East Alabama’s 40th Annual National 100 Inked as 2014 NDRL Season Finale!

East Alabama’s 40th Annual National 100 Inked as 2014 NDRL Season Finale

Phoenix, AZ (November 14, 2013) For the first time in the storied history of the event, The National 100 at East Alabama Motor Speedway will become sanctioned in 2014. Officials of the popular Phenix City, Alabama oval and officials of the National Dirt Racing League announced today that the 40th edition of the South’s longest running Dirt Late Model event will serve as the season finale for the NDRL. The 40th Annual National 100 is scheduled for October 30th through November 2nd and will again pay $20,000 to win along with $5000 in lap leader bonus money.

“What an exclamation point to put on our first full season of touring. To be associated with an event like the National 100, with the history and prestige that the event carries, is an honor for the NDRL,’ Series founder John Kennedy proudly stated. ‘When we started planning out our schedule strategy East Alabama was on our list of tracks that we wanted to work with. They have such a great fan base and such an awesome facility. We are very proud to be working with the Thomas Family and the entire East Alabama staff. We are going to be working hard to help the event continue to grow and keep the national spotlight on this event. I couldn’t be happier.” exclaimed NDRL Owner John Kennedy.

The National 100 has deep roots in the south and boasts a winners’ list that reads like a who’s who of Dirt Late Model Racing. Scott Bloomquist tops the list as an 8-time National 100 winner. Other multiple-time winners include Freddy Smith, Jeff Purvis, Randle Chupp, Bobby Thomas, Jonathan Davenport and the defending event winner Rick Eckert. Eckert scored his 3rd National 100 victory this year in dramatic fashion with a breath-taking outside move on Tim McCreadie coming to the white flag. “That is such a fun race to run. It’s a hundred laps and the track changes so much and your car changes back and forth, you are good and then terrible and then back to good. So that makes it a really fun deal. Having the NDRL to sanction it is cool. That’s the biggest race there is that late in the year and it always draws good crowds and car counts and the NDRL deal will only allow it to get bigger.” Eckert said.

The Thomas Family is equally enthused about having the NDRL sanction the event. “We just thought that the NDRL would be a good fit for us. We want to do everything we can to continue to grow the National 100 and make it bigger and better for our fans and drivers. And this just seemed to offer us an opportunity to do that. It will be their last event of the season so that will add another element of interest to the race for everyone. John and his staff have a very good program put together and it was just a win for us and for the series to do it. We are very excited about it.” said EAMS Manager Beverly Thompson.

More details regarding the 40th Annual, NDRL sanctioned National 100 at East Alabama Motor Speedway will be announced soon.

East Alabama Motor Speedway is a 3/8-mile dirt track located just six miles west of Phenix City, Alabama on Highway 80. To learn more about East Alabama Motor Speedway call (334) 297-2594. visit them on the World Wide Web at www.eamsdirt.com You can also follow them @EAMSDIRT on Twitter and find them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/East-Alabama-Motor-Speedway-Fan-Page/159475927425768

Past National 100 Champions
2013 – #24 Rick Eckert – York, PA
2012 – #20 Jimmy Owens – Newport, TN
2011 – #49 Jonathan Davenport – Blairsville, GA
2010 – #15 Steve Francis – Ashland, KY
2009 – #49 Jonathan Davenport – Blairsville, GA
2008 – #28 Jimmy Mars – Menomonie, WI
2007 – #44 Chris Madden – Gaffney, SC
2006 – #17M Dale McDowell – Chickamauga, GA
2005 – #24 Rick Eckert – York, PA
2004 – #24 Rick Eckert – York, PA
2003 – #0 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
2002 – #0 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
2001 – #0 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
2000 – #114 Randle Chupp – Mooresville, NC
1999 – #0 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
1998 – #01 Jack Pennington – Winston, GA
1997 – #0 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
1996 – #114 Randle Chupp – Mooresville, NC
1995 – #25 Jody Summerville – Rome, GA
1994 – #18 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
1993 – #18 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
1992 – #00 Freddy Smith – Kings Mountain, NC
1991 – #90 Bobby Thomas – Phenix City, AL
1990 – #18 Scott Bloomquist – Mooresburg, TN
1989 – #90 Bobby Thomas – Phenix City, AL
1988 – #00 Freddy Smith – Kings Mountain, NC
1987 – #21 Billy Moyer – Batesville, AR
1986 – #B4 Jack Boggs – Grayson, KY
1985 – #15 Jeff Purvis – Clarksville, TN
1984 – #41 Buddy Boutwell – Phenix City, AL
1983 – #15 Jeff Purvis – Clarksville, TN
1982 – #15 Jeff Purvis – Clarksville, TN
1981 – #14 Larry Moore – Dayton, OH
1980 – #71 Tom Helfrich – Haubstadt, IN
1979 – #327 Don Hester – Tupelo, MS
1978 – #22 Billy Thomas – Phenix City, AL
1977 – #41 Buck Simmons – Cornelia, GA
1976 – #39 Charlie Hughes – Dalton, GA
1975 – #49 Bud Lunsford – Gainesville, GA

The next events for the NDRL will be the 9 race mini-series of the 2014 Winter Extreme at Tucson International Raceway in Tucson, Arizona and the 2014 Battle at the Border at El Paso Speedway Park in El Paso, Texas. For more information go to www.thendrl.com

The full 2014 National Dirt Racing League schedule is expected to be released by the end of November. The NDRL would like to invite all attendees of the 2013 Performance Racing Industry Trade Show in Indinapolis to visit with us at Booth #7038.

For more information National Dirt Racing League or East Alabama Motor Speedway please visit www.theNDRL.com or www.eamsdirt.com.

Like the National Dirt Racing League on Facebook at www.facebook.com/NationalDirtRacingLeague and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

Official NDRL Sponsors:
Hoosier Racing Tires , VP Race Fuels, Keyser Manufacturing,Capital Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, DirtonDirt.com, and JNJ Motorsports Media.

The list of 2014 partners continues to grow, if you have questions or comments or if you are interested in becoming a sponsor of the NDRL contact Series Director Kelley Carlton at (864) 871-1442 or by emailing kcarlton@thendrl.com