WAYCROSS, GA (November 7, 2012) – Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN captured his second consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship in 2012. Owens, also known as the “Newport Nightmare” capped off another great season on the series by winning the season’s final event, the “Red Buck Dirt Track World Championship” and the $50,000 first place prize money. The Reece Monument Racing Team, owned by Mike Reece, put up some amazing stats during the 2012 LOLMDS season and will take home the $75,000 points check, along with numerous other awards at the series year-end awards banquet on December 6th.

Owens won seven Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series events during the 2012 season. His wins came at Batesville Motor Speedway (AR) in May; Lucas Oil Speedway (MO) in May and July; Lawrenceburg Speedway (IN) in August; Brownstown Speedway (IN) in September; Dixie Speedway (GA) in October and Portsmouth Raceway Park (OH) again in October. Owens also recorded eleven (11) runner-up finishes in 2012 and an amazing 37 top ten finishes out of 38 points paying series events in 2012. The lone finish out of the top ten was a 16th place finish at Rome Speedway, only after leading most of the event to suffer a flat tire that set him back in the field out of the top ten. Owens took over the series championship points lead after the March 30th event at Jackson Motor Speedway (MS) and never relinquished the points lead the remainder of the season, beating out Don O’Neal by 470 points. 

“It was a great season for our team, crew and all our sponsors to win the points title two years in a row. O’Neal had a few more wins but my crew just kept our cars prepared great, that we never broke anything all season. To win the title again and end the season with a win at the DTWC was a huge accomplishment against the level of talent of all these drivers that follow the LOLMDS. I can’t thank my car owner (Mike Reece) enough for giving me this opportunity to drive these cars and do what I love to do. It was a great year!” stated Jimmy Owens. 

Jonathan Davenport, of Blairsville, GA won the 2012 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Award on the series. Davenport, nicknamed “Superman”, drove the Clint Bowyer Racing, Georgia Boot #15 on the series in 2012. Davenport recorded ten (10) top 5 finishes, including three (3) runner-up finishes at East Bay Raceway Park (FL) in February, Wythe Raceway (VA) in June and Dixie Speedway (GA) in October. Davenport also collected a total of twenty-one (21) top ten finishes on the series and placed 7th in the series final points standings for 2012. Davenport and the entire Clint Bowyer Racing Team will be honored at the series year end awards banquet for the second year in a row for the team in winning the Quarter Master Rookie of The Year. 

“It was a great year with a new team to win the Quarter Master Rookie of the Year title on the series. I want to thank Quarter Master for sponsoring the series and the ROY award. I also want to thank Clint Bowyer, my crew, Georgia Boot and all my sponsors for a great season and supporting me. Winning the ROY is a neat deal and were looking forward to coming back next year and contend for the championship”, stated Jonathan Davenport. 

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will honor both Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport and the rest of the top ten in series points at the series year-end awards banquet to be held at the Lucas Oil Estate in Carmel, IN on December 6th, in conjunction with the IMIS Trade Show. 

To learn more about the 2012 LOLMDS Champion Jimmy Owens and his entire race team visit his official website at http://www.jimmyowens20.com. 

To learn more about the 2012 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Jonathan Davenport and the Clint Bowyer Racing Team visit his official website at http://www.jonathandavenport.net. 

To learn more about Quarter Master visit their official website at www.quartermasterusa.com. 

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series you can visitwww.lucasdirt.com . 

Follow the series on the social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt andhttp://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt. 

About Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series: Founded in 2005, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the nations’ premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. The series will sanction 44 events in 20 states in 2013 and receives national exposure through taped-delayed series events that are shown on CBS, CBS Sports, SPEED, NBC Sports and MAVTV. 

About Lucas Oil Products: Founded in 1989 by Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Lucas Oil Products, Inc. has established itself as one of the fastest-growing lubrication product lines in the consumer automotive aftermarket, featuring a line of engine oils, greases, gear lubes, problem-solving additives, and car-care products. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil has established itself as a worldwide leader in the lubrication industry. Motorsports has always been part of the Lucas Oil culture and the cornerstone of the company’s marketing strategy. Such passion for motorsports has inspired Lucas Oil to sponsor many race teams, events and series at all levels, including, NHRA, IRL, ASCS, NASCAR, IHRA and many more. Lucas Oil has also taken ownership and operational control of a number of high profile racing properties, such as: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, Lucas Oil Drag Boat Series, Lucas Oil Pro Pulling League, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Lucas Oil Modified Series, Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. and the Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway in Blythe, CA. 

In 2007 Lucas Oil founded its own production house, Lucas Oil Production Studios, dedicated to producing high action motorsports television. Currently Lucas Oil Production Studios produces over 300 hours of original programming for networks such as CBS, NBC Sports, SPEED, and MAVTV. More information on Lucas Oil Products, Inc. can be found by visiting www.LucasOil.com.