Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Heads to Batesville Motor Speedway May 16th-18th for “Bad Boy 98”

WAYCROSS, GA (May 15, 2013) – Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heads to the deep south this weekend for the 2nd Annual Bad Boy 98, May 16th through the 18th at Batesville Motor Speedway in Batesville, AR. This year’s event, sponsored by Bad Boy Mowers, will pay $20,000 win and $1,200 to start the feature event. Activities will get underway on Thursday night with a special open practice session. Then, on Friday night May 17th, there will be LOLMDS Hot Laps, RED BUCK Time Trials and heat races to set the starting field of the 2nd Annual Bad Boy 98. On Saturday night May 18th, there will be a special autograph session for fans to meet all the stars of the LOLMDS, as well as several top regional drivers from around the country. Following the autograph session, there will be two LOLMDS B-Mains to complete the starting field for the 98-lap $20,000 to win feature event.
The title sponsor of this weekend’s huge event is Bad Boy Mowers. With 850,000 square feet of manufacturing muscle and an ever-growing workforce, located in the heart of the Ozark Mountains in Batesville, AR, Bad Boy Mowers is the classic American manufacturing and the classic American success story that has grown each year and is stronger than ever. Bad Boy Mowers prides itself in building the state of the art, commercial – zero turning lawn mower and their new Utility Vehicles (UTV) for all your mowing and recreational needs. Bad Boy Mowers will have several models on display and will show a big presence at Batesville Motor Speedway this weekend. Bad Boy Mowers is located at 102 Industrial Drive, Batesville, AR 72501. To learn more about Bad Boy Mowers visit their official website at
Race fans attending this year’s event will once again have the opportunity to win a new car, compliments of Mark Martin Ford and Kia. Track promoters Mooney and Connie Starr, in association with Mark Martin Ford and Kia in Batesville, AR will award one lucky fan a new 2013 Kia Soul at this year’s event. Each race fan that attends the event will receive a special ticket at the main entrance to the grandstands for a random drawing on Saturday night, May 18th. Track officials will draw out tickets and match a fan with each driver starting the Bad Boy 98 feature event. The fan that is matched with the winning driver of the event will win the brand new 2013 Kia Soul, compliments of Mark Martin Kia. To learn more about the Mark Martin Auto Group and Museum
“The series is excited about this weekend’s event and working with the great staff at Batesville Motor Speedway. The fans will not only see some exciting racing, but will also get a chance to win a new car. It’s always great to have local companies support and sponsor our events when we come into town and we’re looking forward to having Bad Boy Mowers involved this weekend. It’s a big event with a great promotion that everyone should attend”, stated Ritchie Lewis, Director, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.
Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN will lead the stars of the LOLMDS into this weekend’s event. O’Neal leads the series national championship points standings by a mere 5 points over the 2012 series champion and the 2012 Bad Boy 98 race winner – Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN. This year’s national championship points battle is the closest in the history of the series with only 235 points separating the top ten drivers in the series national championship points standings.
16 year-old Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, IL comes into this weekend’s event leading the JRi Shocks Rookie of the Year – presented by Dunn-Benson Ford points standings. Pierce leads Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, AR and Jason McBride of Carbondale, IL in the chase for the Rookie of the Year title.
To purchase tickets and learn more about the 2nd Annual Bad Boy 98 and Batesville Motor Speedway, call the track office at 870-251-0011 or 870-613-1337 and visit the track website at
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website
Follow the series on the social media outlets at and!/lucasdirt
Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings
  1. Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) -1480
  2. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 1475
  3. John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) -1375
  4. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 1330
  5. Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 1320
  6. Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL) -1315
  7. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 1295
  8. Eddie Carrier Jr. (Salt Rock, WV) – 1260
  9. Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 1250
  10. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL) – 1245
Current JRi Shocks Rookie of the Year presented by Dunn-Benson Ford Points Standings
  1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL) -1245
  2. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR) – 1075
  3. Jason McBride (Carbondale, IL) – 900
LOLMDS TIRE RULE for Bad Boy 98 on May 17-18th
Right Rear – Hoosier 06, LM40, WRS55
Left Rear/Fronts – Hoosier 1640, LM40, WRS55
Event Purse for 2nd Annual Bad Boy 98 on May 18th
$20,000 to win- 1. $20,000, 2. $10,000, 3. $6,000, 4. $4,000, 5. $3,500, 6. $2,500, 7. $2,100, 8. $2,000, 9. $1,800, 10. $1,750, 11. $1,650, 12. $1,600, 13. $1,550, 14.. $1,500, 15. $1,450, 16. $1,400, 17. $1,350, 18. $1,300, 19. $1,250, 20. $1,200, 21. $1,200, 22. $1,200, 23. $1,200, 24. $1,200.
May 16-18th
Batesville Motor Speedway
5090 Heber Springs Road, Batesville, AR 72550
Track Phone #: (870) 251-0011
Promoters: Mooney and Connie Starr – (870) 251-1817

2013 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Official Sponsors Include:

ASi Racewear – “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Canidae Pet Foods – “The Official Pet Foods” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
E3 Spark Plugs – “The Official Spark Plug” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
GEICO – “The Official Insurance” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
General Tire – “The Official Tire” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Hoosier Tire – “The Official Race Tire” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Lucas Oil Products – “The Official Oil” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
MAVTV “American Real” – “The Official TV Network” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Optima Batteries – “The Official Battery” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series “The Official Protect the Harvest Campaign of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
RED BUCK- “The Official Fast Time Sponsor” of the Lucas Oil late Model Dirt Series
Sunoco Race Fuels – “The Official Fuel” of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

2013 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Supporters Include:

Allstar Performance, AR Bodies, Borrowed Blue, Barry Wright Race Cars, Bloomquist Race Cars, COMP Cams, Cornett Racing Engines, C&R Racing Inc, Crawford Supply, CV Products, DART Machinery,, Dunn-Benson Ford, Dyers Top Rods, Edlebrock, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, Fuel Safe Fuel Cells, FK Rod Ends, Gaerte Race Engines, Georgia Boot, Hawk Performance, Jay Dickens Racing Engines, JE Pistons, JRi Shocks, Keyser MFG, Kuntz Race Engines, Longhorn Chassis, Mann Merchant Processing, Mastersbilt Chassis, Öhlins Shocks, Outerwears, Performance Bodies, Pierce Racecars, Performance Rod and Custom, Pro Power Racing Engines, Race Engine Design, Rick Schwallie Photography, Roush Yates Engines, Roush Yates Parts, Simpson Performance Products, Sweet Mfg, Traeger Grills, Weld Racing Wheels, Wiles Drive Shafts, Wrisco, 5150 Race Trailers.