Mike Bittinger becomes seventh winner in seven races in “358” sprints; Brian Walls first repeat winner in thundercars

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 6/2/12 – Add the name Cory Haas as one of the drivers to beat at Lincoln Speedway.

Haas came from eighth starting spot to join points leader Danny Dietrich and four-time champ Brian Montieth as a three-time 2012 winner in the 25-lap “410” sprint car feature Saturday night.

Haas was already fifth by the end of the second lap, but was still running there as front-row starter and race-long leader Gerard McIntyre, Jr. and third-starting Jim Siegel battled for the race lead on lap eight. Haas caught polesitter Kyle Pruitt for fourth on lap nine, drove around Kevin Nouse (driving the John Pinter #92) for third following a tenth-lap restart, drove under Siegel for second as the two drove under the flagstand to complete lap 11, and took the lead from McIntyre on a 12th-lap restart.

From there, Haas drove away from the field, blowing through lapped traffic to cross 5.74 seconds ahead of Siegel at the checkered. Siegel took second from McIntyre on lap 20, but by then Haas was long gone.

McIntyre settled for third, with Alan Krimes and tenth-starting Logan Schuchart rounding out the top five. Completing the top ten were 12th-starting Danny Dietrich (who came from the back after stopping on the backstretch during a sixth lap caution for Aaron Ott and Brad McClelland, who got together in turn four, 11th-starting Fred Rahmer, Nouse, 17th-starting Brent Marks, and Brian Leppo (in his first ride in the C.C. Dietz #14).

Heats for the 30 “410” Sprints on hand were won by Leppo, Nouse, and Haas, with Marks winning the consolation.

Mike Bittinger wrestled the lead from polesitter Matt Findley on a seventh-lap restart and drove to his second career win in the 20-lap “358” sprint car feature. Bittinger started beside Findley on the front row, but followed the #28F the first six laps before making the race-winning pass with a slider in turns three and four.

Third-starting Austin Hogue drove under Findley for second exiting turn two following a tenth-lap restart to finish second, with Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. Findley, and Niki Young completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Jeff Rohrbaugh, points leader Tim Wagaman, Tyler Ross, Jay Galloway, and Dale Hammaker.

Heats for the 28 “358” Sprinters on hand were won by Findley, Hogue, and Rohrbaugh, with Nick Palmerino winning the consolation.

Brian Walls led only the last lap in becoming the first repeat winner in the thundercar division. Walls, who was also the hard charger, came from 10th starting spot to take the lead in a dramatic fourth-turn pass on the final lap.

Justin Mong started second and led the first 19 laps, but got out of shape in the final turn and crossed fourth.

Walls final margin of victory was 1.23 seconds, with Brian Diehl crossing second and Danny Beard finishing third.

Fifth was 12th-starting and point leader Duane Watson, with Mike Slaybaugh, Todd Miller, Jimmy Combs, polesitter Mikey Guise, and Will Walls completing the top ten.

Heats for the 21 Thundercars were won by Watson, Guise and Slaybaugh.

Lincoln Speedway swings back into action this Wednesday night, June 6th, for the Annual Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek/Fifth Annual Charlie Grinestaff Memorial. The Super Late Models will be joined by the 358 Late Models for the special mid-week show. Gates will open at 5 PM, with Super late model time trials getting underway at 7 PM.

Then next Saturday night, June 9th, Lincoln will host the invading All-star Circuit of Champions. They will be joined by the 358 Sprinters, plus KIDS BIG WHEEL RACES. Gates open at 5 PM, with time trials getting underway at 7 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website athttp://www.lincolnspeedway.com to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Sat., June 2, 2012
Abbottstown, PA



Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 11C-Cory Haas ($3,200); 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich; 7. 51-Fred Rahmer; 8. 92-Kevin Nouse; 9. 19M-Brent Marks; 10. 14-Brian Leppo; 11. 21-Brian Montieth; 12. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 13. 15-Adam Wilt; 14. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 15. 8-Billy Dietrich; 16. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 17. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 18. 4-John Rudisill; 19. 5-Adam Lawrence; 20. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 21. 0-Steve Storrie; 22. 77-Aaron Ott (DNF); 23. 6-Brad McClelland (DNF); 24. 50-Austin Reed (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (1-11), Cory Haas (12-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 14-Brian Leppo; 2. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 3. 51-Fred Rahmer; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 77-Aaron Ott; 6. 5-Adam Lawrence; 7. 50-Austin Reed; 8. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 9. 95-Hunter Mackison; 10. 175-Kyle Moody. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 92-Kevin Nouse; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich; 5. 6-Brad McClelland; 6. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 19M-Brent Marks; 8. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 9. 07-Mark Coldren; 10. 15B-John Barnett (DNF). Time – 2:37.407

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 11C-Cory Haas; 2. 87-Alan Krimes; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 4. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 5. 4-John Rudisill; 6. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 7. 0-Steve Storrie; 8. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 9. 2S-Francis Sesco (DNF); 10. 84-Chad Criswell (DNF). No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 50-Austin Reed; 4. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 5. 0-Steve Storrie; 6. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 7. 95-Hunter Mackison; 8. 07-Mark Coldren; 9. 84-Chad Criswell; 10. 175-Kyle Moody; 11. 15B-John Barnett; 12. 2s-Francis Sesco (DNF). Time – 2:40.302


Feature (20-Laps) – 1. 12-Mike Bittinger ($1,000); 2. 52-Austin Hogue; 3. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 4. 28F-Matt Findley; 5. 65-Niki Young; 6. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 8. 5-Tyler Ross; 9. 27-Jay Galloway; 10. 66-Dale Hammaker; 11. 17E-Cris Eash; 12. 97-Brie Hershey; 13. 85-Nathan Berwager; 14. 51-Nick Palmerino; 15. 38-Mark Strickler; 16. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 17. 5A-Brian Allman (DNF); 18. 47-Michael Hammer (DNF); 19. 35-Steve Owings (DNF); 20. 69-Travis Willow (DNF); 21. 21-Scott Fisher (DNF); 22. 94V-Matt Mountz (DNF); 23. 29-Ryan Wilson (DNF); 24. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr. (DNF). No time.