July 1st, 2013
Port Royal – Port Royal Speedway will host the 23rd annual PA Speedweek series for sprint cars this Saturday, July 6 at 7:30 pm.

The super late models will also be on the card that promises to be one of the highlights of the season. An enduro dash is slated to end the night.

The sprint cars will compete in a 30-lap main event paying $5,000 to win with the late models going in a regular 20-lap feature.

Last season, Tyler Walker upended the field, getting by Stevie Smith late in the speedweek event to steal the victory.

Walker’s victory for car owners Charlie and Dawn Sorokach last year gave the Minersville couple two speedweek wins in a row at Port Royal after Justin Henderson took a win in 2011.

The usual stout field of speedweek cars will be assembled at Port Royal Saturday including all-time speedweek king Fred Rahmer who will make his oval debut in the Rob Sell-owned No. 20S.

The winner of the Port Royal Fallen Heroes Championship on May 25, Missouri’s Danny Lasoski will be in the field given his plans to compete in every speedweek event this season in the Zemco No. 1.

Port Royal first took part in the speedweek series in 1997 only to lose the show to rain.

Since then, no driver has put up the numbers in speedweek at Port Royal like the ovals all-time win leader, Keith Kauffman of Mifflintown.

Kauffman scored popular wins in the event in 2001, 2002, 2004 and 2007 while driving the Middleswarth Potato Chips No. 7 machine.

To go along with his four wins, Kauffman has also driven to a second and a pair of fifth place finishes in speedweek action at the track.

Kauffman is currently looking to turn his season around during his self-billed farewell tour in 2013 and would like to get something going at Port Royal this week for sure.

Three other drivers have put up impressive Port Royal speedweek numbers over the years.

A Port speedweek winner in 2009, 2010 and 2011, Greg Hodnett of Thomasville also has two thirds and two fourths to go along with his victories.

Lance Dewease took a win in 1999 and has since garnered four runner-ups, a third and a fourth place finish.

Fred Rahmer won in 2006 while also having three thirds, two fourths and a trio of fifths.

As car owners go, Middleswarth likewise has the most Port Royal speedweek wins while retired car owners Jim and Sandy Kline own three comprised of Rahmer and Hodnett’s wins.

Adult General Admission for the speedweek show is $22 with students ages 12- 18 admitted for just $5.

Port Royal will host Kids Night with lots of game and prizes for youngsters on July 13 when a 25-lap late model championship will take center stage along with the 410 sprints and pro stocks.

There will be no racing at the track on July 20.

Previous Port Royal PA Speedweek feature winners: Jeff Shepard, 1998; Lance Dewease, 1999; Don Kreitz Jr, 2000; Keith Kauffman, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2007; Mark Smith, 2003; Todd Shaffer, 2005; Fred Rahmer, 2006; Cody Darrah, 2008; Greg Hodnett, 2009, 2010, 2011; Justin Henderson, 2011; Tyler Walker, 2012.