ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/22/2012 – Danny Dietrich added another notch to the belt in the 25-lap Kids Night “410” sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

And he did it the way he has several times this season, taking command early.

Points handicapping placed Dietrich 11th for the start. He had the lead by the end of lap eight.

In fact, he was in sixth by the end of the opening lap and fourth by the end of lap two. He caught Jim Siegel for third and lap three, drove by Brad McClelland for second on lap five, and caught polesitter and race-long leader Glenndon Forsythe at the flagstand at the completion of lap eight, just before the only caution of the race came out for Adam Lawrence and Hunter Mackison, who tangled in turns three and four.

“We got a little lucky there,” said Dietrich upon exiting the Gary Kauffman-owned Sandoe’s Fruit Market/APM Buildings #48 in victory lane, “We tried a used tire and left rear tonight for the feature and it’s a good thing we got to the front when we did, because after that long caution, it quit working. I was loose as could be.”

From there, Dietrich drove away from everyone except Jim Siegel to score the 1.82-second win. Crossing a distant third and fourth were Fred Rahmer and 12th starting Brian Montieth, who battled for position over the last several laps. Billy Dietrich crossed fifth.

“We really get this thing working around the bottom it seems better than everybody else at the start of these things,” continued Dietrich, “I’m not going to tell any secrets to anybody because we’re enjoying this. All these guys are tough racers, and I worry about Jimmy being behind me there at the end. At any time, those guys can pull a flyer and take it away from you on the last lap.”

Sixth through tenth were Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 15th-starting Cory Haas, Brent Marks, Forsythe, and McClelland.

Heats for the 24 “410” Sprints on hand were won by Alan Krimes, Marks, and Forsythe.

Maytown’s Ryan Wilson found himself the leader when polesitter Ted Thomas, Jr. pulled up lame and went into the infield on lap nine, and went on to win the first of his career in 20-lap “358” sprint car feature. In doing so, Wilson became the ninth winner in nine Lincoln “358” sprint races this year.

Sixth-starting Austin Hogue assumed second when Thomas dropped from the field, but was never able to mount a serious challenge. Hogue settled for second, with Dale Hammaker, Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., and point leader Tim Wagaman completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Niki Young, Mike Bittinger, Matt Findley, Jeff Rohrbaugh (who came from the back after a tire change during an early-race caution), and 21st-starting Tim Berkheimer.
Heats for the 26 “358” Sprinters on hand were won by Thomas, Wilson, and Rittenhouse, with Tyler Ross winning the consolation.

East Berlin’s Wayne Dutterer led 19-1/2 laps last week. But he didn’t lead the ½ that meant the most. This week Dutterer left know doubt as he took advantage of polesitter and race-long leader Jason Townsend miscue in the first and second turns of lap 8 to slip under him for the lead and then raced away virtually unchallenged the rest of the way to record his first career thundercar win at Lincoln Speedway.

Dutterer, who started outside the frontrow, took the checked .53-seconds ahead of 10th-starting Kyle Martin in the 20-lap feature. Justin Mong finished third, Brian Walls fourth, and Mike Slaybaugh fifth.

Completing the top-10 were Mikey Guise, Danny Beard, Roy Warehime Jr., Todd Miller and Will Walls.

Heats for the 20 Thundercars were won by Dutterer and Slaybaugh.

This coming Saturday night, June 30, Lincoln Speedway hosts the Pennsylvania Speedweek Opener with the 13th Annual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial for the 410 Sprinters. The Central PA Legends will round out the evening’s racing action. Gates will open at 5 PM, with time trials getting underway at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up to date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


Saturday, June 23, 2012
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich($3,200); 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 51-Fred Rahmer; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 8-Billy Dietrich; 6. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 7. 11C-Cory Haas; 8. 19M-Brent Marks; 9. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 10. 6-Brad McClelland; 11. 87-Alan Krimes; 12. 92-Kevin Nouse; 13. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 14. 14-Brian Leppo; 15. 84-Chad Criswell; 16. 49-Bob Howard; 17. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 18. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 19. 175-Kyle Moody; 20. 95-Hunter Mackison; 21. 69-Tim Glatfelter (DNF); 22. 23-Todd Zinn (DNF);23. 5-Adam Lawrence (DNF);24. 4-John Rudisill (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Glenndon Forsythe (1-7), Danny Dietrich (8-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 87-Alan Krimes; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 59-Jim Siegel; 4. 6-Brad McClelland; 5. 84-Chad Criswell; 6. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 7. 14-Brian Leppo (DNF); 8. 23-Todd Zinn (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich; 5. 49-Bob Howard; 6. 4-John Rudisill; 7. 175-Kyle Moody; DNS – 2-Ryan Bohlke. No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 2. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 92-Kevin Nouse; 4. 51-Fred Rahmer; 5. 11C-Cory Haas; 6. 21K-Kyle Pruitt; 7. 5-Adam Lawrence; 8. 95-Hunter Mackison (DNF). Time – 2:33.338

Feature (20-Laps) – 1. 29-Ryan Wilson ($1,000); 2. 52-Austin Hogue; 3. 66-Dale Hammaker; 4. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 5. 1-Tim Wagaman; 6. 65-Niki Young; 7. 12-Mike Bittinger; 8. 28F-Matt Findley; 9. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 10. 50-Tim Berkheimer; 11. 5-Tyler Ross; 12. 20-Trevor Little; 13. 5A-Brian Allman; 14. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 15. 47-Mike Hammer; 16. 85-Nathan Berwager; 17. 17E-Cris Eash (DNF); 18. 21-Scott Fisher (DNF); 19. 69-Travis Willow (DNF); 20. 56M-D.J. Montgomery (DNF); 21. 97-Brie Hershey (DNF); 22. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr. (DNF); 23. 69H-Shane Hoff (DNF); 24. 28-Keith Prutzman (DNF). No time.

Lap Leaders – Ted Thomas, Jr. (1-8); Ryan Wilson (9-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 2. 1-Tim Wagaman; 3. 28F-Matt Findley; 4. 21-Scott Fisher; 5. 17E-Cris Eash; 6. 28-Keith Prutzman; 7. 5-Tyler Ross; 8. 47-Michael Hammer; 9. 63-Stan Campbell. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 29-Ryan Wilson; 2. 52-Austin Hogue; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 66-Dale Hammaker; 5. 56M-DJ Montgomery; 6. 97-Brie Hershey; 7. 85-Nathan Berwager; 8. 20-Trevor Little; 9. 5A-Brian Allman. Time – 2:31.00

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 2. 65-Niki Young; 3. 69H-Shane Hoff; 4. 12-Mike Bittinger; 5. 69-Travis Willow; 6. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 7. 81B-Bob Anderson; 8. 50-Tim Berkheimer (Finished 4th, but failed to go to scales afterwards). Time – 2:32.80

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 5-Tyler Ross; 2. 85-Nathan Berwager; 3. 50-Tim Berkheimer; 4. 47-Michael Hammer; 5. 20-Trevor Little; 6. 5A-Brian Allman; 7. 63-Stan Campbell; DNS – 81B-Bob Anderson. Time – 2:42.78