Grant Grabs 3rd BOSS Win at Lawrenceburg

In back to back events, the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series has seen its first two drivers to score 3 series victories. Justin Grant of Ione, California powered the Elson #27 to victory lane at Lawrenceburg Speedway Saturday night to join Jack Sodeman Jr of North Jackson, Ohio as the series’ only 3 time feature winners in history. A strong field of 34 wingless sprinters representing 8 different states signed in for competition.

The 22 car starting field was brought to green by polesitter Logan Hupp and BOSS traveling star Chad Wilson. Hupp rocketed to an early lead, but third starting Justin Grant wasted little time in pressuring for the top spot. Hupp was able to lead the first 3 circuits as fourth starting Joss Moffatt worked his way past Grant in the opening laps. Moffatt was then able to work inside of Hupp on the fourth circuit to secure the lead.

The race’s first caution flew on lap #9 when David Applegate spun in turn #2. On the restart, Moffatt showed the way followed by Grant and Hupp with BOSS star Michael Fischesser up to fourth and Dickie Gaines rounding out the top 5. Before the field could get another lap in the books Joe Ligouri rolled to a stop with a flat left rear tire, but was able to get it changed and rejoin the field at the rear.

On the restart, Grant was able to get an excellent run into turn 1 and put the slider on Moffatt for the lead off turn #2, but Moffatt was able to get back by in turn #3 briefly, as Grant would diamond off turn 4 to lead the 9th circuit. A lap later, Applegate would bring out his second caution of the race, eliminating himself from competition.

On the lap #10 restart, Grant would quickly open up a small lead, this time leaving Moffatt to duel with Hupp for the runner-up spot as Gaines slid by Fischesser to claim the 4th spot. The furious battle for second reached a climactic point working lap 14 when Hupp got a run on Moffatt through turn 4 and actually climbed the back of Moffatt’s #5J. Both drivers were able to carry on without losing a position. Meanwhile, in the pack, C.J. Leary had worked his way up to battle in the top 5 and drivers like Shawn Westerfeld, and BOSS stars Brandon Spithaler and Mike Miller were on the move to the front of the pack.

Fans were in awe as working lap #16 the battle for the 4th and 5th spots saw Gaines, Fischesser, and Leary running 3 wide for nearly a full lap. The race’s final caution would fly on lap #18 when Kirk Jeffries looped it in turn 3 setting up a 7 lap dash to the checkers.

Over the final circuits, Grant was able to fend off a few final challenges from Moffatt, but the Elson #27 proved to be the car to beat as Grant blazed into the BOSS record books as only the second ever three time winner. Moffatt ran a great race but came up a little short and settled for second place and early race leader Logan Hupp also picked up a podium finish by hanging onto third place. C.J. Leary was able to squeak by Dickie Gaines at the stripe to snare 4th place with Gaines completing the top 5 in his BOSS debut.

Rounding out the top 10 were Michael Fischesser, Brandon Spithaler, Shawn Westerfeld, Ted Hines and Drew Abel. Twenty-one of the 22 starters finished the event with all 21 on the lead lap. Shawn Westerfeld advanced from his 17th starting spot to finish 8th and claim the Horne Performance Motorsports Hard Charger of the Race award for an extra $50.

Heat race events were won by Joe Ligouri, Michael Fischesser, Justin Grant, and Logan Hupp. Shawn Westerfeld won the B-Main. The only serious crash of the night was in the B-Main when Aaron Middaugh of Polk, Ohio was a victim of circumstances and wound up taking a nasty tumble down the backstretch. Middaugh had been the only driver in the 3 year history of BOSS to have started every feature event and that streak came to a grinding halt, but Middaugh thankfully was able to walk away amidst a thunderous applause from the Burg faithful.

The Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series now moves on to Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio on Saturday, August 17th with consecutive Saturday events at Wayne County Ohio on August 24th and Waynesfield Raceway Park on August 31st. For more information on the series, please visit the series website

Complete Results

Lawrenceburg Speedway 8/3/13 – Event #7

Heat #1: Joe Ligouri, Dickie Gaines, Ted Hines, Garrett Abrams, Adam Miller, Justin Owen, Kory Crabtree, Eric Semple, Mike Kennedy

Heat #2: Michael Fischesser, Tony Beaber, Todd Gnat, David Applegate, Johnny Beaber, Mike Weber, Evan Gindling, Chris Gurley, Tom Bliss

Heat #3: Justin Grant, Joss Moffatt, C.J. Leary, Brandon Spithaler, Andre Layfield, Shawn Westerfeld, Mike Miller, Brett Burdette

Heat #4: Logan Hupp, Chad Wilson, Drew Abel, Chuck Wilson, Pat Giddens, Kirk Jeffries, Aaron Middaugh, John Jenkins

B-Main: Shawn Westerfeld, Pat Giddens, Kirk Jeffries, Kory Crabtree, Mike Miller, Andre Layfield, Johnny Beaber, Mike Weber, Eric Semple, Mike Kennedy, Evan Gindling, Chris Gurley, Aaron Middaugh, Justin Owen

A-Main: Justin Grant, Joss Moffatt, Logan Hupp, C.J. Leary, Dickie Gaines, Michael Fischesser, Brandon Spithaler, Shawn Westerfeld, Ted Hines, Drew Abel, Chad Wilson, Garrett Abrams, Mike Miller, Todd Gnat, Kory Crabtree, Pat Giddens, Kirk Jeffries, Andre Layfield, Chuck Wilson, Joe Ligouri, Tony Beaber, David Applegate