Madden Masters NDRL’s Tennessee Tip Off Night #2 at Smoky Mountain


For Immediate Release:
National Dirt Racing League, LLC
Twitter: @The_NDRL

Madden Masters NDRL’s Tennessee Tip Off Night #2 at Smoky Mountain

By Chris Tilley, CT Marketing
Maryville, TN (March 8, 2014) Chris Madden likes Saturday night racing with the NDRL.
The Gray Court, SC driver took the lead from Billy Moyer Jr. on lap 44 to go on to win the National Dirt Racing League-sanctioned Tip Off Classic and $12,500 for the victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN a week after he won the Bama Bash at East Alabama. Madden drove the Century Plastics, Hamrick’s of Gaffney sponsored Clements powered Bloomquist Team Zero race car to the victory over hard-charging Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN who started tenth.

One caution flag slowed the race as Casey Roberts slowed on lap 13 in turn two.

Pole sitter Moyer Jr and Jonathan Davenport brought the field of 25 to life for the start of the 60-lapper with Moyer Jr jumping to the early lead. On the 14th lap Madden would take the second spot away from Davenport and take Scott Bloomquist with him for third. Davenport would drop to fourth after that restart.

Madden would look underneath Moyer for several laps but would become the factor and grab the lead away on the 44th circuit. Tenth starting Mike Marlar became the factor for second spot and would grab it away from Scott Bloomquist with five laps remaining. Lapped traffic would be enough to keep Marlar away from Madden as he went on to win his second NDRL event of the season picking up $29,517 in win money in less than a week.


NDRL FEATURE FINISH: Chris Madden, Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Billy Moyer Jr., Dale McDowell, Don O’Neal, Kent Robinson, Tommy Kerr, Skip Arp, Max Blair, Mason Zeigler, William Thomas, Chris Ferguson, Ray Cook, Steve Francis, Bub McCool, John Blankenship, Dennis Erb Jr., Mike Benedum, Tim Fuller, Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hill, Casey Roberts, Billy Moyer

Entries: 38
Overall Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist-15:904 seconds
Heat Winners: Billy Moyer Jr., Dale McDowell, Chris Madden, Jonathan Davenport
Consey Winners: Ray Cook, William Thomas
Provisional Starters: Dennis Erb Jr., Bub McCool and Mike Benedum

2014 NDRL ‘Kings of Dirt’ Point Standings
As of March 8, 2014

1. 44 Chris Madden 596
2. 0 Scott Bloomquist 574
3. 6 Jonathan Davenport 572
4. 5 Don O’Neal 562
5. 53 Ray Cook 552
6. 7R Kent Robinson 548
7. 21JR Billy Moyer Jr. 536
8. 22 Chris Ferguson 530
9. 23 John Blankenship 516
10. 111 Max Blair 514
11. 57J Bub McCool 506
12. 28 Dennis Erb Jr. 500
13. 19 William Thomas 500
14. 25Z Mason Zeigler 494
15. 15 Steve Francis 488
16. 21 Billy Moyer 480
17. 201 Billy Ogle Jr. 479
18. 19 Tim Fuller 478
19. 25 Shane Clanton 470
20. 25 Mike Benedum 462

To keep up with everything NDRL head over to the NDRL’s home on the World Wide Web located at . Be sure to like the National Dirt Racing League on Facebook at and follow the NDRL on Twitter at @The_NDRL.

Official NDRL 2014 Sponsors:
Hoosier Racing Tires, VP Race Fuels, Arizona Sport Shirts, Keyser Manufacturing, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil and Lubricants, Capital Race Cars, Rocket Chassis,, Bell, DirtWrap, C&R Racing, Genesis Shocks, AR Bodies, CV Products, Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales, JRi Shocks, and JNJ Motorsports Media.

If you or your company has questions or comments about the National Dirt Racing League or if you are interested in becoming a marketing partner of the NDRL please contact Series Director Kelley Carlton at (864) 871-1442 / or NDRL Marketing Director Jason Babyak at (602) 647-0649 /