Defending King of the West Series Champion: Tim Kaeding

Season-opener at Antioch Speedway-

Antioch, California – Saturday April 7


Coming off a banner 2011 season the Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear will kick off the 2012 campaign on Saturday night April 7 at the Antioch Speedway. A fully loaded traveling roster of 410 Sprint Cars will hit the action packed one-third mile oval in hopes of getting the season started off on the right foot.


On Saturday April 7 the front grandstand gate will be open at 5pm. Hot laps are scheduled for 6pm, with qualifying at 6:30 and racing anticipated to start around 7.


Antioch Speedway is located on the Contra Costa County Fairgrounds at the corner of 10 th and L Streets in Antioch, California. Take SR-4 East (Highway 4) to the Somersville Road North Exit. Follow Somersville Road to 10thStreet. Turn Right on 10th Street. The address for the track is 1201 W. 10th Street Antioch, CA 94509.


Tickets will be available the day of the race with adults being $20, children 6-12 $10, seniors 65 & older $10 and children 5 & under free. A family pack with two adults & two children will also be available for $50.

On the Internet:

Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear-
Official Website-
Antioch Speedway-  

About the track:

The Antioch Speedway was lengthened and re-configured prior to the 2009 season and is now a one-third mile semi-banked dirt oval. This past July saw the KWS track record fall when Scotts Valley’s Evan Suggs blistered the speedway in 11.770 seconds.  


Last season with the Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear:

San Jose’s Tim Kaeding captured six main event wins and claimed the KWS title by 65-markers over Scotts Valley’s Evan Suggs. It was the second state 410 championship for Kaeding and the first for Roth Motorsports. A vast increase in series regulars were seen and made for one of the best seasons in recent memory for 410 Sprint Car racing in Northern California.

Main event winners in 2011 (number of wins in parentheses):

Tim Kaeding (6), Jonathan Allard (4), Tommy Tarlton (2), Evan Suggs (1), Andy Gregg (1), Willie Croft (1) and Peter Murphy (1).

Final top-10 in driver standings for 2011:

1. Tim Kaeding; 2. Evan Suggs; 3. Brent Kaeding; 4. Jonathan Allard; 5. Jason Statler; 6. Willie Croft; 7. Andy Gregg; 8. Bobby McMahan; 9. Kenny Allen; 10. Brad Furr.  

Upcoming events after season opener in Antioch on April 7:

Saturday April 14- “Chris & Brian Faria Memorial” Tulare Thunderbowl
Saturday April 21- Marysville Raceway Park
Saturday April 28- Placerville Speedway
Saturday May 5- “Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial” Silver Dollar Speedway