Krimes And Hershey Wire For Williams Grove Wins


Mechanicsburg – Alan Krimes and Brie Hershey wired the fields for the sprint car wins on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway on Charity Night.

Krimes took the 410 sprint main worth $4,000 after starting on the pole while Hershey took her career first in the 358 sprint feature, likewise starting from the pole position.

It was charity night at the track with the winners of each feature being given an amount identical to that claimed in the nights 50/50 drawing to donate to the charity of their choice.

Both Krimes and Hershey chose to donate each of their $997 amounts to the victims of the recent Oklahoma tornadoes.

Aside from each of those $997 donations, the track also posted another pair of $997 amounts and gave them to both the York County Racing Club and the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing.

Krimes, of Denver, endured a trio of cautions in his 25-lap feature event with Rick Lafferty racing in second each time.

Both Greg Hodnett and Donnie Kreitz made some moves forward early and by the time the first caution flag unfurled with nine laps down, it was Krimes leading Lafferty, Hodnett, Kreitz and Lance Dewease.

Kreitz raced up to third on the 12th circuit and both he and Lafferty began to run down the leader and appeared poised to take top-running Krimes by surprise with eight laps to go when another yellow flag slowed the pace.

Krimes knew the pair was beating the low-line drum so when action resumed he protected the bottom and thwarted any attempts while Fred Rahmer began advancing.

Sitting fifth on the final restart with six laps to go, Rahmer ran through the middle to dispose of Hodnett and then Kreitz with four laps to go to work into third but that would be the end of the line for the point leader.

Krimes cruised to the victory, the third of his career at Williams Grove, followed by Lafferty, Rahmer, Kreitz and Hodnett.

Sixth through 10th went to Danny Dietrich, Dewease, Brent Marks, Steve Buckwalter and Brian Montieth.

Heats went to Kyle Larson, Buckwalter and Ryan Taylor with Gerard McIntyre Jr. taking the consolation race.

Brie Hershey was trailed by Eric Tomecek the entire distance in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature and found Tomecek blasting the top groove during the final five laps in an effort to steal her win.

But Hershey was not to be denied, driving smooth and straight to record the checkers.

Adrian Shaffer rode home third followed by Kevin Nouse and Ted Thomas Jr.

Sixth through 10th went to Tim Berkheimer, Dale Hammaker, Billy Johns, Jay Galloway and Scott Fisher.

Heats were taken by Nouse, Austin Hogue and Thomas.