WAYCROSS, GA (March 17, 2012) – The nation’s premier dirt late model sanctioning body heads to Mississippi and Texas to end the month of March. The national stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and many regional hot shoes will compete against each other in two highly contested single day events. 
On Friday Night, March 30th, the LOLMDS will make its first ever appearance at the Don Cliburn-promoted Jackson Motor Speedway in Jackson, MS. The ‘Southern 50” is shaping up to be one of the biggest events at Jackson Motor Speedway in years. Then on Saturday Night, March 31st, the series heads to Texas for the second year in a row to the Sam Hafertepe Jr. promoted LoneStar Speedway in Kilgore, TX for the running of the “High Banks Havoc”. Scott Bloomquist won last year’s inaugural visit to LoneStar in front of a capacity crowd. There will be a complete show both nights for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series with Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and a $10,000 to win/$800 to start main event at both venues.
Defending LOLMDS National Champion, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN will lead the field of the nation’s best and brightest stars into the Jackson and LoneStar sanctioned events. Owens along with 2-time series champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Steve Francis of Ashland, KY; 2011 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year, Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; and 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, who drives for Texas native and 2000 NASCAR champion, Bobby Labonte are all expected to challenge some of the top regional racers from that area.
Other drivers expected to compete in Mississippi and Texas include John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; 16-year-old phenom, Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; Eric Wells of Hazard, KY; and Terry Casey of New London, WI. Also joining the star studded line-up of drivers that run the series will be two drivers running the series full-time this year as Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA and Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE will compete at both events.
“2012 is shaping up to be one of most competitive seasons we have ever had on the LOLMDS since its inception in 2005. Last year’s points battle came down to the last race between two drivers but this year’s field could produce a first time series champion and a tight point’s battle all season long. We’re excited about our season and look forward to putting on our show in front of the great race fans in both Mississippi and Texas”, stated Ritchie Lewis, Series Director.
For more information on what promises to be exciting weekend of Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series racing action, logon to each track’s respective websites at www.jacksonmotorspeedway.net and www.lonestarspeedway.com.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series next event is the “Indiana Icebreaker” on March 24th at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN. Series officials wants to remind everyone about the early start times for the Indiana Icebreaker on Saturday, March 24th. Driver Registration is from: 1:00PM – 4:15PM. Driver Autograph Session: 3:15PM – 4:00PM. Drivers Meeting: 4:15PM and Hot Laps begin at 4:45PM. For more information about the “Indiana Icebreaker” you can visit the track website at www.brownstownspeedway.com or call the track phone at (812) 358-5332 or promoter Tim Keithley at (812) 569-1982.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at www.lucasdirt.com.

Be sure and visit the series on social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.