Florida’s Kyle Bronson Pulls Off World of Outlaws Late Model Series Shocker In DIRTcar Nationals by Summit Finale

022214 VSPWoO2VL

Florida’s Kyle Bronson Pulls Off World of Outlaws Late Model Series Shocker In DIRTcar Nationals by Summit Finale

Young Sunshine State Racer Tames Star-Studded Field At Volusia Speedway Park For First-Ever Super Late Model Victory

By Kevin Kovac, WoO LMS P.R. Director

BARBERVILLE, FL – Feb. 22, 2014 – Kyle Bronson of Tampa, Fla., became the latest upset winner of a World of Outlaws Late Model Series event, capturing Saturday night’s 50-lap A-Main at Volusia Speedway Park for his first-ever victory behind the wheel of a Super Late Model.

A 23-year-old open-wheel Modified standout in the Sunshine State, Bronson joined Thursday-night victor Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., as unexpected first-time WoO LMS winners during the 43rd DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment.

Bronson started from the pole position but was outgunned for the lead at the initial green flag by John Blankenship of Williamson, W.Va. Bronson held strong in second, however, and rallied to grab the top spot from Blankenship on lap 17.

Bronson then survived two caution flags, strong challenges from Blankenship and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., and a final-corner stumble to secure the milestone $10,000 triumph. He crossed the finish line 0.706 of a second in front of two-time WoO LMS champion Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., who inherited second when McDowell retired on lap 41 but wasn’t able to seriously threaten Bronson.

Blankenship settled for a third-place finish after leading laps 1-16. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., slipped out of the top five midway through the race but came back to finish fourth and clinch the overall DIRTcar Nationals by Summit Late Model points title for the first time in his career. Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., completed the top five after starting 10th.

Check back soon for more details….

A-Main Finish: 1. Kyle Bronson, 2. Darrell Lanigan, 3. John Blankenship, 4. Scott Bloomquist, 5. Don O’Neal, 6. Frankie Heckenast Jr., 7. Rick Eckert, 8. Steve Francis, 9. Brandon Sheppard, 10. Brady Smith, 11. Clint Smith, 12. Morgan Bagley, 13. Eric Wells, 14. Tim Fuller, 15. Ivedent Lloyd Jr., 16. Gregg Satterlee, 17. Rick ‘Boom’ Briggs, 18. Shane Clanton, 19. Tim McCreadie, 20. Casey Roberts, 21. Chub Frank, 22. Dennis Erb Jr., 23. Billy Moyer, 24. Dale McDowell, 25. Brian Shirley, 26. Kenny Pettyjohn, 27. Jimmy Owens