WAYCROSS, GA (March 10, 2012) – What has become a spring-time tradition in the Midwest will take place with the running of the “15thAnnual Indiana Icebreaker” on Saturday, March 24th w. The event is sponsored by Bryan Bowman Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge of Seymour, IN and will take place at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event will pay $10,000 to win and $800 to start. A large field of drivers from all over the country is expected to compete in the annual event with a strong group of both regional and national stars converging on the ¼ mile track.
The LOLMDS first sanctioned the event at the Tim and Farrah Keithley-promoted Jackson County Fairgrounds facility in 2006 with 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL scoring the victory. Pearson has been joined by other current LOLMDS regulars Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, Terry Casey of New London, WI, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN and last year’s winner, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN in taking home the Indiana Icebreaker trophy.
Bloomquist will enter the race looking for his fourth consecutive win at the historic half-mile track. Bloomquist, who notched his 500th career win in the 2010 Jackson 100 at Brownstown, has captured the last two Jackson 100’s and the 2011 Indiana Icebreaker. He is coming off of a season where he set a LOLMDS record for victories in one season with 15.
It will be the LOLMDS first-event since the successful DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL last month was completed. Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL, will come into the event leading the LOLMDS championship point’s standings. 2011 LOLMDS Champion Jimmy Owens is currently in 2nd in the series national points standings and will be looking to earn his first series win of 2012.
Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings
1. Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL) – 455
2. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 420
3. Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 415
4. Randy Korte (Highland, IL) – 395
5. Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) – 390
6. Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) -390
7. Austin Hubbard (Seaford, DE) – 385
8. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 360
9. Donnie Moran (Dresden, OH) – 360
10. Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 345