070513 SuperiorVL

McCreadie Gives His Boy A Long-Distance Present With Victory In Friday’s ‘Wild West Tour’ Opener At Amsoil Speedway

New Yorker Scores Fourth World of Outlaws Late Model Series Win Of Season On Son’s Third Birthday

By Kevin Kovac, WoO LMS P.R. Director

SUPERIOR, WI – July 5, 2013 – Tim McCreadie was one very happy race car driver – and father – after holding off Rick Eckert to capture Friday night’s 50-lap World of Outlaws Late Model Series ‘Wild West Tour’ opener at Amsoil Speedway.

Not only did the 39-year-old star from Watertown, N.Y., score his fourth WoO LMS triumph of 2013, it came on his son Gavin’s third birthday. The toddler was home with his mother, Karen, in the Empire State, but McCreadie made sure he dedicated his 24th career win on the national circuit to the curly-haired boy.

“This one’s for you, Gavin,” McCreadie said after the checkered flag. “It’s cool to win on his birthday. I wish they could be here with me, but when I get home we’ll have (Gavin’s birthday) party next weekend.”

McCreadie, who started from the pole position but was outgunned for the lead at the initial green flag by his front-row mate Tim Fuller, kept up the pressure on his fellow New Yorker until gaining command on lap 15. T-Mac never looked back en route to a memorable victory that brought him over $10,000 to buy presents for his kid.

York, Pa.’s Eckert, who started sixth, passed Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., for second on lap 43 and drew close to McCreadie but settled for second, 0.669 of a second behind the victor. It was the fourth runner-up finish of the season for Eckert, who is still searching for his first WoO LMS win of 2013.

Lanigan finished third, Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa., placed fourth and home-state favorite Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., who lives 35 miles from Amsoil Speedway and raced regularly at the three-eighths-mile track early in his career, completed the top five.

More to follow…

A-Main Finish: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Rick Eckert, 3. Darrell Lanigan, 4. Chub Frank, 5. Brady Smith, 6. Tim Fuller, 7. Shane Clanton, 8. Bub McCool, 9. Jeff Provinzino, 10. Eric Wells, 11. Morgan Bagley, 12. Clint Smith, 13. Pat Doar, 14. Harry Hanson, 15. Josh Richards, 16. Tim McMan, 17. Zachary Wohlers, 18. Chris Olson, 19. Trevor Wilson, 20. Terry Lillo, 21. Travis Budisalovich, 22. Aaron Lillo, 23. Roger Paolo, 24. Todd Gehl