Loyet runs to Lucas Oil ASCS triumph at Willamette

Bryan Hulbert – LEBANON, Ore. (July 27, 2013) For the second year running, Brad Loyet capped off his west coast swing with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real with a victory, doing so this time at the Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Ore.

Earning the lead with a low line pass exiting turn two on Lap 15 in Saturday’s Protect the Harvest A-Feature, Loyet crossed the line amid heavy slower traffic with Jason Johnson stalking the Miller Truck Lines No. 05 but unable to capitalize as Loyet crossed 0.508 second ahead at the finish.

“I got to thank my guys, Jerry, Tim, and Rick and of course my Dad. We just really shine on these short tracks and have really had an awesome trip out here, we just hadn’t been able to seal the win.” Commented Loyet on his second victory of 2013. “It’s good to be able to take a win on home tonight.”

Johnson improved three spots from Friday night to take second, closing the championship point lead to 17 behind Johnny Herrera. Tagging the wall on Friday, Johnson was thankful for the work his crew did to get the MVT No. 41 on the podium, “I got to thank my guys for working their butts off all day. We gave it all we had; Brad just had a better car tonight.”

Rolling a brand new car out for the Willamette Speedway in preparation for Knoxville, Logan Forler garnered his second podium finish in as many nights. “I just wish I would have found the bottom a little bit faster there at the end. I think I could have had something for them but I think something went a little haywire on this car about halfway through and got really tight unfortunately. It happens, but we’ll just keep digging.”

Johnny Herrera crossed fourth with Roger Crockett completing the top five.

Henry VanDam grabbed sixth after running third the first eight rounds. Seth Bergman, Shane Golobic, Tony Bruce, Jr., and Friday night’s winner Jeff Swindell completed the top ten.

Paired with the Northwest Region, Roger Crockett earned high points followed by Henry VanDam, Kyle Miller, Reece Gotez, and Chadd Noland completing the top five point earners for the region.

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real competes next at the Knoxville Raceway on August 1-3 at the Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville Nationals. For more information, and rundown of qualifying night, log ontohttp://www.knoxvilleraceway.com.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real
Willamette Speedway – Lebanon, Ore.
Saturday, July 27, 2013

Car Count: 21

Wesmar Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett[2]; 2. 93-Dustin Morgan[1]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[8]; 4. 10-Kyle Miller[3]; 5. 9R-Reece Goetz[7]; 6. 26F-Shane Forte[4]; 7. 71-Chadd Noland[9]; 8. 29-Brandon Hahn[6]; 9. 4J-Allison Journey[5]

Ti22 Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 22-Shane Golobic[1]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 3. 33V-Henry VanDam[7]; 4. 21T-Zack Spaulding[6]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[8]; 6. 17W-Cole Wood[5]; 7. 10J-Jake Waddell[4]; 8. 5-Brian Boswell[2]

Protect the Harvest A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 05-Brad Loyet[2]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[1]; 3. 2L-Logan Forler[6]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 5. 11-Roger Crockett[7]; 6. 33V-Henry VanDam[3]; 7. 23-Seth Bergman[9]; 8. 22-Shane Golobic[8]; 9. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[12]; 10. 94-Jeff Swindell[5]; 11. 10-Kyle Miller[14]; 12. 9R-Reece Goetz[13]; 13. 17W-Cole Wood[16]; 14. 93-Dustin Morgan[10]; 15. 71-Chadd Noland[15]; 16. 21T-Zack Spaulding[11]; 17. 29-Brandon Hahn[19]; 18. 4J-Allison Journey[21]; DNF 5-Brian Boswell[20]; DNF 26F-Shane Forte[17]; DNF 10J-Jake Waddell[18]

Lap Leaders: Jason Johnson (1-14), Brad Loyet (15-30)
PitstopUSA.com Hard Charger: Logan Forler +3
FSR High Points of the Night: Jason Johnson 
Hawk Performance Products Fastest Lap of the Night: Brad Loyet – 13.162 seconds
Provisionals: N/A

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-6, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Jeff Swindell-3, Logan Forler-2, Brad Loyet-2 Brian Brown-1, Kyle Bellm-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jack Dover-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jonathan Cornell-1, Tony Bruce, Jr.-1, Travis Rilat-1

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Johnny Herrera 3,473; 2. Jason Johnson 3,456; 3. Jeff Swindell 3,289; 4. Brad Loyet 3,264; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,156; 6. Logan Forler 3,139; 7. Seth Bergman 3,073; 8. Dustin Morgan 2,889; 9. Cole Wood 2,738; 10. Brandon Hahn 2,265;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Photo Credit: Bryan Hulbert