Williams Grove Speedway



Mechanicsburg –Daryn Pittman of Owasso, OK., closed out the 2012 point season at Williams Grove Speedway by claiming the 25-lap Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint car feature on Friday night, taking $4,230 for the victory including lap money and a bonus for winning from the fifth row. 

In the Tool Shed of America 358 sprint main, Pat Cannon took his second win of the season while overcoming a 50-point deficit at the beginning of the race to come away with the 2012 track title. 

While Pittman started the feature from the outside of the fifth row, polesitter Glenndon Forsythe took the lead early in the 410 sprint main ahead of Paul McMahan. 

By just the second circuit, Pittman was up to third behind the pair at the wheel of his Heffner Racing No. 27 machine. 

By lap nine, the front trio were racing virtually nose to tail through lapped traffic with Pittman putting a close move on McMahan for second a lap later.  

Forsythe proved formidable at the front with the lead and forced Pittman to follow him until lap 13 when he was able to complete a turn two slide job and drive off of the cushion with control. 

Forsythe then slapped the frontstretch wall with 10 laps to go and stopped on the track, regrouping the field with McMahan restarting second. 

There was no challenge for Pittman when green replaced the yellow but the same could not be said for a final restart with three laps left. 

It was McMahan who shredded a tire as his car headed for the third corner that brought out the yellow flag and it was 2012 track champion Greg Hodnett who found himself on Pittman’s tail for the restart. 

Hodnett drove his Trone No. 39 deep underneath Pittman when the pair entered the first and second turns but Pittman jetted off of the high cushion onto the backstretch still holding the lead. 

Pittman then opened up his advantage over Hodnett to pick up the checkers. 

It was Pittman’s 14th career victory at the track. 

Hodnett, who had sealed up his second career track title last week, finished second followed by Lance Dewease, Brian Montieth and Ryan Taylor. 

Sixth through 10th went to Logan Schuchart, Chad Layton, Jim Siegel, Ryan Smith and Rick Lafferty. 

Heats went to McMahan, Jay Reichard and Taylor. 

Cannon started the 20-lap 358 sprint main in 10th position and saw polesitter Austin Hogue take the lead at the start. 

Entering the race, Cannon trailed for his list topping fifth career track title by 50-points, chasing Eric Tomecek for the laurels. 

Tomecek took the green flag in 18th and the chase was on as the race began. 

Cannon moved up to sixth by the time two laps were recorded and with six away he was running fifth. 

After that the Etters driver moved steadily through the frontrunners to take over second with seven laps left before taking it to Hogue with five to go for the victory. 

It was Cannon’s 27th career win at the track and fifth track title of his career which is more than any other driver has ever recorded in the division at the track. 

Tomecek worked his way up to ninth for the finish, which caused him to fall short of a first ever track crown. 

Hogue finished second in the race itself followed by Adrian Shaffer, Mark Smith and Jason Shultz. 

Sixth through 10th went to TJ Stutts, Ryan Wilson, Dale Hammaker, Tomecek and Glenndon Forsythe.  

Heats went to Hogue, Shultz and Nate Hammaker. 

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by visiting the oval on Facebook or via Twitter


October 12, 2012 Feature Finishes:  

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Daryn Pittman, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Lance Dewease, 4. Brian Montieth, 5. Ryan Taylor, 6. Logan Schuchart, 7. Chad Layton, 8. Jim Siegel, 9. Ryan Smith, 10. Rick Lafferty, 11. Jessica Zemken, 12. Troy Fraker, 13. Paul McMahan, 14. Frank Cozze, 15. Glenndon Forsythe, 16. Michael Ruttkamp, 17. Mark Coldren, 18. Jim Shuster, 19. Jay Reichard, 20. Bent Marks 

DNQ: Danny Dietrich, Cory Haas, Bryn Gohn, Curt Michael, Hunter Mackison, Steve Buckwalter 

358 sprint cars, 20 laps: 1. Pat Cannon, 2. Austin Hogue, 3. Adrian Shaffer, 4. Mark Smith, 5. Jason Shultz, 6. TJ Stutts, 7. Ryan Wilson, 8. Dale Hammaker, 9. Eric Tomecek, 10. Glenndon Forsythe, 11. Tim Berkheimer, 12. Billy Johns, 13. Tyler Ross, 14. Ted Thomas Jr., 15. Shane Hoff, 16. Matt Mountz, 17. Brie Hershey, 18. Rich Eichelberger, 19. Nate Hammaker, 20. Aaron Eichelberger, 21. Jay Galloway, 22. Rodney Westhafer 

DNQ: Scott Fisher, Derek Locke, Doug Hammaker,