Lucas Oil ASCS to take on Warrior Region at Valley Speedway

Bryan Hulbert – TULSA, Okla. – Off the heels of Friday’s U.S. 36 Nationals presented by in Cameron, Mo. the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real will return to the Valley Speedway in Grain Valley, Mo. for the second time in series history for a midweek appearance on Wednesday, May 22 along with the Speedway Motors Warrior Region.

In front of a packed house, the 2012 debut for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real attracted 31 drivers to the Valley Speedway. Advancing past Grain Valley native Brian Brown on the tenth circuit, it was Tony Bruce, Jr. who parked the Lubbock Wrecker Service No. 18 Eagle in victory lane at the one-third mile, semi-banked oval on May 23, 2012.

Kyle Bellm, who earned his first Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour victory at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway on March 22, 2013, earned high points for the night with the Speedway Motors Warrior Region by taking the show position.

Amid fears of cancellation due to area noise complaints, which nixed a USMTS show scheduled for Thursday, May 16, the Lucas Oil ASCS National event scheduled for Wednesday, May 22 will go on as planned. One reason being, as stated by Valley Speedway owner Dennis Shrout, is due to the stricter Schoenfeld Muffler rule implemented by ASCS for the 2013 season.

In a comment from Doug Schoenfeld, the muffler now required by ASCS was developed in California where the noise ordinances’ in some municipalities are among the strictest in the United States. Because of this, the muffler numbered 14272735-78 is acceptable at most of the dirt tracks in California.

The short explanation is the muffler reduces noise pressure by 6 dB over the previous muffler used by ASCS. In terms of the distance in which it takes sound to dissipate, the reduction in considerable.

Eyeing his fourth Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real national title, Jason Johnson has already notched three victories towards that goal.

Opening his advantage to 43 over Johnny Herrera, the Print Place No. 45x has led 30 laps in 2013, but remains winless with the National Tour since scoring a prelim night at the Southern New Mexico Speedway on November 11, 2011.

Taking his second career Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour victory on April 5 at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park, Brad Loyet holds the show position and is the only other driver currently in the top ten with a National Tour victory in 2013.

Seth Bergman and Tony Bruce, Jr. complete the top five in driver standings with both having an up and down start to the 2013 season. Each has taken to the ASCS regions with great success as mechanical woes continue to get ironed out with Seth garnering three victories is Sooner and Lone Star competition. Bruce, Jr. was able to break into victory lane with the Lone Star Region in Boyd, Texas on April 26.

With the Speedway Motors Warrior Region, Brian Brown currently leads the standings but will forfeit that position as the Missiouri native has announced his intentions to run a double night at the Knoxville Raceway this coming Saturday.

In doing so, the chase for the Speedway Motors points fund blows wide open as a slim 54 markers separate the top five in driver standings. Reigning champion Jonathan Cornell followed by Jay Russell, Wyatt Burks, and Tyler Blank stand at the ready to take the point in the regional standings.

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real and Speedway Motors Warrior Regional drivers will be joined by the Valley Midgets and Micro Sprints. General Admission passes are advertised at $25 with kids 6-12 admitted for $5. Reserved seating is $28. More information on the Valley Speedway can be found at

Wednesday, May 22 will have Hot Laps beginning at 7:00 P.M. (CT) with gates opening at 5:00 P.M.


Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real

Date: Wednesday, May 22, 2013
Times: Gates open at 5:00 P.M. / Racing begins at 8:00 P.M.

Track Information: Valley Speedway
Address: 348 E. Old 40 Highway, Grain Valley, MO 64029
Phone #: 816-349-9893

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:

All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast live on for anyone who is unable to attend the races live. Official results, points, and race notes are posted at The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be found on Facebook and Twitter @LucasOilASCS.

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Brian Brown-1, Roger Crockett-1, Kyle Bellm-1, Brad Loyet-1

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 914; 2. Johnny Herrera 871; 3. Brad Loyet 809; 4. Seth Bergman 759; 5. Tony Bruce,Jr. 759; 6. Logan Forler 752; 7. Jeff Swindell 749; 8. Dustin Morgan 713; 9. Cole Wood 636; 10. Shawn Petersen 630;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of eight different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, Hawk Racing Products, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Photo credit: Patrick Grant