Williams Grove Speedway


Mechanicsburg – Williams Grove Speedway closed the 2012 season with its four-feature, Fall Fest on Saturday night when Rick Lafferty won his third 410 sprint event of the season, Pat Cannon won for the third time in the 358 sprints, Eric Walker won in super sportsman and Grant Adams took the 358 late models.

During the night, 2012 track champions were honored along with top point finishers in all four divisions.

Brian Montieth of Phoenixville was the star of the 410 sprint show, having started from the ninth position in the 25-lap main event.

Polesitter Frank Cozze led the first four circuits before third starter Logan Schuchart took over.

Lafferty raced to stay ahead of Montieth as the pair advanced toward the lead and in fact it was Lafferty who first got around Schuchart with seven away only to see the move called back by a caution flag.

Lafferty went for the lead on the restart and got it only to see Schuchart lead down the backchute before Lafferty again bolted underneath in turns three and four to become the official pacesetter at the stripe.

But Montieth was lurking on the high cushion and as Schuchart reclaimed the helm momentarily in the first corner with Lafferty again going back out front again on the backchute, Montieth had the pair lined up for a sweeping two-car pass in the third and fourth turns, which he completed with a fluorish to take control with nine away.

And to say he took control is putting it mildly.

By lap 19 he had a half-lap lead over Lafferty and Brent Marks and by the time a final caution flag unfurled with one lap to go, he had built his advantage to more than eight seconds in traffic.

But Montieth’s world came crashing down when the green flag unfurled for the one-lap dash to the checkers as his car began to sputter instead of take off and Lafferty drove by for the lead and win uncontested.

It was his third of the season at the track during the second half of the season, giving him a career year at the oval.

Marks was second followed by Cory Haas, Schuchart and Lance Dewease.

Sixth through 10th went to Greg Hodnett, Chad Layton, Brian Montieth, Frank Cozze and Troy Fraker.

Veteran Dale Hammaker took the lead at the start of the 20-lap 358 sprint main and gave way to third starter Mark Smith with 12 laps to go.

However by that time, eighth starter Pat Cannon was up to third and looking like a winner even though he didn’t have the point.

Cannon had just taken the lead at the halfway point when a yellow flag regrouped the field, forcing him back to second behind Smith.

Smith was then only able to muster one more lap as the leader before Cannon sped by for his third win of the season at the track.

Smith was second followed by Eric Tomecek, Dale Hammaker and Adrian Shaffer.

Sixth through 10th went to TJ Stutts, Ryan Wilson, Nate Hammaker, Brie Hershey and Austin Hogue.

Eric Walker of Gaithersburg, Maryland, wired the field for the 20-lap super sportsman win.

Walker was chased by sixth starter Scott Dellinger from lap three to the finish but pulled off the win comfortably despite Dellinger gaining some ground during the last half of the race.

Mike Enders rode home third followed by Frankie Herr and Rick Barr.

Sixth through 10th went to Scott Geesey, Bobby Hockenberry, Carmen Perigo Jr., Russ Mitten and Gregg Foster.

Grant Adams started on the pole of the 20-lap 358 sprint feature and saw Charlie Schaffer chase him for the win during the entire distance.

Adams outdistanced Schaffer during the first half of the race but during the last half, Schaffer tracked him down to race just a car length back for the win.

However Adams had just enough power to keep Schaffer at bay and pick up the victory.

Schaffer was second followed by Travis Mease, Gene Knaub and Randy Stoudt.

Sixth through 10th went to Larry Baer, Jared Miller, Scott Richwine, Bernie Beard and Billy Wampler.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by visiting the oval on Facebook or via Twitter

October 20, 2012 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Rick Lafferty, 2. Brent Marks, 3. Cory Haas, 4. Logan Schuchart, 5. Lance Dewease, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Chad Layton, 8. Brian Montieth, 9. Frank Cozze, 10. Troy Fraker, 11. Jay Reichard, 12. Jim Shuster, 13. Bryn Gohn, 14. Todd Zinn, 15. Hunter Mackison, 16. Danny Dietrich, 17. Adam Wilt, 18. Mark Zimmerman, 19. Steve Buckwalter, 20. Nicole Bower

358 sprint cars, 20 laps: 1. Pat Cannon, 2. Mark Smith, 3. Eric Tomecek, 4. Dale Hammaker, 5. Adrian Shaffer, 6. TJ Stutts, 7. Ryan Wilson, 8. Nate Hammaker, 9. Brie Hershey, 10. Austin Hogue, 11. Jacob Allen, 12. Billy Johns, 13. Doug Hammaker, 14. Glenndon Forsythe, 15. Aaron Eichelberger, 16. Leah Starner, 17. Scott Fisher

Super sportsman, 20 laps: 1. Eric Walker, 2. Scott Dellinger, 3. Mike Enders, 4. Frankie Herr, 5. Rick Barr, 6. Scott Geesey, 7. Bobby Hockenberry, 8. Carmen Perigo Jr., 9. Russ Mitten, 10. Gregg Foster, 11. Doug Dodson, 12. Dave Socks, 13. Dave Berkheimer, 14. Chris Meleason, 15. Ryan Slothower, 16. Jared Miller, 17. John Garman, 18. Duaine Smith, 19. Steve Wilbur, 20. Jim Shuster, 21. Stan Wanner, 22. Lanny Hake,

358 late models, 20 laps: 1. Grant Adams, 2. Charlie Schaffer, 3. Travis Mease, 4. Gene Knaub, 5. Randy Stoudt, 6. Larry Baer, 7. Jarred Miller, 8. Scott Richwine, 9. Bernie Beard, 10. Billy Wampler, 11. Chad Walls, 12. Will Rowe, 13. Chad Julius, 14. Steve Stitt, 15. Steve Claybaugh, 16. Tommy Slanker