ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 8/25/2012 – For the first time in five years, Lincoln Speedway has a new track champion.

Danny Dietrich scored his eighth win of the year in the second of Twin 20’s for Lincoln’s John Gleim, Jr. Excavating 60th Anniversary show, a victory that secured his first track title.

“Our next goal here is to get ten wins,” said Dietrich upon exiting his Sandoe’s Fruit Market/APM Building #48 in victory lane, “I think it’s been a while since anyone hit double digits in a single season here at Lincoln, and that’s what we’re after.”

“This track was phenomenal tonight,” continued Dietrich, “It was real racey in the first feature. For as wet as it was, it really slicked off and got real racey the second feature. When Cory got the lead I wasn’t sure if we were going to win it or not. He’s really tough to beat, we’re good friends and we race each other extra hard. We’re fortunate to be racing with a group of guys like that.”

“It was our goal to get this track championship. This race cost us the championship last year,” said Dietrich, “I’m not going to say we’d have won it, but we fell 20 points short and won one of these races last year. You never know. It feels good to take care of it with a week to spare.”

“This track ain’t nowhere near the same,” said Dietrich speaking of Lincoln’s 60th Anniversary, “We were looking at old videos and said ‘This track can’t be the same.’ Turn four was about 20 feet wider. Lincoln is definitely the best facility we have in the area.”

An inversion of eight for the second feature of the night put Dietrich in sixth for the start. Polesitter Alan Krimes led the first lap from the pole before outside front row starter Brian Leppo took the lead on lap two. Cory Haas caught Krimes for second on lap two and took the lead from Leppo during a five-car battle for the lead on lap 10.

Dietrich caught Leppo for second on lap 11, but less than half the field was past the flagstand. The lap didn’t count, but Dietrich’s pass of Haas did.

Dietrich’s race-winning pass came on the 11th-lap restart, and three laps later Leppo reclaimed second from Haas.

Wild racing over the final three laps saw Haas drive around both Alan Krimes and Leppo on the homestretch for second. Leppo was scored third, with Krimes settling for fourth and Brent Marks fifth.

Sixth through tenth were Fred Rahmer, Brad McClelland (who returned from the rear after an opening lap spin), Gerard McIntyre, Jr., Jim Siegel, and Kyle Moody.

The first of the Twin 20’s was won by Brian Montieth, his seventh Lincoln win of the year.

Time trials and an inversion of four put Montieth on the outside of row two for the start. Gerard McIntyre, Jr. led the first eight laps from the pole. Montieth drove around Fred Rahmer for third on the first lap and moved past front-row starter Brent Marks for the runner-up spot on lap two. Montieth grabbed the lead from McIntyre just before the only caution of the event came out for fourth-place McClelland, who clipped a lapped car and spun in turn four.

From there, Montieth drove away to a 1.17-second win over Marks, with Danny Dietrich, Rahmer, and McIntyre completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Haas, Billy Dietrich (who lost a motor after the checkered flag fell and was done for the night), Leppo, Krimes, and Adam Wilt.

Fast time in time trails over the 22-car field was set by Montieth with a one-lap time of 13.294 seconds (101.550 MPH).
With the top 12 time trailers locked in for the first of the Twin 20’s, the lone qualifier for the sprint cars was won by Leppo.

Harlon Leppo raced to his third straight Lincoln win in the 15-lap Central PA Legends feature. An inversion draw of zero put him on the outside front row for the start. Polesitter Tim Henry led the first lap before Leppo took the lead for good, holding off all challengers the rest of the way. Henry ran second the rest of the way despite heavy late-race pressure from Blaine Leppo, who crossed third. Chris Spidle and point’s leader Scott Gobrecht completed the top five.

Heats for the 27 Central PA Legends on hand were won by Henry, Harlon Leppo, and Chris Spidle.

Gettysburg’s Brian was the survivor of a wild 20-lap thundercar feature that saw four cars battle for the lead over the final 10 laps with three and four-wide racing on the straightaways.

Walls, while running fourth on the 17th lap, got the lead when the top-three cars of Danny Beard, Kyle Martin and Duane Watson got together in turns three and four with Martin ending up backwards, and both Beard and Watson suffering flat tires and headed to the pit.

Once out front, Walls held on for the final three laps to score his third win of the year over brother Will Walls, Brian Diehl, Jimmy Combs and Mike Slaybaugh completing the top-five.

Heats for the 20 Thundercars on hand were won by Tom Walls, II and Brian Walls.

Next Saturday night, Sept. 1st, Lincoln Speedway will hold the final point race for the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprints. They will be joined by the 358 Sprints and Super Sportsman. Plus, there will be a spectacular fireworks display in honor of the Labor Day holiday weekend. Racing will get underway at 7 PM, with Gates opening at 5 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up to date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.
Saturday, August 25, 2012
Abbottstown, PA
1st Feature (20‑Laps) ‑ 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($2,700); 2. 19M-Brent Marks; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 51-Fred Rahmer; 5. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 8-Billy Dietrich; 8. 14-Brian Leppo; 9. 87-Alan Krimes; 10. 15-Adam Wilt; 11. 6-Brad McClelland; 12. 59-Jim Siegel; 13. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 14. 4-John Rudisill; 15. 84-Chad Criswell; 16. 50-Tim Glatfelter; 17. 5-Glenndon Forsythe; 18. 95-Hunter Mackison; 19. 2W-Kyle Moody (DNF); 20. 1S-Logan Schuchart (DNF); 21. 48X-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 22. 21A-Will Rose (DNS); 23. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNS). No Time

Lap Leaders – Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (1-8), Brian Montieth (9-20)

2nd Feature (20‑Laps) ‑ 1. 48-Danny Dietrich ($2,700); 2. 11C-Cory Haas; 3. 14-Brian Leppo; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 19M-Brent Marks; 6. 51-Fred Rahmer; 7. 6-Brad McClelland; 8. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 9. 59-Jim Siegel; 10. 2W-Kyle Moody; 11. 4-John Rudisill; 12. 95-Hunter Mackison; 13. 50-Tim Glatfelter; 14. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 15. 55K-Robbie Kendall (DNF); 16. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF); 17. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 18. 84-Chad Criswell (DNF); 19. 48X-Johnny Mackison, Jr. (DNF); DNS – 1S-Logan Schuchart. No Time

Lap Leaders – Brian Leppo (1-9), Cory Haas (10), Danny Dietrich (11-20)

Qualifier (10 Laps/all qualify) – 1. 14-Brian Leppo; 2. 84-Chad Criswell; 3. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 4. 2W-Kyle Moody; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 50-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 4-John Rudisill; 8. 95-Hunter Mackison; 9. 48X-Johnny Mackison, Jr. (DNF); 10. 21A-Will Rose (DNF); 11. 66A-Cody Fletcher (DNS). Time – 2:21.522

Time Trials – 1. 21-Brian Montieth, 13.294-seconds (101.550 MPH); 2. 51-Fred Rahmer, 13.400; 3. 19M-Brent Marks, 13.430; 4. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 13.549; 5. 6-Brad McClelland, 13.551; 6. 8-Billy Dietrich, 13.595; 7. 11C-Cory Haas, 13.599; 8. 15-Adam Wilt, 13.639; 9. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 13.701; 10. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.729; 11. 48-Danny Dietrich, 13.764; 12. 5-Glenndon Forsythe, 13.794; 13. 2W-Kyle Moody, 13.858; 14. 84-Chad Criswell, 13.867; 15. 55K-Robbie Kendall, 13.886; 16. 14-Brian Leppo, 13.945; 17. 59-Jim Siegel, 13.952; 18. 4-John Rudisill, 14.076; 19. 95-Hunter Mackison, 14.123; 20. 21A-Will Rose, 14.175; 21. 50-Tim Glatfelter, 14.252; 22. 66A-Cody Fletcher, NT; 23. 48X-Johnny Mackison, Jr., NT.