Jeffries Scores B.O.S.S. Win at P.P.M.S.!

PPMS 2012 Logo

Jeffries Scores B.O.S.S. Win;
Kostelnik, Huff and Tennant Capture First Wins
of the Season
A. Ferree, Holtgraver, Broniszewski Repeat

PITTSBURGH–Former flatrack motorcycle competitor Kirk Jeffries claimed his first ever victory at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway as he was the victor in the B.O.S.S. Wingless Sprint main event. Other winners on Saturday included Alex Ferree (Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models), Josh Holtgraver (Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro-Lates), Jeff Broniszewski (Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman), Adam Kostelnik (Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks), O.B. Huff (Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns). Bill Tennant also scored the win in the inaugural Pro-4 Division.

Tony Beaber and Mike Miller led the 26 car B.O.S.S. wingless main event to the green with Beaber taking command. The event was red flagged with just one lap complete as current B.O.S.S. points leader Brandon Spithaler flipped in turn one. Charlie Cornelius, Brent Matus, Steve Little and Dick Mahoney were also involved in the accident. Fortunately none of the drivers were injured although Spithaler, Little and Mahoney were all finished for the evening. The racing action resumed with Beaber, Jeffries, Brandon Matus and Mike Miller battling for the top spot. The event was slowed on lap 11 when Chad Wilson and Andre Layfield tangled in turn three. Green flag action on laps 12 and 13 saw Beaber leading the way with Jeffries battling Matus, Aaron Middaugh, Miller and Kody Swanson battling for positions two through six. Jeffries took the lead on the 13th circuit when he went high in turn two and was able to overtake Beaber. Jeffries, of Westerville, OH, went on to lead the final seven circuits and score the win over third generation racer Brandon Matus, Middaugh, Beaber and Swanson.
Middaugh, Miller and T. Beaber were the victors in the B.O.S.S. heat events.

The 25 lap Super Late Model main event was led to the green by John Mollick and Steve Baker. Mollick set the pace for the first eleven circuits before Alex Ferree, who had started in the tenth spot, shot into the lead. Ferree went on to claim his fifth win of the season in the Frankland Racing products sponsored Joe Corrado owned Rocket Chassis. Mollick claimed the second spot with Lynn Geisler, Tony Musolino and Michael Norris finishing third through fifth.
A. Ferree and Mollick were the victors in the Diehl of Robinsn Super Late Model heat races.

The Pro-Late Model main event got off to a rough start for Pittsburgh resident Josh Holtgraver as he spun in turn one and the caution flag was displayed. Holtgraver then went to the rear and when the green flag was displayed Justin Lamb immediately claimed the top spot. Lamb led the next four circuits as Holtgraver carefully worked his way back through the field; he was in the sixth spot by lap three and the fifth position by lap five when the event’s second and final caution waved for Chuck Medved. Lamb held the top spot when green flag racing resumed with Holtgraver setting chase in the second position by lap six. Tommy Schirnhofer, who had won the previous three Pro-Late events tagged the turn two wall on lap six and retired to the pit area setting up a duel between Lamb and Holtgraver for the top spot. “Lady Luck” intervened on lap nine as Lamb had a water pump/power steering belt break just as Holtgraver got by him for the top spot. Lamb was forced to retire from the event while Holtgraver went on to score his second victory of the season in the D&T Auto Body sponsored Rocket Chassis. Mark Moats finished in the runner-up position over Dusty Curry, Steve Beatty and Ron Hall.

Lamb and Paul Jablonski won the RUSH Pro-Late prelims.

Pat Weldon led the first three circuits of the late Model Sportsman feature event before Jeff Broniszewski took over the top spot. Broniszewski weathered three cautions before taking the checkered flag to score his eighth victory of the season over Jake Simmons, Nick Kocuba, Weldon and Wayne Carbo.

Weldon and Broniszewski were the victors in the Late Model Sportsman heat events.

Pavement racer Adam Kostelnik led the entire distance of the Hobby Stock feature to score his first PPMS win of the season over Dan Black, Jonathan Hileman, Bernie Blair, Jr. and June Mehelic.

Kostelnik also claimed the lone divisional heat race.

Sixteen year old O.B. Huff scored his first Young Guns victory of the season as he held off David Ostander. Huff led the first two circuits before Ostrander overtook him on lap three. Huff battled back to lead the final three circuits and score the win over Ostrander, Devin Black and Jonathan Miller.

Bill Tennant has the distinction of winning the first ever Pro-4 main event at PPMS. Tennant led the entire distance of the 12 lap main event to score the win over his wife April, Alex Paden, Dale Kimberly and Mark Tringes, Sr.

Racing action at PPMS resumes next Saturday, October 5th the Late Model Sportsman will compete in the FallOver Sportsman Showdown 20 lap special. The Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models, Precise Racing Products RYSH Pro-Late Models, Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman, Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stocks, Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns and the pr-4 Division will also be on the racing card.

Don’t forget that the 25th Silver Anniversary Pittsburgher 100 will take place Thursday, October 10th through the 12th. The NRDL sponsored Super Late Model main event pays $25,000 to win. In addition the UEMS E-Mods and the Sweeney Chevrolet RUSH Pro-Late Touring Series will also be in action on both Friday and Saturday.

Fans are also encouraged to sign up for free race day text messages to get the latest information on weather or traffic delays that may impact the racing action by clicking on the “Rained Out” logo on the speedway website,

Additional information is also available on the speedway website: or by contacting the speedway office at (412) 279-RACE (7223). Race fans can follow Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway at and’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

B.O.S.S Wingless Sprint Finish: Kirk Jeffries, Brandon Matus, Aaron Middaugh, Tony Beaber, Kody Swanson, Mike Miller, Jack Sodeman, Tim Hunter, Adam Miller, Arnie Kent, Michael Fischesser, Chad Wilson, Johnny Beaber, Chuck Wilson, Jim McMillan, Gale Ruth Sr., Greg Mitchell, Charlie Cornelius, Lewie Christian, Butch Beasley, Andre Layfield, Brent Matus, Andy Feil, Brandon Spithaler, Dick Mahoney, Steve Little

Diehl Of Robinson Super Late Model Finish: Alex Ferree, John Mollick, Lynn Geisler, Tony Musolino, Michael Norris, Ben Miley, Steve Baker, Jon Hodgkiss

Precise Racing Products RUSH Pro Late Model Finish: Josh Holtgraver, Mark Moats, Dusty Curry, Steve Beatty, Ron Hall, Beau Glemba, Jeremy Zufall, Brian Goebel, Chuck Medved, Paul Jablonski, Justin Lamb, Tommy Schirnhofer, Dennis Neiderriter

Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman Finish: Jeff Broniszewski, Jake Simmons, Nick Kocuba, Pat Weldon, Wayne Carbo, Josh Langer, Todd Janas, Jarrod Westover, A. J. Poljak, Charlie DiLoreto, Drew Koteles, Joey Koteles, Ricky Steigerwald

Miley BP Carwash Hobby Stock Finish: Adam Kostelnik, Dan Black, Jonathan Hileman, Bernie Blair, June Mehelic, Todd Weldon

Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns Finish: O.B. Huff, David Ostrander, Devin Black, Jonathan Miller

Pro-4 Division: Bill Tennant, April Tennant, Alex Paden, Dale Kimberly, Mark Tringes Sr., Devin Black, O. B. Huff, Jeff Miller, Mark Tringes Jr.