WAYCROSS, GA (August 21, 2012) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be back in action with a special Thursday night, August 23rd show – this week at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN and a Saturday night, August 25th event at Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN. There will be complete shows both nights, with Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and $10,000 to win/$800 to start feature events.
The 9th Annual Scorcher at Volunteer Speedway will mark the ninth visit by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series to the Joe and Phyliss Loven-promoted facility. Tennessee’s own Jimmy Owens of Newport and Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg have each won twice at “The Gap” since the series started racing there in 2007. Other winners at Volunteer in LOLMDS competition include; 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA, Tim McCreadie of Watertown, NY, and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.
NASCAR star Trevor Bayne will enter his first ever LOLMDS event on Thursday night at Volunteer Speedway and will compete against some of the nation’s top dirt late model drivers in the country. Not only will Trevor be competing in the main event, but fans attending the “Scorcher” on Thursday, Aug. 23rd will have an opportunity for a ride-along with him in the Volunteer Speedway two-seater Late Model. Only FIVE rides will take place. The cost of the ride-of-a-lifetime with Trevor Bayne around the high banks at “The Gap” is $100 – (for a five-lap ride and the chance to meet Trevor).
The visit on Saturday night, August 25th to Indiana’s Lawrenceburg Speedway will mark the fifth appearance at the immaculate facility promoted by Dave and Kim Rudisell. In the previous four races at “The Burg”, there have been four different winners including: Darren Miller, Brian Birkhofer, Dale McDowell and last year’s race winner, Don O’Neal . The event Saturday at Lawrenceburg will be taped by Lucas Oil Production Studios to be broadcasted on SPEED and MAVTV networks later this year.
The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series would like to thank the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport for being the “Official Hotel of the event at Lawrenceburg Speedway this Saturday and hosting the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the event. Please call Molly Fruin at the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport for more information and reservations for this event. Her direct phone number is 859-746-5612. The hotel has rates so low, that we can’t even publish them here! These rooms are filling up quickly, so call Molly today and ask for the Lucas Oil rate for your stay. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport is only a short drive from Lawrenceburg Speedway, and is located at:
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport
1717Airport Exchange Blvd.
Erlanger, KY 41018
For more information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series only trip to these race tracks in 2012 logon towww.volunteerspeedway.com andwww.lawrenceburgspeedway.com.
For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series log onto:www.lucasdirt.com.
To keep up with all the action “Live” as it happens, click onwww.lucasdirt.com/live.
Be sure to visit the series on our social media outlets as well at:http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirtandhttp://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt
Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings
1. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 5940
2. Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 5615
3. Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 5520
4. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 5500
5. John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) – 5050
6. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 5005
7. Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA – 4920
8. Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) – 4765
9. Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 4660
10. Eric Wells (Hazard, KY) – 4660