Brent Marks Turns Tables On Hodnett For Williams Grove Sprints Win
Doug Hammaker scores for first time ever in 358 sprints


Mechanicsburg – Brent Marks turned the tables on Greg Hodnett at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night and instead of chasing him to the checkers in the 410 sprint feature as he did a week earlier he took the win ahead of the oval point leader for his first Grove victory of the season.

In the 358 sprint main it was Doug Hammaker taking his first career win at the oval while becoming just the fourth driver to take a checkered flag in the division at the track this season.

Kyle Reinhardt started second in the 25 lap 410 sprint feature and took the lead at the start over Ryan Bohlke while Marks started in the sixth spot and drove to third on just the first lap.

Reinhardt would prove a formidable foe with the lead however as even on a restart after a flip by Danny Dietrich with six laps down Marks’ failed to net the lead.

Instead Reinhardt thwarted Marks’ advances in the corners however his entry into the backmarkers for the leader proved even more challenging and that’s where Marks was able to make his move.

Once working traffic Reinhardt suffered with being forced out of his rhythym and Marks drove low to take control with a third turn move with nine laps to go.

After falling to second Reinhardt suffered in traffic and contact with a lapped car the next time around sent him into the outside wall, setting up a final restart, still with nine laps to go.

Doug Esh lined up second ahead of Hodnett and Don Kreitz Jr. for the restart and when action resumed Esh got held up by a lapped car allowing Myers to drive away while Hodnett and Kreitz pounced for second.

Hodnett got the spot on the restart but failed to close on Marks, instead being forced to deal with Kreitz.

The pair waged a spirited battle over the final five laps with Hodnett holding on for the spot.

Kreitz was third followed by Esh and Aaron Ott.

Sixth through 10th went to Brian Montieth, Steve Buckwalter, Ryan Bohlke, Justin Barger and Alan Krimes.

Heats for the 29-car field went to Kreitz, Barger and Lance Dewease with Rick Lafferty taking the consolation.

Leah Starner led the first four laps of the 20-lap 358 sprint main before sixth starter Doug Hammaker took control of the race.

His pace was halted twice during the rest of his run at the front, once at the halfway point and again a lap later.

But both times Hammaker was able to get away from the field all the while point leader Kevin Nouse worked his way forward.

Nouse took second with five laps to go but failed to drive down any distance on Hammaker, who took the win by a straightaway.

Starner held on for third followed by Chris Arnold and Chandler Leiby.

Heats for the 17-car field went to Adrian Shaffer and Phil Walter.

July 25, 2014 Feature Finish:

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Don Kreitz Jr., 4. Doug Esh, 5. Aaron Ott, 6. Brian Montieth, 7. Steve Buckwalter, 8. Ryan Bohlke, 9. Justin Barger, 10. Alan Krimes, 11. Cory Haas, 12. Glenndon Forsythe, 13. Ryan Smith, 14. Curt Michael, 15. Pat Cannon, 16. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 17. Adam Wilt, 18. Rick Lafferty, 19. Jordan Givler, 20. Kyle Pruitt, 21. Ryan Wilson, 22. Kyle Reinhardt, 23. Danny Dietrich, 24. Lance Dewease

DNQ: Nicole Bower, Troy Fraker, Jim Shuster, Todd Allen, Jay Reichart

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Doug Hammaker, 2. Kevin Nouse, 3. Leah Starner, 4. Chris Arnold, 5. Chandler Leiby, 6. Rich Eichelberger, 7. Brock Zearfoss, 8. Kody Lehman, 9. Matt Campbell, 10. Phil Walter, 11. DJ Montgomery, 12. Brie Hershey, 13. Scott Fisher, 14. Tyler Templin, 15. Jay Galloway, 16. Adrian Shaffer, 17. Jason Shultz