World of Outlaws 2013 Logo

Contact: Shawn Miller
World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series PR
704-467-7803 |

Competition is Stout at UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit
The five-day sprint car event begins on Wednesday, Feb. 13, at Volusia Speedway Park

BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Feb. 6, 2013 – The Florida freeways are littered with a variety of multicolored rigs headed for the sun to kick off the 2013 season.
Approximately 40 sprint cars are expected at Volusia Speedway Park for the 42nd annual UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment, which starts with a practice session on Tuesday, Feb. 12, before two nights of UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions competition and three nights of World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series action on the world’s fastest half mile.

While the usual Outlaws are set to begin another chase at the championship, a group of top-notch talent from across the country isn’t racing for points. They’re after the loot and the unique gator trophy.

Former World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion Danny Lasoski heads the drivers who will compete on the tour sparingly. Lasoski, who claimed two of the five features and the series’ season opener last year, has earned a record 19 feature victories at Volusia Speedway Park.

“I don’t know if its pep in our step, but it’s definitely confidence,” he said. “You’ve been cooped up all winter and you’re just excited to be here. As luck would have it we run pretty well there, too.

“Mostly, the race track fits my driving. I love the big, fast half miles.”

Lasoski isn’t the only former winner headed to Volusia Speedway Park.

Dale Blaney won twice last season – the Commonwealth Clash at Lernerville Speedway and the Sixth annual PEAK Motor Oil World of Outlaws World Finals Presented by NAPA Auto Parts at The Dirt Track at Charlotte – to give the 1998 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year eight career victories.

Now driving for CJB Motorsports, Paul McMahan is coming off two feature wins last season to boost his career total to 14 – a number tied for 20 th all time with the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series.

Brad Sweet, who splits his time driving for Kasey Kahne Racing by competing in NASCAR, earned his first career World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series win at Clay County Fair Speedway last June. Sweet recorded two top fives and three top 10s in the five races at Volusia Speedway Park last season.

Sam Hafertepe Jr., whose lone World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series victory was in 2011 at Skagit Speedway, earned a trio of top 10s at the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit last season.

Danny Dietrich will be making his first trip to Volusia Speedway Park after claiming his first career World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series win last year at Lincoln Speedway.

A variety of former winners including Jac Haudenschild, Lance Dewease and David Gravel are also expected, and there’s never a shortage of drivers looking to start their season in the Florida sun. Perhaps even a NASCAR Sprint Cup star or two.

Tickets can be ordered online by clicking or by calling 877-395-8606. Every night is a doubleheader and there are FREE Fan Pit Passes with every ticket.

The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Armor All (Official Car Care Products), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), Gravely Tractors (Official Lawn Equipment), University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel), Vicci (Official Apparel); in addition to contingency sponsors, including: Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, MSD Ignitions, Penske Shocks and Superflow Dynos; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: Astro Titanium, ButlerBuilt, Fuel Safe, Intercomp, J&J Auto Racing, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo and TNT Rescue.