“Border Wars,” the popular AMSOIL USAC National Sprint race “doubleheader” featuring races in Indiana and Ohio, returns this weekend with back-to-back races at Gas City (IN) I-69 Speedway and Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio Friday and Saturday night respectively.

Persistent inclement weather and forecasted heavy rains in Indiana conspired to force postponement of last Saturday’s AMSOIL/USAC National Sprint races at the Lawrenceburg Speedway. USAC and track officials are working to try to reschedule the event for a later date.

“Border Wars” originated in 1995 and was held each year through 2008. Cole Whitt won the 2008 title, the eighth driver to win the honor. Brian Tyler is a four-time champion (1996-97-98-2000), while Tracy Hines owns three “Border Wars” crowns (1999-2002-2003). Jay Drake won two titles (2004-2005). Tony Stewart was the 1995 king, J.J. Yeley won it in 2001, with Jerry Coons Jr. the 2006 champ and Jon Stanbrough on top in 2007.

Saturday night’s Eldora race is also the ‘Don Branson/Jud Larson Classic.” Eighteen different wsinner of the event have been crowned in 28 races although last year’s race was rained out. Jerry Coons Jr., Robert Ballou, Tracy Hines, Rich Vogler, Jack Hewitt, Frankie Kerr, Kevin Doty and Jac Haudenschild are all two-time winners and Jay Drake earned three wins in the classic.

Bryan Clauson is the 2012 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car point leader entering the weekend races, nine points ahead of Damion Gardner.



Driver Points

Position Driver Points
1 Bryan Clauson 192
2 Damion Gardner 183
3 Jon Stanbrough 179
4 Justin Grant 167
5 Bud Kaeding 159
Levi Jones 159
7 Darren Hagen 153
8 Dave Darland 150
9 Kevin Thomas Jr. 140
10 Tracy Hines 137