ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/30/2012 – Brian Montieth has won some big Lincoln races in his career, but Saturday’s 13thAnnual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial win in the 22nd Annual Pennsylvania Speedweek opener may have meant more to him than any of the others. 

“The Gobrecht Memorial means a lot to this team,” said Montieth upon exiting his Premier Autowork/Auto Locator/Golf Cart Services #21 in victory lane, “The history between this team and the Gobrecht family is just incredible.  I’m just happy to be here.” 

“I was in my 12B car when Kevin was running the 92 for his family,” reflected Montieth, “We parked next them when the pits were in the infield, and it means a lot to be sitting here tonight.” 

Speedweek time trial and heat points combined with an inversion of four placed Montieth fifth at the start.  

Polesitter Jim Siegel grabbed the lead at the outset as Montieth charged into third, just before the event’s first caution came out for Brian Leppo, who spun while battling for fifth on turn two of lap five. 

On the restart, Montieth went after third-starting Cory Haas, passing him exiting turn two but then yielding to Haas in turns three and four of lap five.  Following a sixth-lap caution for Tim Glatfelter (who came to a stop on the backstretch), Montieth continued his assault on Haas.  He grabbed the runner-up spot on lap seven.  At the time, Siegel held a narrow .66-second lead. 

Montieth closed on Siegel as the two entered lapped traffic at the half-way point, with Montieth pulling a slider to take lead exiting turn four of lap 15. 

From there, Montieth checked out on the field, crossing 4.67 seconds ahead of Siegel for his fifth Lincoln win of the year and the 31st victory of his career in the Pigeon Hills. 

“I don’t know if I was any better than Jimmy…I just caught him there in lapped traffic, and, you know…” said Montieth, “But you can see how things can turn around really fast and can go the other way really quick.  Everything’s just clicking right now.   We’ll just keep into Speedweek and see what happens.” 

After battling with Montieth, Haas raced wheel-to-wheel with fourth-starting Brent Marks, finally holding off Marks for third.  Marks and Fred Rahmer completed the top five, with Alan Krimes, Daryn Pittman, Danny Dietrich, Gerard McIntyre, Jr., and Billy Dietrich rounding out the top ten. 

Sprint heats were won by Rahmer, Adam Wilt, and Montieth, with Greg Hodnett winning the B-Main.

Fast time in time trials over the 30-car field was set by Marks with a 1-lap time of 13.666-seconds (98.785 MPH). 

Harlon Leppo scored his second straight Lincoln win in the 15-lap Central PA Legends feature. 

Though he started second, third-starting  Tim Henry drove under the front row to lead the first 10 laps.  During a wild five-car battle for the lead, Henry made contact  with Chad Glatfelter, dropping him to sixth in the running order. 

Henry took the top spot during the incident, and he held off the challenges of Glatfelter over the final laps to score the .19-second win.  Third through fifth were Bob Stough, Bill Diehl, and Scott Gobrecht. 

Heats for the 27 Central PA Legends were won by Chad Glatfelter, Leppo, and Henry, with Vernon Houseman winning the consolation. 

Next Saturday night, July 7, the Keizer Aluminum Wheels “358” sprint cars take center stage.  They’ll be joined by the 358 late models (in the finale of the Williams Grove/Trail-Way/Lincoln Shootout) and the PASS Racesaver 305 sprint cars.  Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with racing getting underway at 7:30 PM. 

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up to date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway. 



Saturday, June 30, 2012


Abbottstown, PA




Feature (30 Laps) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($7,000); 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 19M-Brent Marks; 5. 51-Fred Rahmer; 6. 87-Alan Krimes; 7. 27-Daryn Pittman; 8. 48-Danny Dietrich; 9. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 10. 8-Billy Dietrich; 11. 15-Adam Wilt; 12. 77-Aaron Ott; 13. 7-Chad Layton; 14. 39-Greg Hodnett; 15. 35-Tyler Walker; 16. 30C-Lance Dewease; 17. 6-Brad McClelland; 18. 14-Brian Leppo; 19. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 20. 4-John Rudisill (-1); 21. 77AU- Darren Mollenoyux (-2); 22. 84-Chad Criswell (DNF); 23. 69-Tim Glatfelter (DNF); DNS – 1S-Logan Schuchart. No Time


Lap Leaders – Jim Siegel (1-14), Brian Montieth (15-30)


2012 PENNSYLVANIA SPEEDWEEK POINT STANDINGS (Race 1 of 8) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth, 169 pts.; 2. 19M-Brent Marks, 148 pts.; 3. 11C-Cory Haas, 144 pts.; 4. 59-Jim Siegel, 143 pts.; 5. 51-Fred Rahmer, 128 pts.; 6. 87-Alan Krimes, 124 pts.; 7. 27-Daryn Pittman, 109 pts.; 8. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 105 pts.; 9. 48-Danny Dietrich, 101 pts.; 10. 8-Billy Dietrich, 99 pts.


1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 51-Fred Rahmer; 2. 19M-Brent Marks; 3. 14-Brian Leppo; 4. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 5. 30C-Lance Dewease; 6. 84-Chad Criswell; 7. 77AU-Darren Mollenoyux; 8. 6-Brad McClelland; 9. 4-John Rudisill; 10. 21K-Kyle Pruitt. Time – 2:25.669


2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 15-Adam Wilt; 2. 59-Jim Siegel; 3. 7-Chad Layton; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 48-Danny Dietrich; 6. 35-Tyler Walker; 7. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 8. 39-Greg Hodnett; 9. 55AU-Luke Bowery; 10. 95-Hunter Mackison. Time – 2:25.703


3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 27-Daryn Pittman; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 77-Aaron Ott; 6. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 8. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 9. 1K-Kyle Larson (DNF); DNS – 91-Dalton Dietrich. No Time


B-Main (12 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 39-Greg Hodnett; 2. 6-Brad McClelland; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 4. 2-Ryan Bohlke; 5. 77AU- Darren Mollenoyux; 6. 4-John Rudisill; 7. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 8. 55AU-Luke Bowey; 9. 21K-Kyle Pruitt (DNF); 10. 95-Hunter Mackison (DNF); 11. 1K-Lyle Lawson (DNF). Time – 3:06.122


Time Trials – 1. 19M-Brent Marks, 13.666 seconds (98.785 MPH); 2. 11C-Cory Haas, 13.699; 3. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.735; 4. 14-Brian Leppo, 13.759; 5. 7-Chad Layton, 13.823; 6. 69-Tim Glatfelter, 13.859; 7. 85-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 13.863; 8. 59-Jim Siegel, 13.949; 9. 21-Brian Montieth, 13.950; 10. 51-Fred Rahmer, 13.952; 11. 15-Adam Wilt, 13.989; 12. 8-Billy Dietrich, 13.993; 13. 6-Brad McClelland, 14.018; 14. 48-Danny Dietrich, 14.035; 15. 27-Daryn Pittman, 14.060; 16. 30C-Lance Dewease, 14.088; 17. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 14.106; 18. 77-Aaron Ott, 14.155; 19. 84-Chad Criswell, 14.182; 20. 35-Tyler Walker, 14.221; 21. 1K-Kyle Larson, 14.227; 22. 4-John Rudisill, 14.239; 23. 39-Greg Hodnett, 14.266; 24. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe, 14.358; 25. 77AU-Darren Mollenoyux, 14.360; 26. 55AU-Luke Bowery, 14.400; 27. 2-Ryan Bohlke, 14.444; 28. 21K-Kyle Pruitt, 14.626; 29. 95-Hunter Mackison, 14.738; 30. 55Z-Mark Zimmerman, NT.