ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/28/2012 – Danny Dietrich found himself the leader when cars running first through third crashed together on lap 20, then held off the challenges of Gerard McIntyre, Jr. to score his sixth Lincoln win of the year in the 25-lap “410” sprint car feature Saturday night.

Handicapping placed Dietrich ninth for the start, and he seemed to be going nowhere as seventh-starting Alan Krimes led laps four through 17 and tenth-starting Brian Montieth drove under Krimes to grab the race lead exiting turn four of lap 18.

When the first red flag of the race came out for a flipping Steve Storrie in turns three and four of lap 15, Dietrich was still running fifth. He caught McIntyre for fourth on lap 16, and was still running there when disaster struck for the top three.

Robbie Kendall flipped in turn four, and Montieth hit the brakes to avoid the crash.

“I saw Brian get in there, and he checked up hard and the curb just turned him right,” said Dietrich upon exiting the Gary Kauffman-owned Sandoe’s Fruit Market/APM Buildings #48 in victory lane, “I wasn’t sure which way to go, whether he’d get thrown back into traffic or stay up there. It was one of those deals where you gas, brake, gas brake. I didn’t really see Robbie up there either, and we were lucky to be pretty far behind the top three when the crash occurred.”

Montieth collected second-place Krimes and third-place Aaron Ott, handing the lead to Dietrich for the restart.

“We weren’t really that good. We weren’t bad, but we didn’t have a winning car until that happened,” continued Dietrich.

But the race still wasn’t over. McIntyre drove under Dietrich for the lead on the restart, and led the next two laps before Dietrich could recover and reclaim the lead on lap 23.

“I kinda got caught sleeping a little bit,” said Dietrich, “I tried to roll the middle a little bit, and I ain’t no good in the middle here I guess…not that good…but the only way to get around was to get up on the fence tonight. Luckily, it worked out because he stayed on the middle trying to protect the lead, and I just had to get up on the wheel and get on the horses a little bit.”

From there, Dietrich drove to his 13th career Lincoln win, with McIntyre settling for second, 11th-starting Adam Wilt third, Brian Leppo fourth, and Cory Haas fifth. Completing the top ten were Jim Siegel, 16th-starting Brent Marks, 12th-starting Brad McClelland, 22nd-starting Johnny Mackison, Jr., and Ryan Bohlke.

Heats for the 24 “410” Sprints on hand were won by Ott, McClelland, and Siegel .

Niki Young became the first repeat winner of the year in the 20-lap “358” sprint car feature. Young started ninth and grabbed the lead from third-starting and race-long leader Matt Boland in heavy lapped traffic as the two entered turn three of lap 18. From there, Young drove away to a 1.14-second win, with Boland crossing second, Matt Mountz third, Jeff Rohrbaugh fourth (in the Shane Smith #00), and Tyler Ross fifth.

Sixth through tenth were Isaac Sneeringer, Nathan Berwager, Austin Hogue (who came from the rear after a second lap crash), Mike Bittinger, and 20th-starting Ryan Wilson.

Heats for the 33 “358” Sprinters on hand were won by Boland, Young, and Berwager, with Tim Glatfelter winning the consolation event in the Stallings #59T.

Aberdeen Maryland’s Jimmy Combs ended seven years of frustration and near wins by finally picking up his first career win in the 20-lap thundercar feature.

Fourth-starting Combs raced side-by-side with outside frontrow starter and race-long leader Jamie Zentmyer from laps three through five before making his outside line stick and made his race-winning pass on lap six. From there Combs held off all challenges by Zentmyer the rest of the way to take the checkered 1.76-seconds ahead of Zentmyer for his inaugural win.

Polesitter Mikey Guise finished third, point-leader and hard-charger Duane Watson fourth and Brian Diehl fifth. Completing the top-10 were Mike Slaybaugh, Kyle Martin, Justin Mong, Justin Bittle, and John Stoll, Jr.

Heats for the 19 Thundercars were won by Mikey Guise and Brian Diehl.

Lincoln Speedway swings back into action next Saturday night, August 4th, with a special show consisting of the URC 358/360 SPRINT CAR CHALLENGE, 600cc Micro-Sprints & All-American Outlaws. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with racing action getting underway at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up to date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, July 28, 2012
Abbottstown, PA

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich ($3,200); 2. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 14-Brian Leppo; 5. 11C-Cory Haas; 6. 59-Jim Siegel; 7. 19M-Brent Marks; 8. 6-Brad McClelland; 9. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 10. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 11. 87-Alan Krimes; 12. 2W-Kyle Moody; 13. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 14. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 15. 84-Chad Criswell; 16. 4-John Rudisill; 17. 95-Hunter Mackison; 18. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF); 19. 77-Aaron Ott (DNF); 20. 55K-Robbie Kendall (DNF); 21. 0-Steve Storrie (DNF); 22. 21A-Will Rose (DNF); 23. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF); 24. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Kyle Moody (1-3), Alan Krimes (4-17), Brian Montieth (18-19), Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (20-22), Danny Dietrich (23-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 77-Aaron Ott; 2. 2W-Kyle Moody; 3. 14-Brian Leppo; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 2-Ryan Bolhke; 6. 19M-Brent Marks; 7. 0-Steve Storrie; 8. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr. Time – 2:24.784

2nd Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 6-Brad McClelland; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 84-Chad Criswell; 6. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 8. 21A-Will Rose. Time – 2:32.240

3rd Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 59-Jim Siegel; 2. 11C-Cory Haas; 3. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 5. 4-John Rudisill; 6. 95-Hunter Mackison; 7. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNF); 8. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). No time.

Feature (20-Laps) – 1. 65-Niki Young; 2. 22T-Matt Boland; 3. 94V-Matt Mountz; 4. 00-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 5. 5-Tyler Ross; 6. 19Z-Issac Sneeringer; 7. 85-Nathan Berwager; 8. 52-Austin Hogue; 9. 12-Mike Bittinger; 10. 29-Ryan Wilson; 11. 5A-Brian Allman; 12. 38-Mark Strickler; 13. 59T-Tim Glatfelter; 14. 28F-Matt Findley; 15. 21-Scott Fisher; 16. 35-Steve Owings; 17. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 18. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 19. 28-Keith Prutzman; 20. 66H-Doug Hammaker; 21. 56M-D.J. Montgomery; 22. 69-Shane Hoff; 23. 52O-Amy Ott; 24. 17E-Cris Eash. No Time

Lap Leaders – Matt Boland (1-17), Niki Young (18-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 22T-Matt Boland; 2. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 3. 520Austin Hogue; 4. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 5. 52o-Amy Ott; 6. 12-Mike Bittinger; 7. 59T-Tim Glatfelter; 8. 28-Keith Prutzman; 9. 10-Zach Euculano; 10. 14-Billy Heltzel, III (DNF); 11. 66-Dale Hammaker (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 65-Niki Young; 2. 94V-Matt Mountz; 3. 5-Tyler Ross; 4. 35-Steve Owings; 5. 69-Shane Hoff; 6. 28F-Matt Findley; 7. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 8. 47-Michael Hamer (DNF); 9. 29-Ryan Wilson (DNF); 10. 97-Brie Hershey (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 85-Nathan Berwager; 2. 56M-DJ Montgomery; 3. 00-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 17E-Cris Eash; 5. 66H-Doug Hammaker; 6. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 7. 38-Mark Strickler; 8. 21-Scott Fisher; 9. 5A-Brian Allman; 10. 2-Denny Gross. No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 59T-Tim Glatfelter; 2. 29-Ryan Wilson; 3. 28-Keith Prutzman; 4. 38-Mark Strickler; 5. 21-Scott Fisher; 6. 5A-Brian Allman; 7. 47-Michael Hamer; 8. 14-Billy Heltzel, III; 9. 2-Denny Gross; 10. 89-Ashley Cappetta (DNF); DNS – 97-Brie Hershey, 10-Zach Euculano. No Time