Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Brian Montieth rallied late to take his third sprint car win of the Williams Grove Speedway season on Friday night and was the third and final leader of the 25-lap event.

In the 20-lap 358 sprint main, Nate Hammaker became the first driver to repeat in the division this season.

The initial start of the 410 sprint main was red flagged for a four car accident in the third turn involving Glenndon Forsythe, Dylan Cisney, Brent Marks and Danny Dietrich.

When action got going polesitter Ryan Taylor of Perkasie drove into control with Frank Cozze racing second as they entered the backmarkers on the seventh tour.

Doug Esh was up to third by that time and drove into second with 11 laps down as Taylor began to struggle with traffic.

And then two laps later, as he tried to work a pack of cars upon entering the first corner and put them a lap down, Taylor looped his machine upon entry allowing Montieth, Cozze and Alan Krimes to get by before he fell back in line.

Lap 13 had just been scored with Esh as the leader when Adam Wilt stopped in the second turn, slowing the pace for the only time after the initial start fracas.

Esh kept Montieth at bay when action resumed and Taylor eventually rebounded back up to third but again as lapped cars entered the picture, the leader would fall backwards.

Montieth drove up on Esh as he worked the backmarkers on the 22nd tour and as Esh went to the outside of Troy Fraker to lap his car in the middle of the second turn, Montieth pinned his car in the middle and eyed up a three-wide move for the lead and win.

And then as quickly as he saw the opening, he squirted right through the pair as they all shot onto the backchute, executing a perfect thread-the-needle move to thrill the fans and take the lead before pulling away.

It was his 12th career victory at the facility and third this season.

Aside from his $3,600 base pay for the win, he collected a $500 bonus for winning from the sixth row plus another $40 in lap money.

Esh finished second and took $90 in lap cash, followed by Taylor in third who pocketed $120 in lap money for his time at the front of the field.

Krimes rode home fourth followed by Cozze.

Sixth through 10th went to Chad Layton, Cory Haas, Rick Lafferty, Don Kreitz Jr. and Dylan Cisney.

Heats for the 26-car field went to Dietrich, Cisney and Marks.

Jay Galloway started second in the 358 sprint main and led the first nine laps before sixth starter Nate Hammaker took the lead at the halfway point.

Once at the front, Hammaker cruised uncontested to his second win of the season at the track and fourth overall of his career.

It was the first time the Grantville driver has ever been able to win more than once in a season at the track during his career.

Rodney Westhafer rode home second followed by Mark Smith, Pat Cannon and Galloway.

Sixth through 10th went to Ryan Wilson, Eric Tomecek, Adrian Shaffer, Matt Mountz and Dale Hammaker.

Heats went to Cannon, Smith and Galloway.

August 10, 2012 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Doug Esh, 3. Ryan Taylor, 4. Alan Krimes, 5. Frank Cozze, 6. Chad Layton, 7. Cory Haas, 8. Rick Lafferty, 9. Don Kreitz Jr., 10. Dylan Cisney, 11. Davey Sammons, 12. Ryan Smith, 13. Johnny Mackison Jr., 14. Tim Glatfelter, 15. Michael Ruttkamp, 16. Bryn Gohn, 17. Troy Fraker, 18. Hunter Mackison, 19. Adam Wilt, 20. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 21. Glenndon Forsythe, 22. Brent Marks, 23. Danny Dietrich, 24. Jay Reichard

DNQ: Aaron Ott, Jim Shuster

358 sprint cars, 20 laps: 1. Nate Hammaker, 2. Rodney Westhafer, 3. Mark Smith, 4. Pat Cannon, 5. Jay Galloway, 6. Ryan Wilson, 7. Eric Tomecek, 8. Adrian Shaffer, 9. Matt Mountz, 10. Dale Hammaker, 11. Brian Garland, 12. Kevin Nouse, 13. Rocky Magaro, 14. TJ Stutts, 15. Brie Hershey, 16. Brock Zearfoss, 17. Scott Fisher, 18. Todd Reed, 19. Jordan Givler, 20. Bill Sherman, 21. Rich Eichelberger, 22. Amy Ott