June 15, 2012 

McMahan, Conley, Dickerson and Aronhalt winners at NAPA Auto Parts Wayne County Speedway
By Ryan Pearson
The June 15th edition was action packed with thrills and spills. The grandstands packed full of people were treated to great side by side racing action.


In the Fisher Performance 410 Sprints Rob Chaney and Cole Duncan led the field to the green flag. The green was not displayed very long as the sprinters got up speed a chain reaction crash took out new comer Nick Ley, Nick Patterson and Bill Ault who flipped head over end. On the restart the red flag again was displayed as Jason Dolick tipped over. During the melee Grafton West Virginia Andre Layfield spun and damaged the front end of this racer. Layfield returned pit side, fixed the front end and returned to the tail of field. Third time was a charm as the third restart went off without a hitch. When the green flag dropped Chaney jumped to the early lead. Making a power move Andrew Palker slid past Nashville, Tennessee’s Paul McMahan to take second place. On lap six Chaney on a rail caught the back markers and began lapping the field. On lap eight third running Broc Martin got together with the lapped car of Nick Patterson (23) causing both cars to flip violently high through the air. Both drivers were able to exit their race cars under their own power. As the field took the red flag Chaney steered his rocket ship to the pits retiring for the evening. This moved Palker to the lead ahead of McMahan and Danny Mumaw. When the racing resumed Palker powered to a eight car length lead over McMahan. On lap seventeen the caution flew for the race leader Palker who had a flat tire. This handled the lead to McMahan with hard running Mumaw in tow. On lap twenty two the red flag again was displayed due to Bryce Dickson and Mitch Harble who touched wheels causing both cars to flip violently and scattering race car parts twenty five yards across the race track. McMahan cruised to victory over Mumaw, Palker Chris Myers and Jaime Myers. Duncan, Chaney and Palker won heats and Duffy Smith won the B-Main.


In the Lias Tire Super Late Models Cory Conley and George Lee brought the field to the green flag. Conley coming off a win at Cannonball Speedway jumped to the point ahead of Lee, Ryan Markham, Shane McLoughlin and Charlie Duncan. As Conley led McLoughlin and Markham battled for second which saw McLoughlin slipped past Markham for second. Lee running a aggressive line on the high side battled with Duncan and Rick Bond. On lap thirteen Lee showed a few puffs of smoke and returned pit side with mechanical issues. On lap eighteen Conley still led the McLoughlin and Markham but eyes were on tenth starting Mark Gardiner who had moved into the fourth position and set his sights on Markham. At the checkers it was Conley who lead green to checkers. Conley won ahead of McLoughlin, Markham, Gardiner and Duncan. McLoughlin and Duncan won heats.


In the Bremenour Electric Modifieds it was Norm Aronhalt who jumped out to the early lead. Aronhalt who is leading the 2012 points was dogged by Larry Kugel, Darrick Hubbard and Jim Nicely. Kugel attempted to close the gap on the leader but Aronhalt held point with a comfortable lead. As Aronhalt ran away with the lead the racing through the field was great as Hubbard and Nicely battled back and forth. Nicley was able to blast his way past Hubbard to overtake the third position. On lap sixteen Nicely dove to the infield retiring for the night with mechanical issues. Aronhalt took the win ahead of ***. Aronhalt and Kugel won heats.


In the Thrifty Discount Muffler Pure Stocks Paul Holmes took the early lead. The caution flew early for second starting Jeremy Lynch who attempted to return the pits on his own power but was unable to make it. The race resumed with Holmes in the lead. In the early stages Holmes had mechanical issues ending his night prematurely. The lead then was handed over to Jeremy Dickerson. Gary Hoopingarner who had motor issues last week hassled Dickerson for the lead but was unable to complete the pass. In the final laps Hoopingarner closed up on the rear bumper of Dickerson trying to overtake the lead. At the checkers it just wasn’t enough as Dickerson took the win; he was followed by Hoopingarner, Brandon Gardner, Chase Alexander and Brandon Craver. Dickerson, Hoopingarner and Holmes won heat races and Todd Werntz won the B-Main.


For additional information contact Jason or Kristin Flory at: 330-465-2365, or email at kristinu2@yahoo.com. For news, updates and schedule visit the Wayne County Speedway website at www.waynecountyspeedway.com. Wayne County Speedway is located nine miles east of Wooster, or 15 miles west of Massillon on US Rt. 30, then one mile north on Carr Road.