Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Rick Lafferty of Pennington, NJ., scored his second Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint car feature event of the season at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, taking $3,710 for the victory including lap money.

In the Tool Shed of America 358 sprint main, Glenndon Forsythe wired the field for the 20-lap main event win.

Ryan Taylor of Perkasie took the 410 sprint main feature green flag from the pole position and drove into the lead when action started.

His pace was slowed with just three laps down when Doug Esh rolled to a stop on the frontstretch.

Jim Siegel lined up behind Taylor for the reastart and had his hands full holding off fourth starter Lafferty for the next three laps before Lafferty finally got the upper hand for the position.

After getting into second, Lafferty began his efforts at tracking down Taylor’s large lead and after chipping away at his advantage slowly but surely, when Taylor entered the backmarkers with 12 down Lafferty was sitting poised to capitalize.

The Garden State flyer went for the lead and got it as the pair raced through the first and second turns with Lafferty taking the lead low through the turns.

But Taylor rallied as the pair raced through turns three and four to hold the lead at the stripe with 11 laps to go just before the red flag flew for Chad Layton and Jim Shuster on the backchute.

Lafferty took the lead on the restart and tried to drive away but steadily Taylor drove him back down as the laps ticked off to be applying heavy pressure with two laps to go.

Taylor had the move all lined up to reclaim control when he got a good run off the high cushion in the second turn to be ready to set the car in high above Lafferty for the lead as the pair raced into the third corner.

But just as he was ready to make the move, Layton again brought out the red by losing a tire just in front of the race for the lead and backing up across the track directly in front of the leaders.

With no time to react, simply luck saw Lafferty go low with Taylor squeezing by between Layton’s tumbling racer and Lafferty before the red could appear.

After the stoppage, Lafferty cruised uncontested to the one-lap dash victory.

Taylor settled for second followed by Siegel, Paul McMahan and Brent Marks.

Sixth through 10th went to Daryn Pittman, Danny Dietrich, Brian Montieth, Logan Schuchart and Don Kreitz Jr.

Heats for the 27-car field went to Lance Dewease, Siegel and Dietrich with Mike Ruttkamp taking the consolation.

Forsythe became the 11th different 358 sprint winner of the season by wiring the field for his victory.

He was chased early by Ted Thomas Jr. before Nate Hammaker took over second with six laps down.

Only two caution flags slowed the race, with 12 laps down and just two to go.

Pat Cannon drove from fourth to second on the restart with two to go and chased Forsythe to the checkers, falling just short at the finish.

It was Forsythe’s fifth career win in the division at the track.

Cannon was second followed by Nate Hammaker, TJ Stutts and Mark Smith.

Sixth through 10th went to Ryan Wilson,. Derek Locke, Eric Tomecek, Thomas and Jay Galloway.

Heats for the 29-car field went to Locke, Aaron Eichelberger and Wilson with Jason Shultz taking the consolation.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by visiting the oval on Facebook or via Twitter

October 5, 2012 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Rick Lafferty, 2. Ryan Taylor, 3. Jim Siegel, 4. Paul McMahan, 5. Brent Marks, 6. Daryn Pittman, 7. Danny Dietrich, 8. Brian Montieth, 9. Logan Schuchart, 10. Don Kreitz Jr., 11. Adam Wilt, 12. Hunter Mackison, 13. Curt Michael, 14. Robbie Stillwaggon, 15. Glenndon Forsythe, 16. Michael Ruttkamp, 17. Ryan Kissinger, 18. Lance Dewease, 19. Chad Layton, 20. Troy Fraker, 21. Greg Hodnett, 22. Jim Shuster, 23. Doug Esh, 24. Mark Coldren

DNQ: Mark Zimmerman, Cory Haas, Glenndon Forsythe

358 sprint cars, 20 laps: 1. Glenndon Forsythe, 2. Pat Cannon, 3. Nate Hammaker, 4. TJ Stutts, 5. Mark Smith, 6. Ryan Wilson, 7. Derek Locke, 8. Eric Tomecek, 9. Ted Thomas Jr., 10. Jay Galloway, 11. Adrian Shaffer, 12. Austin Hogue, 13. Tyler Ross, 14. Dale Hammaker, 15. Rich Eichelberger, 16. Nate Snyder, 17. Matt Horst, 18. Rodney Westhafer, 19. Rocky Magaro, 20. Jason Shultz, 21. Brie Hershey, 22. Doug Hammaker, 23. Leah Starner, 24. Matt Mountz

DNQ: Mike Bittinger, Chad Trout, Scott Fisher, Tim Berkheimer,