051113 I30VL

McCreadie’s Late-Race Tangle With Lapped Car Sends Clanton To World of Outlaws Late Model Series Victory At I-30 Speedway

Despite Deflating Left-Rear Tire, Georgia Driver Holds Off Lanigan Over Final Five Laps For Third Win Of ’13

By Kevin Kovac, WoO LMS P.R. Director

LITTLE ROCK, AR – May 11, 2013 – Shane Clanton knows his third World of Outlaws Late Model Series triumph of 2013 was a product of good fortune.

After capturing Saturday night’s 50-lap A-Main at I-30 Speedway, the 37-year-old driver from Zebulon, Ga., could only shake his head at the unlikely turn of events that made him a winner in the national tour’s first-ever event in the state of Arkansas.

“I got lucky,” admitted Clanton, who was victorious for the second time in the last three WoO LMS events. “It was given to me because (Tim) McCreadie got into the lapped car. He had a better race car.”

Indeed, Clanton appeared resigned to finishing second after being passed for the lead by Watertown, N.Y.’s McCreadie on lap 43. But two circuits later McCreadie spun between turns three and four when he tangled with Robbie Stuart while attempting to lap the DeRidder, La., driver, sending McCreadie to the rear of the field for the ensuing restart and handing the top spot back to Clanton.

Then Clanton – despite running with a deflating left-rear tire – held off a furious challenge from Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., over the final five laps to defeat the defending WoO LMS champion by a mere 0.259 of a second.

Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., maintained his WoO LMS points lead with a third-place finish after starting sixth. Outside polesitter Rick Eckert of York, Pa., placed fourth and Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., completed the top five.

Check back soon for more details…

Results of World of Outlaws Late Model Series at I-30 Speedway (Finishing Position/Start/Driver/Laps Completed/Money Won):

1. (1) Shane Clanton/50 $10,550
2. (3) Darrell Lanigan/50 $5,650
3. (6) Josh Richards/50 $3,650
4. (2) Rick Eckert/50 $3,200
5. (5) Billy Moyer/50 $2,150
6. (8) Bub McCool/50 $2,300
7. (7) Clint Smith/50 $1,950
8. (9) Wendell Wallace/50 $1,850
9. (16) Kyle Beard/50 $1,300
10. (20) Jack Sullivan/50 $1,150
11. (10) Tim Fuller/50 $1,600
12. (18) Scott James/50 $1,550
13. (21) Robbie Baker/50 $1,050
14. (12) Eric Wells/50 $1,700
15. (13) Morgan Bagley/50 $1,400
16. (17) Chandler Petty/50 $800
17. (22) Tommy Surrett/50 $770
18. (15) Zach McMillan/50 $750
19. (4) Tim McCreadie/50 $1,380
20. (11) Dillon Wood/50 $700
21. (19) Chub Frank/50 $1,250
22. (24) Robbie Stuart/50 $700
23. (23) Odie Green/22 $700
24. (14) Timothy Culp/0 $700

* Earnings include Winners Circle program and cash contingency award bonuses

Time of Race: 24 Mins., 22.901 Secs.
Margin of Victory: 0.259 Secs.
Yellow Flags: 4 (Laps 3, 12, 25, 45)
Lap Leaders: Clanton (1-42); McCreadie (43-45); Clanton (46-50)
Provisional Starters: Green, Stuart
Rookie of the Race: Wells ($250)
WoO LMS ‘Bonus Bucks’ Winner: Wallace ($500)

Ohlins Shocks Time Trial Results (Position/No./Driver/Hometown/Best Lap):

1. 29-Darrell Lanigan/Union, KY 14.172
2. 21-Billy Moyer/Batesville, AR 14.258
3. 1-Josh Richards/Shinnston, WV 14.319
4. 24-Rick Eckert/York, PA 14.334
5. c8-Timothy Culp/W. Monroe, LA 14.352
6. 27s-Tommy Surrett/Little Rock, AR 14.360
7. 44-Clint Smith/Senoia, GA 14.363
8. 39-Tim McCreadie/Watertown, NY 14.412
9. 25-Shane Clanton/Zebulon, GA 14.484
10. 14M-Morgan Bagley/Longview, TX 14.507
11. 57J-Bub McCool/Vicksburg, MS 14.519
12. 18-Eric Wells/Hazard, KY 14.642
13. 19-Tim Fuller/Watertown, NY 14.643
14. 1s-Jack Sullivan/Greenbrier, AR 14.664
15. 6M-Wendell Wallace/Batesville, AR 14.724
16. 86-Kyle Beard/Truman, AR 14.728
17. 47-Chandler Petty/Cabot, AR 14.764
18. 15-Odie Green/Texarkana, AR 14.783
19. 17M-Robbie Baker/Bryant, AR 14.856
20. 6R-Robbie Stuart/DeRidder, LA 14.863
21. 1G-Scott James/Bright, IN 14.897
22. 11c-Jeff Chandler/Minden, LA 15.015
23. 1W-Dillon Wood/New Smyrna Beach, FL 15.054
24. 0-Shane Harris/Sheridan, AR 15.107
25. 86x-Gary Beard/Truman, AR 15.127
26. 1*-Chub Frank/Bear Lake, PA 15.180
27. 14z-Zach McMillan/Kilgore, TX N/T

Heat No. 1 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Lanigan, Eckert, C. Smith, Fuller, Bagley, K. Beard, Baker, J. Chandler, G. Beard

Heat No. 2 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): McCreadie, Moyer, McCool, Wood, Culp, Petty, Sullivan, Frank, Stuart

Heat No. 3 (10 laps – Top 6 Transfer): Richards, Clanton, Wallace, Wells, McMillan, James, Green, Harris, Surrett

B-Main (12 laps – Top 4 Transfer): Frank, Sullivan, Baker, Surrett, Green, Harris, G. Beard, Chandler, Stuart

World of Outlaws Late Model Series Contingency Award Winners (awards presented to noted finisher/qualifier or next highest displaying decal:

Ohlins Shocks ($50 cash to fast qualifier): Billy Moyer
Eibach Springs (one free spring to each B-Main winner): Jack Sullivan
VP Race Fuels ‘Nice Jugs’ Award: (One VP 5-gallon container to fastest qualifier who misses A-Main): Gary Beard
Wrisco Aluminum (3 sheets of aluminum to A-Main winner only): Shane Clanton
Armor All (One case of product to highest-finishing non-WoO team in A-Main): Billy Moyer
Comp Cams ($50 certificate to A-Main winner): Shane Clanton
QuarterMaster ($100 certificate to A-Main winner, $50 certificate to 5th-place finish): Shane Clanton/Tommy Surrett
MSD Ignition ($50 cash to A-Main winner): Josh Richards
STP ($50 cash to 2nd-place finisher in A-Main): Darrell Lanigan
XS Power ($50 cash to 3rd-place finisher in A-Main): Rick Eckert
Roush Yates ($50 cash to 4th-place finisher in A-Main): Rick Eckert
JE Pistons ($50 cash to 5th-place finisher in A-Main): Bub McCool
Dominator ($50 cash to 6th-place finisher in A-Main): Bub McCool
American Race Wheels ($50 cash to 7th-place finisher in A-Main): Kyle Beard
VP Race Fuels ($50 cash to 8th-place finisher in A-Main): Wendell Wallace
Edelbrock Manifolds ($50 cash to 9th-finisher in A-Main): Kyle Beard
Comp Cams ($50 cash to 10th-place finisher in A-Main): Jack Sullivan
XS Power ($60 product certificate to 11th-place finisher in A-Main): Scott James
Cometic Gasket ($50 cash to 12th-place finisher in A-Main): Robbie Baker
JRI Shocks ($50 cash to 13th-place finisher in A-Main): Robbie Baker
Super Flow Dynos ($50 cash to 14th-place finisher in A-Main): Eric Wells
JE Pistons (one complete set of JE Pro Seal rings to 16th-place finisher in A-Main, redeemable w/next purchase of set): Chandler Petty
Klotz Lubricants ($50 cash to 17th-place finisher in A-Main): Tim McCreadie
Roush Yates ($50 gift card to 18th-place finisher in A-Main): Chub Frank
QuarterMaster ($50 certificate to 19th-place finisher in A-Main): Tim McCreadie
Arizona Sport Shirts ($100 certificate to 20th-place finisher in A-Main): Dillon Wood
JE Pistons (one complete set of JE Pro Seal rings to 21st-place finisher in A-Main, redeemable w/next purchase of set): Chub Frank
Roush Yates ($50 gift card to 22nd-place finisher in A-Main): Robbie Stuart
MSD Ignition ($25 cash to 24th-place finisher in A-Main): Chub Frank
XS Power ‘Power Move of the Race’ ($60 product certificate): Jack Sullivan
Roush Yates ($25 gift card to driver who leads most laps in the A-Main): Shane Clanton
Reliable Painting Award (one free tire): Darrell Lanigan