Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Greg Hodnett won his third Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint car feature of the season Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, capping off an impressive drive to the win with an equally impressive winner’s take of nearly $5,000 for the regular 25-lap race.

In the Tool Shed of America 358 sprint main, Mark Smith made a triumphant run from the rear after being involved in a crash at the start to win the first Williams Grove 358 sprint race of his career.

Curt Michael drove into the lead at the start of the 410 sprint feature but could only muster two laps with the lead before Davey Sammons took over with a low swoop in the first and second turns.

But before Sammons could even do that, Hodnett had blasted from his 12th starting spot up into fifth, serving notice he was headed for the lead.

Fourth starter Steve Buckwalter took over second from Michael with four away and briefly took the lead from Sammons on a lap six restart only to see Sammons ride the cushion back into control on the backchute.

A caution flag for tangles at both ends of the speedway appeared with seven laps in the book, finding Hodnett up to third for the restart but it was Buckwalter’s turn to lead the race next.

After a low move in the first and second corners again, Buckwalter took the lead on the ninth tour but found Hodnett taking over second a circuit later.

Royersford’s Buckwalter never got a chance to get comfortable with the lead he took over however as Hodnett quickly began pressuring him before pulling the trigger for the lead and win deep in the third turn to lead the 12th circuit.

And from there, the only race on the track was for second, which 10th starter Brian Montieth took from Doug Esh within the final mile as the two staged a spirited battle for the spot.

Esh rode home third followed by Sammons and Danny Dietrich.

Sixth through 10th went to Daryn Pittman, Buckwalter, Lance Dewease, Rick Lafferty and Don Kreitz Jr.

Heats for the 30-car field went to Adam Wilt, Buckwalter and Dietrich with Aaron Ott scoring the consolation race.

It was the 49th win of Hodnett’s career at Williams Grove Speedway and he became the first driver to win more than twice at the track this season.

Another exciting event took place in the 358 sprint feature race including a pair of called back intitial starts.

The second attempt at the initial start was red-flagged for a five-car crash on the frontstretch involving Mark Smith, Pat Cannon, Kevin Nouse, Brie Hershey and Denny Gross.

Smith tug up to the rear for the restart and began to work his way forward as the race got underway.

Polesitter Brian Garland led the first half of the 20-lapper before Jacob Allen took over with one-time winner and point leader Eric Tomecek up to second on the same lap.

With nine laps to go, a caution flag regrouped the field with Smith restarting in third.

The Sunbury driver made a two car pass for the lead with seven laps left, getting by Tomecek at the same time he tried to motor by Allen for control.

After taking the lead, Smith drove uncontested to his first ever 358 sprint victory at the track where he also owns some 13 full-size sprint car checkered flags.

Smith also became the eighth different 358 sprint winner at the track this season in as many events.

Tomecek finished second followed by Ryan Wilson, Adrian Shaffer and Garland.

Sixth through 10th went to Matt Mountz, Jay Galloway, Nate Hammaker, Amy Ott and Rodney Westhafer.

Heats went to Galloway, Smith and Nate Hammaker.

July 27, 2012 Feature Finish:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Brian Montieth, 3. Doug Esh, 4. Davey Sammons, 5. Danny Dietrich, 6. Daryn Pittman, 7. Steve Buckwalter, 8. Lance Dewease, 9. Rick Lafferty, 10. Don Kreitz Jr., 11. Aaron Ott, 12. Curt Michael, 13. Chad Layton, 14. Fred Rahmer, 15. Alan Krimes, 16. Frank Cozze, 17. Adam Wilt, 18. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 19. Glenndon Forsyteh, 20. Michael Ruttkamp, 21. Bryn Gohn, 22. Tim Glatfelter, 23. Derek Sell, 24. Robbie Stillwaggon

DNQ: Troy Fraker, Ryan Smith, Nicole Bower, Cory Haas, Brent Marks, Jim Shuster

358 sprint cars, 20 laps: 1. Mark Smith, 2. Eric Tomecek, 3. Ryan Wilson, 4. Adrian Shaffer, 5. Brian Garland, 6. Matt Mountz, 7. Jay Galloway, 8. Nate Hammaker, 9. Amy Ott, 10. Rodney Westhafer, 11. Rich Eichelberger, 12. Scott Fisher, 13. Aaron Eichelberger, 14. Leah Starner, 15. Jacob Allen, 16. Dale Hammaker, 17. Dave Thrush, 18. Kevin Nouse, 19. Brie Hershey, 20. Pat Cannon, 21. Denny Gross