With three races already in the books, the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series is set for another doubleheader weekend this Friday June 8th and Saturday, June 9th. Friday night, the wingless 410 sprint cars will roll into Wheelersburg, Ohio’s Southern Ohio Speedway for a first time ever non wing race in the track’s 45 year history. On Saturday night, the traveling outlaws will head west to the Legendary Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, Indiana, which is one of the most history rich traditional sprint car tracks in the country.

Series point leader Steve Irwin of Fenton, Michigan holds a slim one point lead over Gibsonburg, Ohio’s Tony Beaber, both of whom are still in search of their first BOSS win. Wayne County Speedway event winner Mike Burkin of Erlin, Ohio sits in a close 3rd spot while Russiaville, Indiana’s Dustin Smith and Westerville, Ohio’s Kirk Jeffries round out the top 5 in points. The tour has held 5 events in all and has seen 5 different winners from 4 different states grace victory lane so far. The 3 events in 2012 have seen an average car count of 24 per event. Both events are open tire rule events but are sponsored by Hoosier Race Tire and American Racer Tires. The highest finisher on all 4 Hoosier tires will earn a free tire each night while the highest finisher on American Racer’s will earn a $100 gift certificate at each event. The Outlaw part of the BOSS name is indicative of the fact there are no membership fees or registration fees to race with BOSS at any events. 

The Friday night event at Southern Ohio Speedway will be the 2nd annual “Gene Comstock Memorial”. Previous winners include Cole Duncan (wing event) and Justin Grant from Ione, California scored the 2011 Comstock Cup victory in the first ever BOSS event. The Southern race will pay the standard BOSS purse with $1200 to win and $225 to start with $100 guranteed tow money to every car that attempts to race but fails to make the A-Main event. There will be a $50 “Hard Charger” Award sponsored by Horne Performance Automotive and a $50 “Steel block” award o the highest finishing steel motor sponsored by “The Thunder Returns” vintage racer’s reunion. There will also be a “Hard Luck” Award sponsored by NAPA and Saldana Race Products. The gates will open at 3 pm Friday night and BOSS pill draw will open at 4 pm, and hot laps will begin at 7:30. Pit passes are $25, raceceivers are mandatory, and there is NO muffler rule.

The Saturday night event will mark the first ever race in the Hoosier state for BOSS as they are set to tackle Lawrenceburg Speedway. A stout field of Lawrenceburg regulars are expected to defend their home turf from the traveling invaders. Current BOSS points runner-up Tony Beaber is expected to lead the BOSS drivers into the battle of the Hoosier state as he has a track championship from Lawrenceburg in 2007 under his belt. This event will feature an enhanced purse where BOSS and Lawrenceburg have come together to offer the best of both standard payouts. This event will pay $1500 to win and $225 to start with $100 guaranteed to any car attempting to race, but failing to start the main event. Once again, Horne Performance Motorsports will offer a $50 bonus to the race’s “hard charger” while E A Home Supply will provide a $50 bonus to the highest finishing steel block engine and NAPA and Indy Race Parts will be providing the race’s “Hard Luck” Award. The pit gates will open at 4 pm, BOSS registration will begin at 4:15 and hot laps will begin at 6 pm. Pit passes are $25, raceceivers are mandatory. There is a muffler rule, cars must be equipped with the standard Schoenfeld part #112535. Lawrenceburg does use transponders, but they are free in exchange with your driver’s license.

Travel arrangements for the weekend are being sponsored by the Super 8 Motel of Portsmouth, Ohio. To reserve rooms, ask for the BOSS racer’s rate set up by the manager, Bill Self. To make reservations call 740-353-8880. Rooms are $54 a night and security will be provided overnight in the parking area. For more information or directions to either track, you can log onto the track websites atwww.southernohiospeedway.com , www.lawrenceburgspeedway.com , or for information on the series, log on to www.buckeyesprints.com .

Complete Southern Feature Payout: 1) $1200 2) $800 3) $600 4) $500 5) $450 6) $400 7) $375 8 ) $350 9) $325 10) $300 11) $280 12) $260 13) $250 14) $240 15) $225 16) $225 17) $225 18) $225 19) $225 20) $225

Complete Lawrenceburg Feature Payout: 1) $1500 2) $800 3) $600 4) $500 5) $450 6) $400 7) $375 8 ) $350 9) $325 10) $300 11) $280 12) $265 13) $260 14) $255 15) $250 16) $245 17) $240 18) $235 19) $230 20) $225

2012 BOSS Standings As Of June 5th:
After Event #3

1)  Steve Irwin – 681
2)  Tony Beaber – 680
3)  Mike Burkin – 669
4)  Dustin Smith – 658
5)  Kirk Jeffries – 626
6)  Mark Cassella – 581
7)  Aaron Middaugh – 571
8)  Chuck Wilson – 550
9)  Lewie Christian – 534
10) Andre Layfield – 428
11) Landon Simon – 419
12) Brandon Spithaler – 357