Kansas bound; Lucas Oil ASCS set for Salina Speedway

Bryan Hulbert – TULSA, Okla. (May 27, 2013) The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real made its first visit to the Salina Speedway in Salina, Kan. in 2012 with four time Lucas Oil Chili Bowl champion Kevin Swindell parking the Envy Wraps/Shouse Motorsports No. 39 in victory lane.

A mid-week stop in August, 2012, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real will return for a weekend visit at the three-eighths mile clay oval on Friday, May 31 for the Salina Showdown.

Coming off a the Memorial Day Weekend swing through Missouri, Nebraska, and nearby Jetmore, Kansas, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real enters the Friday date at the Salina Speedway with Johnny Herrera atop the Lucas Oil Driver Standings.

Breaking a 72 race winless streak with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real on Friday, May 17 at the U.S. 36 Nationals, Herrera went back to back with a stirring performance at the Valley Speedway with Brian Brown and Danny Lasoski on Wednesday, May 22.

A seventh place at I-80 Speedway the following day, plus a runner up finish at the Steve King Memorial this past Saturday has placed the Albuquerque, N.M. driver 69 markers ahead of reigning Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real champion Jason Johnson.

Despite a less than desirable weekend, spinning at I-80 before rallying back to eighth followed by a pair of spins in Jetmore that resulted in in the JJR No. 41 crossing tenth, Johnson still maintains one of the best finishing records so far in 2013 with three wins, five top fives’, and nine top tens’ in 11 starts.

Brad Loyet maintains third 132 points out of the points lead; only 63 behind Johnson.

A third place showing in Jetmore by Tony Bruce, Jr. moved the Inside Line Promotions No. 18 into fourth with Logan Forler making up the top five in current tour standings.

Seth Bergman, Jeff Swindell, Dustin Morgan, Cole Wood, and Lucas Wolfe complete the top ten in driver standings.

The Brodix Rookie of the Year standings shows Cole Wood leading over Brandon Hahn, who sits eleventh in overall tour standins, and Shawn Petersen who unfortunately was knocked out competition for the next three months following injuries sustained at the U.S. 36 Nationals.

The latest report from the Print Place Motorsports team is that Shawn is in good health and has returned to work.

Tickets for the Salina Showdown are on sale athttp://www.showclix.com/event/ASCSNationalTouratSalinaSpeedway

The Friday card will also include IMCA Modifieds and Northern Sport Mods

For more information on the Salina Speedway, log ontohttp://racesalinaspeedway.com or call 785-342-2565.


Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real

Date: Friday, May 31, 2013
Times: Gates open at 5:30 P.M. /Racing begins at 8:00 P.M.

Track Information: Salina Speedway
Address: 2841 South Burma Road Salina, KS 67401
Phone #: 785-342-2565.
Website: http://racesalinaspeedway.com

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:

All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast live on www.racinboys.com for anyone who is unable to attend the races live. Official results, points, and race notes are posted at www.ascsracing.com. The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be found on Facebook and Twitter @LucasOilASCS.

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Johnny Herrera-2, Brian Brown-1, Roger Crockett-1, Kyle Bellm-1, Brad Loyet-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jack Dover-1

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Johnny Herrera 1,432; 2. Jason Johnson 1,363; 3. Brad Loyet 1,300; 4. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,235; 5. Logan Forler 1,218; 6. Seth Bergman 1,214; 7. Jeff Swindell 1,184; 8. Cole Wood 1,059; 10 Lucas Wolfe 929;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of eight different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, Hawk Racing Products, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.