Bowser, A. Ferree, Schirnhofer, Bronsizewski, Black And Kimberly Capture PPMS Tri-State Championships

PPMS 2012 Logo

Bowser, A. Ferree, Schirnhofer, Bronsizewski,
Black And Kimberly Capture
Tri-State Championships

PITTSBURGH, PA — The inaugural Tri-State Championships were held at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 14th, as Carl Bowser scored his second victory of the season in the Super Sprint portion of the program. Alex Ferree continued his excellent season, as the Valencia, PA resident claimed his fourth PPMS win of the season in Super Late Model action while Tommy Schirnhofer (Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Late Models), Jeff Broniszewski (Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman) and Dan Black (Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks) also returned to victory lane. Dale Kimberly was the lone new winner as he claimed Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns main event.

Eric Williams led the first three circuits of the 20 lap Super Sprint main event before Carl Bowser took command and led the remainder of the feature event to score his second PPMS win of the season and pick up the $2,000 first place prize. Brandon Matus did an excellent job to claim the second spot and his best ever PPMS finish over Jack Sodeman, Jr., Mike Lutz and Williams.

Bowser scored the win in the Super Sprint Dash while Brent Matus was the winner in the heat race.

Brandon Wearing and Jim Stephans led the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model main event to the green. The 2012 divisional champion Michael Norris spun in turn four before the first lap could be completed. The second attempt at a start found Stephans claiming the top spot with Zeigler, Steve Baker and Alex Ferree following. Zeigler grabbed the top spot away from Stephans and led the second circuit before slowing on lap three and pitting with mechanical problems. Ferree, the newly crowned divisional champion, inherited the lead and wasted little time in pulling away from the field to lead final 27 caution free circuits of the feature event. By the time the checkered flag waved Ferree had lapped all but the top five finishers in the Joe Corrado owned Frankland Racing Products/Butler Pre-Owned sponsored Rocket Chassis to score his fourth PPMS victory of the year. John Mollick, who started in the seventh spot, got by Lynn Geisler on the final lap to claim the runner-up spot. Geisler, Ed Ferree and Baker completed the top five.

Alex Ferree and Zeigler were the victors in the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model prelims. Geisler also claimed the Awesome Hard Charger Award for advancing eight spots in the main event.

Nico Dabecco led the first eight laps of the Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Late Model main event before a caution for Chuck Medved slowed the field. On the restart Dabecco once again held the top spot with Josh Holtgraver, Mike Reft, Tommy Schirnhofer and Justin Lamb battling for positions two through five. The event’s final caution waved on lap 13 when Beau Glemba spun in turn four. Dabecco didn’t come up to speed as quickly as Schirnhofer did when the racing action resumed and as the field reached turn one Schirnhofer had wrestled the top spot away from the 16 year old driver. At the finish it was Schirnhofer scoring his third consecutive PPMS win over Holtgraver, Dabecco, Reft and Lamb.

Dabecco and Holtgraver were the winners in the Pro-Late Model heat events.

Steve Webb and Vince Laboon led the Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman main event to the green. Laboon would lead the first circuit before the event was slowed as Mark Lee hit the wall in turn two. When the racing action resumed, Laboon continued to lead with Ricky Steigerwald, Jeff Broniszewski, Webb, Pat Weldon and Nick Kocuba battling behind him. By lap six Broniszewski had worked his way to the second spot and overtook Laboon on the next lap. At the finish it was Broniszewski claiming his seventh PPMS win of the season over Laboon, Steigerwald, Weldon and Kocuba.

Broniszewski and Weldon captured the Late Model Sportsman prelims.

Chase Evans led the first four circuits of the Hobby Stock finale before Dan Black took command and went on to score his second consecutive win. Evans finished in the second spot with Ron Irwin piloting the Mach 5 machine to a third place finish.

Black scored the win in the Hobby Stock prelim.

O.B. Huff started on the pole of the Young Guns main event and led the first five laps before Dale Kimberly nipped him at the finish line on the sixth and final circuit to score the win. Huff was followed by David Ostrander, Devin Black and Michael Jackson.

Racing action at PPMS resumes next Saturday, September 21st as we present Racer Appreciation Night sponsored by Frankland Racing Products, American Diecast Company and K&N Performance. It will also be Monster Wing Night with discount chicken wings and free sauce for the wings.

Fans are also encouraged to sign up for free race day text messages to get the latest information on weather or traffic delays that may impact the racing action by clicking on the “Rained Out” logo on the speedway website,

Additional information is also available on the speedway website: or by contacting the speedway office at (412) 279-RACE (7223). Race fans can follow Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway at and’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Super Sprint Finish: Carl Bowser, Brandon Matus, Jack Sodeman, Jr., Mike Lutz, Eric Williams, Russ Sansosti, Brent Matus, Bob McMillan, Skip Daugherty, C.J. Jones, Ricky Byers

Diehl Of Robinson Super Late Model Finish: Alex Ferree, John Mollick, Lynn Geisler, Ed Ferree, Steve Baker, Jim Stephans, Jon Hodgkiss, Ben Miley, Derek Stefanick, Brandon Wearing, Michael Norris, Davey Johnson, Mason Zeigler

Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro Late Model Finish: Tommy Schirnhofer, Josh Holtgraver, Nico Dabecco, Mike Reft, Justin Lamb, Ken Chernik, Mark Moats, Steve Beatty, Beau Glemba, Paul Jablonski, Bryant Hank, Dusty Curry, Brian Goebel, Andy Spooner, Chuck Medved

Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman Finish: Jeff Broniszewski, Vince Laboon, Ricky Steigerwald, Pat Weldon, Jake Simmons, Nick Kocuba, Steve Webb, Pat Hanley, Bobby Heim, George Nicola, Jarrod Westover, Todd Janas, Bob Egley, Mark Lee

Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stock Finish: Dan Black, Chase Evans, Ron Irwin

Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns Finish: Dale Kimberly, O.B. Huff, David Ostrander, Devin Black, Michael Jackson