Hogue claims Central PA point series title with sixth Lincoln win of 2013

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 9/28/13 – Brian Montieth lived up to his nickname in claiming the $4,000 top prize in Saturday’s Annual Hank Gentzler Memorial Manufacturers Appreciation Race at Lincoln Speedway.

Montieth, who started on the pole, saw his nearly two-second lead evaporate on a 12th-lap caution for a spinning Stevie Smith on the front stretch, and was forced to back off when Adam Wilt pulled the slider to take the lead on turn two of the restart.

“I sorta wrote it off,” said Montieth upon exiting his Jerry Parrish-owned Auto Locator/Premier AutoWorks #21 in victory lane, “I figured I was just going to back there and play with Alan coming up (in third). I saw lapped traffic coming, and I thought we were going to run out of laps. That was really my only shot.”

Montieth was right. It looked like the race was over as Wilt pulled away to a full second lead on lap 20. But then lapped traffic entered the picture, and Montieth went to the top to drive around Wilt to reclaim the lead in turn two of lap 24.

From there, Montieth drove to his sixth Lincoln win of the year and third straight Hank Gentzler Memorial Manufacturers Night win.

“The way the (Hoosier) tires are, you need clean air,” said Montieth, “Honestly, leading here isn’t the best thing all the time. He had to do what he had to do, and just try to put cars in between us. I’ve been in his position, and I hate being there also.”

Wilt settled for second, with sixth-starting Alan Krimes, ninth-starting Jim Siegel, and outside front row starter Tim Glatfelter crossing third through fifth. Completing the top ten were Greg Hodnett, 12th-starting Logan Schuchart, Gerard McIntyre, Jr., Cory Haas, and Steve Owings.

Sprint heats were won by Montieth, Siegel, and McIntyre, with Schuchart winning the Consolation. Fast time in time trials over the 30-car field was set by Krimes with one-lap time of 13.512-seconds (99.911 MPH).

More than $50,000 in manufacturers’ products and services were distributed to the 24 race teams that qualified for the feature. Thanks to the efforts of Denise Gentzler and Hank’s Performance Products, every driver received a prize package worth at least $1,900 at intermission. Bonus money was also provided to the first two alternates, the hard charger, and hard luck driver of the night.

Manchester’s Austin Hogue claimed the Central PA 358 Sprint Car Point title with his fifth Lincoln win of the year . Hogue started on the pole and led every lap, holding of 2013 track champ Niki Young for his eighth overall win of the season. His final margin of victory was 1.06 seconds.

Third through fifth were Dale Hammaker, Ryan Wilson, and Danny Dietrich (driving the Berwager #85). Rounding out the top ten were Chase Dietz, 14th-starting Chandler Leiby, 24th-starting Kevin Nouse, Mike Bittinger, and Chris Arnold.

Heats for the 358 Sprints were won by Dwight Leppo, Dietz, and Young.

After taking a week off to allow its drivers to compete in the Williams Grove National Open, Lincoln will return to action on Saturday, October 12th, with its annual Kenny Weld Memorial. The 40-lapper for the 410 sprints will pay $5,000 plus lap money to win. Thundercars will also return for the event, which will carry a rain date of Sunday, October 13th. Time trials for the Weld Memorial will start at 6:00 p.m., with gates opening at 4:00 p.m.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, September 28, 2013
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth ($4,000); 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 87-Alan Krimes; 4. 59-Jim Siegel; 5. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 6. 39-Greg Hodnett; 7. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 8. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 9. 11C-Cory Haas; 10. 35-Steve Owings; 11. 19-Stevie Smith; 12. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 13. 75-Nicole Bower; 14. 1080-Jordon Mackison; 15. 95-Hunter Mackison (DNF); 16. 1A-Jacob Allen (DNF); 17. 55K-Robbie Kendall (DNF); 18. 92-Tyler Ross (DNF); 19. 48-Danny Dietrich (DNF); 20. 55-Trey Starks (DNF); 21. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe (DNF); 22. 56-Tim Wagaman (DNF); 23. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF); 24. 21K-Kyle Reinhardt (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Brian Montieth (1-12), Adam Wilt (13-23), Brian Montieth (24-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 1A-Jacob Allen; 3. 39-Greg Hodnett; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 92-Tyler Ross; 6. 56-Tim Wagaman; 7. 75-Nicole Bower; 8. 95-Hunter Mackison; 9. 49-Bob Howard; 10. 49H-Brad Howard. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 59-Jim Siegel; 2. 35-Steve Owings; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 19-Steve Smith; 5. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 6. 55-Trey Starks; 7. 21T-Scott Fisher; 8. 4-John Rudisill; 9. 21K-Kyle Reinhardt (DNF); 10. 1080-Jordon Mackison (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 4. 8-Billy Dietrich; 5. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich; 7. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 8. 22T-Matt Boland; 9. 55Z-Mark Zimmerman; 10. 1S-Logan Schuchart. No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 2. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 3. 75-Nicole Bower; 4. 1080-Jordon Mackison; 5. 95-Hunter Mackison; 6. 21K-Kyle Reinhardt; 7. 21T-Scott Fisher; 8. 22T-Matt Boland; 9. 49H-Brad Howard; 10. 4-John Rudisill (DNF); DNS – 55Z-Mark Zimmerman, 49-Bob Howard. No Time

Time Trials – 1. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.512 seconds (99.911 MPH); 2. 19-Stevie Smith, 13.625; 3. 15-Adam Wilt, 13.645; 4. 39-Greg Hodnett, 13.657; 5. 69-Tim Glatfelter, 13.681; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich, 13.693; 7. 21-Brian Montieth, 13.748; 8. 35-Steve Owings, 13.814; 9. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 13.836; 10. 1A-Jacob Allen, 13.858; 11. 59-Jim Siegel, 13.904; 12. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 13.931; 13. 92-Tyler Ross, 13.937; 14. 11C-Cory Haas, 13.944; 15. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe, 13.982; 16. 75-Nicole Bower, 13.985; 17. 55-Trey Starks, 14.013; 18. 8-Billy Dietrich, 14.032; 19. 56-Tim Wagaman, 14.124; 20. 1080-Jordon Mackison, 14.133; 21. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., 14.144; 22. 95-Hunter Mackison, 14.162; 23., 21K-Kyle Reinhardt, 14.301; 24. 22T-Matt Boland, 14.374; 25. 49H-Brad Howard, 14.424; 26. 4-John Rudisill, 14.434; 27. 55Z-Mark Zimmerman, 14.436; 28. 49-Bob Howard, 14.487; 29. 21T-Scott Fisher, 14.684; 30. 55K-Robbie Kendall, NT.

Feature (20 laps) – 1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 65-Niki Young; 3. 66-Dale Hammaker; 4. 29-Ryan Wilson; 5. 85-Danny Dietrich; 6. 2D-Chase Dietz; 7. 119-Chandler Leiby; 8. 4R-Kevin Nouse; 9. 12-Mike Bittinger; 10. 23-Chris Arnold; 11. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 12. 66H-Doug Hammaker; 13. 4-Dwight Leppo; 14. 5O-Brian Allman; 15. 69-Shane Hoff; 16. 28-Matt Findley; 17. 3W-Duane Watson; 18. 10-Zach Eucalano; 19. 47-Michael Hamer; 20. 45H-Jeff Halligan (DNF); 21. 6S-Bill Sherman (DNF); 22. 83-Troy Wagaman (DNF); 23. 38D-Kyle Denmyer (DNF); DNS – 97-Brie Hershey. No Time

Lap Leaders – Austin Hogue (1-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 66-Dale Hammaker; 3. 29-Ryan Wilson; 4. 12-Mike Bittinger; 5. 45H-Jeff Halligan; 6. 69-Shane Hoff; 7. 47-Michael Hamer; 8. 97-Brie Hershey. Time – 2:30.16

2nd Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 2D-Chase Dietz; 2. 66H-Doug Hammaker; 3. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 4. 85-Danny Dietrich; 5. 119-Chandler Leiby; 6. 28-Matt Findley; 7. 5O-Brian Allman; 8. 10-Zach Eucalano. No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 65-Niki Young; 2. 52-Austin Hogue; 3. 23-Chris Arnold; 4. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 5. 83-Troy Wagaman; 6. 6S-Bill Sherman (DNF); 7. 3W-Duane Watson (DNF); 8. 4R-Kevin Nouse (DNF). No Time