and Dixon had pulled away from Johnson and Randy Hall with Brent Rhebergen now in fifth. Lap five saw Hess bobble in turn one allowing Dixon to pull beside Hess and make the pass on the backstretch. The car on the move by lap eight was Joel Watson who started fifteenth and was now in 8th and was coming fast! Lap ten clicked off the board with the top five still the same and Watson up to seventh behind Mike Kinney. The first yellow came out on lap 13 for Gary Sullivan. On the restart Dixon again motored away from Hess. Rhebergen now took fourth from Hall as he began to work Johnson for third while Hall was keeping Watson at bay for the battle for fifth. With five to go it was evident that Dixon was pulling away from Hess and looking for his sixth win in his last eight starts and that is what happened as Dixon won convincingly over Hess, Johnson was able to hold off Rhebergen with Joel Watson coming from fifteenth to fifth. Hall was sixth followed by Johnathan Taylor, Shane Crotty, Scott Stiffler and Mike Kinney tenth. Heat winners were: Dixon, Hess, Kinney and Dwayne Clay won the consolation event.


BOOM BRIGGS, Keith Barbara Brent Rhebergen, Russ King, Dave Hess, Jared Miley , Jim Rasey, Jason Dupont, Greg Oakes, Matt Urban, Ryan Markham, Mike Knight, Hiram Bachman, John Britsky, Wally Fox Michael Oakes, Matt Lux (DNS)

STEVE DIXON, Dave Hess, Jeff Johnson, Brent Rhebergen, Joel Watson, Randy Hall, Jonathan Taylor, Shane Crotty, Scott Stiffler, Mike Kinney, Vic Vena, Clayton Kennedy, Evan Taylor, Mike Potosky, Andy Buckley, Ken Zimmer, Carl McKinney, Shawn Shingledecker, Rocky Kugel, Howard Fraley, Dwayne Clay, Gary Sullivan, Jeff Hassay, Joe Gabrielson DNQ: Jake Eller, Dustin Fraley, Amanda Stiffler, Brian Douglas

The NDRL’s ULMS Racing Series would also like to thank their supporters for the 2013 season: Aero Racing Wheels, American Racer Tires, Big Shot Performance, LLC, Bill’s Dirt Late Models, Close Racing Supply, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire, Integra Racing Shocks, Jay’s Auto Wrecking, JNJ Motorsports Media, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Lias Tire, Oyler Photos, Performance Bodies, Slavic Custom Racing Apparel and Decals, and R2C Filters.