Placerville Speedway – Saturday April 28


The third race of the 2012 season for the Cancen Oil KWS Series presented by Goodyear is on tap this Saturday night at the high-banked quarter-mile Placerville Speedway. The opening two rounds of the year have been highly successful with huge crowds, great racing and lots of fun had by all.

It will be the first event for Winged 410 Sprint Cars at the track since August of 2010 and is expected to bring a packed house of spectators to the El Dorado County Fairgrounds bullring. The fans at Placerville have always been known as some of the best in sprint car racing and excitement is in the air for Saturday.

Chico’s Jonathan Allard goes into Placerville as the KWS point leader by one-marker over defending champion Tim Kaeding of San Jose. “TK” has won the two most recent Winged 410 events at the track and also picked up the “Tribute to Al Hinds” last September at the facility. Placerville’s own Andy Gregg will also be looking for victory in front of the hometown crowd.


The pit gate opens at 2pm on Saturday, the front gate will open at 5pm and cars will be hitting the track for wheel packing around 6pm, with qualifying at 6:30pm and racing around 7pm.


The Placerville Speedway is located on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds in Placerville, California. Take Hwy US-50 to Forni Road/Placerville Drive exit. Then go north on Placerville Drive to the Fairgrounds. The physical address is 100 Placerville Dr., Placerville, CA 95667.


Adult tickets on Saturday will cost $20, seniors will be $16, juniors $12 and children $6. All seating is general admission and fans are encouraged to get there early.

About the track:

The Placerville Speedway is a high-banked quarter-mile oval with distinctive red clay and features an all-time track record that stands at a blistering fast 9.913. The mark was set in the spring of 2004 by San Jose’s Tim Kaeding and then was amazingly matched by Scotts Valley’s Evan Suggs in March of 2009.

Recent history of Winged 410 Sprint Cars at Placerville Speedway:

As noted this will be the first time Winged 410 Sprint Cars have been in action at the Placerville Speedway since 2010. That year saw Tim Kaeding win a pair of events and Jonathan Allard claim a single victory. In 2009 eventual state champion Tyler Walker captured two wins and Brent Kaeding picked up one victory.

Top-10 in Cancen Oil KWS presented by Goodyear points going into this Saturday night:

  1. Jonathan Allard 319; 2. Tim Kaeding 318; 3. Bobby McMahan 292; 3. Evan Suggs 292; 5. Brent Kaeding 289; 6. Peter Murphy 279; 7. Jason Statler 279; 8. Shane Golobic 273; 9. Rico Abreu 270; 10. Andy Gregg 267; 10. Kyle Hirst 267

On the internet:

Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear-

Official Website- Facebook- Twitter-

Placerville Speedway-

Official Website- Facebook- Twitter-!/pvllspeedway